We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,114)
Filter reviews
7,114 results
Traveler rating
4,031
2,011
738
195
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,031
2,011
738
195
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunta canala marimbalobby barsteakstar rock cafedominican republicstar friendsseafoodspecialty restaurantsthe oriental restaurantguest servicesapple vacationssaona islandmake reservationsjunior suiteoutback safarievening shows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,101 - 2,106 of 7,114 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just arrived back from 14 days in Punta Cana...Positives.....beautifully clean at all times.The gardens were stunning...(even Flamingos)The service was impeccable..The staff are always smiling & eager to please (special mention to NELSON our waiter)The food was Amazing ,a wonderful variety even Lobster & Caviar..The Al a Carte restaurants were nice but a limited choice..We didnt bother the second week..we preferred the main one..The beach was beautiful..cleaned daily .Can get very crowded be up early to get good sunbeds!It can get very windy & the sea is Freezing !!...Negatives..booked Bavaro (next door) but ended up in Punta Cana ?We asked for a quiet room,garden view..Nice room but right next door to lift !!Which was up & down all night ! ugh..Yes we could have asked to change but we kept saying try 1 more night..then we found ear plugs !We were NOT told about the differant areas for band colours on the beach !!!!After a few days we were told by security that we werent allowed on that beach & were escorted of the beach !!!SO EMBARRASSING !!! Thanks to our German friends who complained...THOMSON should tell people at the meeting instead of plugging trips!The last day we got Food Poisoning..We broke our golden rule & ate salad (it looked so good ) & some home made punch (none alcoholic) served beachside...SO BEWARE !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pammy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,
First at all we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience during your stay at Iberostar Punta Cana.
For the whole team, especially for Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, it is a pleasure to read your positive valuation about the kindness of our staff, the cleanness of our hotel grounds and our varied gastronomy. Your kind words motivate us to keep working to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star” as it says our slogan in Iberostar. We have congratulated Nelson for making your holidays especial.
We extend our apologies for the inconveniences regarding your experience when attempting to use our Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro beach. We will advise our Security staff to explain in a polite and better way why visits to that exclusive area are not allowed.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from Iberostar Punta Cana, where hubby and I and our 5 young adult children stayed for some much needed family down time.

We arrived late on Sunday, after dark. We had reserved 3 rooms, two of which were to be adjoining (for the children). At checkin we were greeted with a nice icy welcome drink. We were told that one room was being upgraded to a "family room" for the boys and that all rooms were close to each other in the 5000 building. We were instructed to walk to our rooms while our luggage was brought to us. It was dark and we had trouble finding the building. Our luggage man spotted us and escorted us to our rooms. Our rooms were all in the 5000 building. Hubby and I got a quiet room (5295) which was off in a side hallway. The girls were in 5191, slightly below us and they had a nice full garden view. The boys were in 5219, almost half way down the 5000 building, and they had one king bed in the main room and 2 doubles in the separate room. Their view was of the Riu hotel next door.

We thought the rooms were clean. The bathrooms were newer and I only noticed a few spots which needed regrouting along the floor/tub line. The bath walls were of a traventine type of stone. The main part of the room was fine, but we agree with other reviewers that the fabrics in the room could be updated. The balcony was very nice, with a small table for two, garden containers at the edge, and a handy swimsuit dryer rack on the wall. The mini bar was restocked daily, the safe was free, and we had bottled water for brushing our teeth and for drinking (though we were told they have their own filtration system). We don't spend much time in our rooms, so we were fine with them.

Maid service in the rooms was good. We never were without towels or cleaned rooms. We were left towel animals and flower buds on the animals. Our bed was turned down and the spread was in the shape of a swan one day and in a heart another day. The curtains were tied one evening, too, which was pretty.

The food was fine and plentyful. There was always something you could find which would suit your tastes. Breakfasts had a lot of meats, but they also offered waffles, french toast, pancakes, eggs and omelettes, plus the breads and pastries and cereals. There was always a lot of fresh cut fruits and juices. Lunches we usually ate up near the beach, at one of two restaurants. They had pizzas, salads, different fishes, beans and rice, sausages, chicken, a pasta station, etc. Sometimes they grilled chicken, steaks and hot dogs. One day they had paella. The icy Bahama Mamas and Coco Locos were favorites of ours. The first night we ate at the buffet and everyone found something they liked. There were a lot of different fishes (mahi mahi, perch, grouper, etc.) always available and you could always find a version of pork and chicken. Desserts were plentiful. We ate in the Rock Cafe and everyone enjoyed their meals and we played pool afterwards. We also got reservations in the Asian and Mexican restuarants and enjoyed those a lot. One night they had a Dominican buffet which we also enjoyed. Service in the restaurants were good. They were quick and thorough and very pleasant.

The grounds were impeccable and very beautiful. The gardeners work so hard. The pools was very nice (we think just slightly nicer than the sister Iberostar hotel next door, which is where the majority of the pool activities were held). The PC pool was quieter also, which we appreciated. We did have to get up early to secure chairs in the shade at the pool and beach...but for the times we'd just want to go into the ocean there were plenty of chaises in the sun to drop our stuff while we swam.

We didn't do many of the group activities, but we did try archery, bingo and the air gun and we had fun. The activities employees are very engaging and quite funny, so do try them! We played ping pong and board games by the pool, also. I bought a tube to use in the pool and ocean and it was not terribly expensive. We went parasailing (for an extra charge) which we booked by the beach. The beach had the red flag all week so we couldn't use the water sports activities that came with the all inclusive.

We walked the beach from the PC to past the vendor shacks on the beach, and then along the other side past the Riu. The beach at Iberostar is the best we saw. Plenty of chairs and palapalas. The sand is talcum powder soft. We had waves (it was red flagged) and there was some seaweed being kicked up as a result. I saw the employees raking up the seaweed each morning when I was up for sunrise.

We visited the casino once and saw three shows....some bits were better than others. Mr. Iberostar was definitely our favorite...so funny we couldn't stop laughing. The entertainers work so very hard everynight and we appreciated them.

The employees all spoke English...some better than others...and the activities group spoke several languages. I haven't had much Spanish and I didn't have a problem. I did try to study a little Spanish before I went. For those reviewers who complained, remember you are not in the USA when you go...you are in their country with their language.

The only complaint we had was at checkin. We didn't receive what exactly what we requested, and we didn't receive an explanation of the hotel grounds (like I saw other guests receiving later in the week). Also, we think it would be best if guests were escorted to their rooms, especially at nighttime.

Overall we had a very nice time and would definitely recommend Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DonnaMarkM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Punta Cana for your family holidays also for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, and her team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you and your entire family had enjoyed from an unforgettable holiday and valued positively our international gastronomy, our clean and beautiful premises, and the friendliness of our staff members. In Iberostar our main goal is turning your vacations into a memorable holiday. Likewise we extend our apologies upon your arrival and have shared your feedback with our Front desk team to improve the area of our services.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us before your next vacations among us.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Iberostar Punta Cana property is amazing. Family friendly luxury.

There are an abundance of restaurants and bars, so there is something for everyone. The star team are pros at their jobs, and the nightly shows are of high quality.

You will not go hungry at this resort. There is food and drink 24 hours. I was really surprised to see that 24 hour food included things such as fries,burgers,pizza,hot dogs, deserts,ect not just the typical cold cut sandwiches.

The resort is very very clean. Rooms are nice.

And well.. Bavaro beach is one of the best in the world.

There is just ONE complaint. The vendors that are allowed on the property. These people are very pushy and will actually grab you and will not take no for an answer. Many times members from our group actually had to avoid certain parts of the hotel because of pushy vendors. They would sometimes set up shop just outside of the hotels own gift shops and were asking 5x more than even what the gift shop was charging.

These people would put goods in your hands, and necklaces on you and then tell you to come back later if you couldnt pay now, even while saying no they would say "No No, You are my friend, pay later" Then later they would hunt you down and accuse you of stealing and breaking promises when you return the goods you never wanted in the first place. This was daily. On top of that there were the people at the pools selling excursions and photo shoots and pictures with animals. Not to forget those selling timeshares on and on and on.

I love shopping, I do not love to be harassed. You can expect this if you go to the beach huts shopping, or into town. But you shouldnt expect it inside of your hotel.

This may not even be an issue for most people. But it was for me. There was an element of relaxation missing.

I traveled to Iberostar Punta Cana in May 2012. Since then I have gone on two vacations, and chose Cuba both times, simply because vendors do not bother you there and you can have the opportunity to walk around and explore.

I hope management looks into who they allow on their property, or even cuts the amount down to half.

Room Tip: Standard rooms seem to be by the pools. There are working elevators. Bungalows were closer to beach.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicholeBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
First at all, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Punta Cana for your vacation and for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we want to express you how pleased we are to read your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff, the variety of our gastronomy and the activities for daily and nightly entertainment proposed by our Star Friend team. In Iberostar one of our basic principles is to provide the best service to our beloved costumers.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for any and all inconveniences related to the vendors at our premises. Our Management welcomes your suggestions and will take the appropriated measures to improve our costumers’ experience.
We are already looking forward to see you in our facilities, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stay here for two weeks two or three times a year and have done for the past 12 years We love it ! We have stayed in all 3 hotels.The staff are Brilliant and will do their utmost to help in anyway they can.Gardens are beautiful and a credit to the gardeners who work on them from dawn til dusk. 4 weeks and we are back there again ! Have a day out of the hotel and see the real Dominican Republic and meet the locals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, and the whole team, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels in Punta Cana as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your multiple experiences among us.
We want to express you how honored and motivated we are to read that in every visit our friendly and helpful staff has ensured you memorable holidays as we aim in Iberostar and as you are used to when visiting us. Your publication towards our work motivates us to keep our high standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We traveled to this resort during our March break. We were a family of four and a grand-mother, so we had two rooms. We used to go to some of the Iberostar in Varadero (Tainos is our favorite), but it was a first trip to Punta Cana, primarly because we wanted slightly more food variety and quality, and warmer weather and water.

What was better than Iberostar Tainos in Varadero:
- More food variety available (butter, milk ,cheese, fruits, juices, wine, beer, bread, desserts...)
- Hotel rooms are of better quality and better maintained (repair guys walk with walkie-talkie and Dewalt tools... different than the hammer/screwdriver toolbag in Cuba...)
- Pool is very well designed for kids and was a lot warmer (for similar time of the year). Kids spent hours in it each day.
- We did not see any of the Dominican staff begging for tips

What was better in Iberostar Tainos Varadero:
- Cubans staff is more educated. They speak more languages and are generally way more interesting to talk to.
- Evening shows at Tainos were fantastic... The best evening show at Iberostar Punta Cana would have been the weakest at Tainos.
- Animators at Tainos were more friendly, funny and generally less loud or rude than in Punta Cana. Our kids did not connect well with any of the animators at Punta Cana.
- The beach at Tainos is larger, water access is easier (waves do not always break on you on entrance) and we could see lots of fish, pelicans and dolphins. In Punta Cana, I did not see any single small fish, bird or dolphin at the the beach over the whole week...
- Tainos is about half the size of the Punta Cana/Dominican, so we felt we never missed any of the activities that we wanted to participate into...

We were hoping for a significant upgrade from Iberostar Tainos to Punta Cana, as we paid significantly more. We pretty much got everything we were hoping for (it was STILL worth it), but to our surprise, it was not a complete wash... We were quite disappointed by the weakness of the evening shows (now convinced we were spoiled at Tainos...), although we did not think this would have turned out to feel so important in the end. We truly missed the talented and friendly Cuban animators from Tainos.

Finally, based on multiples friends which traveled to Punta Cana, we felt the odds of getting food sick were clearly higher than in Varadero... This proved true for us, as unfortunately, 3 out of 5 fell to a very strong food indigestion on the 5th day. We all hate the same thing for dinner. We saw a few other kids sick that day, but it was apparently not wide spread.

We will not be going back to Punta Cana next year as the memory is tainted now, but I would still recommend the resort, if you can avoid getting sick!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgks549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you have enjoyed a pleasant holiday although your expectations based on your experience in Cuba were not completely satisfied. As you have experienced, in Iberostar one of our basic principles is to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We have shared your feedback with our Management team so we can work on our service and deliver the Iberostar Quality that our valuable repeating costumers expect.
We remain at your entire disposition in case you decide to visit Iberostar Punta Cana once again.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews