We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Afternoon”

Ocean Adventures Stingray Bay Caribbean Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: STINGRAY BAY CARIBBEAN FESTIVAL is a Once in a Lifetime Experience, proudly presented by Ocean Adventure Punta Cana:Admire the most amazing scenery of the coastline while sailing on our large double floor catamaran. Sail toward "Stingray Bay" and get an adrenaline shot by swimming with our nurse sharks at our private and exclusive floating aquarium. Also get up close with our stingrays, with the safest interaction program in the world. While you pet them you will learn interesting facts about these fascinating animals.Snorkel on the natural reef of Bavaro Punta Cana, where a vast variety of beautiful and colorful fish will give you the impression of swimming in an aquarium.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I went on this excursion while in Punta Cana. We paid $118 CDN each. It was a fun experience and the staff were excellent and quite nice. It was our first experience of it's kind and something we may never get to do again so we enjoyed it. The snorkeling part was the best however with the crowds you do tend to be kicked by others. We had fun so really we didn't mind the costs that some people feel is a tad excessive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank H8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    130
    45
    29
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent almost $200 on this excursion for myself and my daughter today and frankly felt underwhelmed in terms of value for money. To be fair, the hour and 15 mins that we spent on the pick-up bus (lorry) on the way in from the hotel, the same on the way back, and the midday bad weather did nothing to help. However, this is a really commercial tour where you are one of over a hundred people who line up to touch and force feed poor rays who have had their barbs removed, and chase Nurse sharks around their tank. I have to say that personally i found this very ungratifying. The 30' snorkelling over a reef was more rewarding, and there were an abundance of tropical fish to see. Back on the boat and the cheap sandwich and the "Caribbean Festival" (of 10 mins or so) on the short hop back to the jetty did nothing to make me feel that my money had been well invested, nor the additional $10 paid to purchase a photo of my daughter with a ray. The trip on the boat lasted just over 3 hours. Can't fault the enthusiasm and professionalism of the staff. Summary - lot of money to spend on a relatively short excursion where you are just part of a big crowd. Sorry, can't personally recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scot1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Great Way To Spend An Afternoon!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first time trying this experience, although I had done their Dr Fish Spa and Bavaro Splash experiences previously on last year's visit to Punta Cana. My expectations were high and easily met by the staff and crew. Upon arrival, we were sent to our respective tour staging areas. First, we needed to get a life jacket, as it was a necessity for the excursion. As soon as everyone was briefed on the trip, we boarded the big pirate ship that was awaiting us. Once all the guests were onboard, we left the dock and the show began. The staff did native Dominican dances and wore colorful costumes. They were really enjoyable and fun to watch. We cruised over to Stingray Bay to have an experience with a stingray and swim with the nurse sharks. The stingrays were first up and we were able to pet one, have it climb our back, and then hold one for a photo opportunity. These stingrays were massive and fun to work with. After that, we walked on the dock over to the other side to swim with nurse sharks. Our guide took my waterproof camera and was able to get some amazing shots of the sharks. We then returned to the boat and moved off to another area to go snorkeling. Our guide took my underwater camera and got some great shots of people in our group and of the fish on the coral reef. It really was a great experience and it was a fantastic way to spend the afternoon. On the way back, there was more dancing, which included the audience too. Everyone had a great time enjoying sandwiches, beer, and mamajuana (a liquor aphrodisiac from the Dominican Republic), which was a great way to finish the day. I highly recommend this excursion for anyone wanting to experience something new and perhaps even learn a little. It is a great thing to do with family, friends, or alone. Give it a try when you are down there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToddRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the effort”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

They talk a big show on this one, and the pictures look great...but it's just not worth it. They packed way too many people together so you don't have a chance to really enjoy anything at all. Swim with the Nurse Sharks...except that there are so many people in the pool at once that they just shy away and you're constantly getting jostled or kicked. Then they move you over to 'interact' with the stingrays. This involves sitting around for 15 to 20 minutes while they show you the top and bottom and then brush them up against you. While this is a neat experience...it's just not worth the expense, the travel time to the boat, the time waiting on the boat, and the time waiting around for something to happen.
The one good part about the trip was the ability to go snorkelling, but again you're in a big group. My only saving grace is that I signed the waiver to swim without a life jacket so that i could actually dive down and have some fun on the bottom...safely and with respect to the environs of course.

It looks great, sounds great...but it's just not worth the cost or the time it takes. Maybe if you have kids...patient kids...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GenesisKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia C, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Adventures Stingray Bay Caribbean Festival, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear GenesisKnight
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your point of view and your words about the experience you lived with Stingray Bay Caribbean Festival. We value the opportunity to learn and at the same time to explain details about the excursion.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the excursion and we did not meet your expectations. This excursion lasts 3 hours, it’s divided in 4 parts and it takes place on a big Pirate Boat. The focus of this whole excursion is about having fun while learning and sharing with other guests. It’s an excursion for people who want to experience interaction with stingrays, swim with sharks, snorkeling, and experience a significant expression of our Dominican culture by participating in a typical Caribbean Carnival presentation.
In summary Stingray Bay Caribbean Festival is an excursion that provides 4 different pleasurable activities while enjoying and learning something about our culture and our beautiful ocean life.
I would like also specify that we do provide a great night show excursion but that’s a completely different outing called Caribbean Buccaneers.
We kindly invite you to contact us at customerservice@oapc.com.do and give us your suggestions how you would have liked it to be different in order to meet your expectations. We keep learning every day from our guests and again your opinion is always much appreciated.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AWESOME - ONE OF THE BEST EXCURSIONS!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have traveled many places in the Caribbean and Mexico, and have thus been on many excursions. This is by far one of the best excursions that we have been on as a family. I have a 10 year old and 7 year old and we booked the pirate ship. We also did another snorkel trip while in DR and this was hands down 10 times better.

The trip over to Stingray Bay included a dancing show by the staff, then we interacted with stingrays and swam with sharks. After that, we went to a reef and snorkeled and we saw so many beautiful fish. Eric was our guide and he took the most amazing pics of our family with our water camera. He also took up extra time with our kids and held their hands while snorkeling so they could stay at the front with hime and also let them touch the sharks, etc.

On the way back, we had sandwiches, rum punch, beer, fruit, and lots of music and dancing. My entire family was out on the dance floor. Both my kids said this excursion was their favorite part of the trip. I am so glad we did it and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the DR!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dusti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Adventures Stingray Bay Caribbean Festival also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing