We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner who pridefully does the cooking himself.”

Pastrata Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 117 Restaurants in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Perfect to enjoy with family and friend at any time of the day! with a nice location close to the beach.and easy access from any place in Bavaro .You have a lot of options to choose of international food in a new ,clean and modern restaurant concept unique in Bavaro Punta Cana!!!
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner who pridefully does the cooking himself.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved every meal we had at this local treasure. Seafood, pasta, chicken/fish nuggets, club sandwiches, and fresh salads were all top notch. Andres, the owner, delightfully greeted us every visit. We were like old friends be the end of the week! Everything was made to order, I highly recommend the seafood platter for two. Reasonable prices, super clean, and great atmosphere. We stayed right around the corner at Presidential Suites, opted out of the all inclusive meals because of the poor reviews. Glad we did, and even more glad we found Pastrata to enjoy all week long!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nineeight75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastrata, Owner at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much to stop several times with us to get your meal. We are so happy to hear from you the recommendation as a trip advisor member , hoping to see you soon and thank to be part of this dream called Pastrata punta Cana!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    80
    21
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The cafe was a ten minute taxi ride from the ifa hotel, made a difference from the alinclusive nice to have a little change and mix with the locals

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastrata, Owner at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the review and thanks to share with others the experience called Pastrata Punta cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose Pastrata because it was highly rated on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is small with a handful of tables inside and out.

Our plates, Fetuccini Funghi and Coconut Shrimp, were abundant and tasty as was the strawberry and whipped cream desert we shared. The mango and pineapple juices were large, smooth and thick.

The owner/operator greeted us warmly and even helped us get a taxi when we left.

Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCooke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastrata, Owner at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you very much to take the time and review us. And thank very much to visit DR hoping to see you next year down here !!!

Regards
Chef Pastrata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coconut shrimp”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The coconut shrimp was superb! Fresh, juicy, cooked just right. My husband enjoyed the fettuccini fungi, excellent. Attention by owner/chef. Service was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastrata, Owner at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the review and thai you for visit us
Hoping to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Picked this restaurant for all the good reviews on trip advisor thinking it would be a good lunch. Boy was I wrong. The food was ok, the service was awful. The food came out in 5 min waves so our table of 4 all ate seperatly. We were all finished eating before my husband even got his food. The owner came out knowing this and didn't even stop by our table to apologize but proceeded to others to see how things were. Terrible service! Wouldn't come here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gianine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastrata, Manager at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We really sorry to hear that and Checking the recordings of the safety chamber, and of check which were the factors for which the service was not since normally is this
this is what happened:
They came to the restaurant took time to clean the shoes and carpet of the car of sand from the beach.
Not thinking that other tables would come that his order would spend after.
Them revenue table of 8 Canadians
Later, table 4 persons.
Table 2 presents
1 delivery by telephone
and finally they ordered
to come before and to order ultimately it is not a guarantee to have the service before other clients we will intervene and we invite him to bear in mind that not the one that comes first eats first. The one that orders first eats first
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastrata Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Bavaro, Punta Cana
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Bavaro, Punta Cana
 

Been to Pastrata Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing