We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kaptivating Karibo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karibo Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karibo Punta Cana
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Kaptivating Karibo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We just got back from a week at Karibo and we can't wait to go back. It was definitely a home away from home experience, except we had a white sandy beach 5 min. away. I had never been to Punta Cana before so I was so happy I went this route, with an immaculate two bedroom, spacious apartment.
The grounds were well kept and the apartment was cleaned for us every day. Since I heard so many horror stories about some resorts and the problem with food, I felt more comfortable preparing my own meals. You could either rent a car or take a taxi to the nearest grocery store (taxi driver even waited for us). We bought food for the week, and by my calculations, I saved thousands of dollars by not doing the all inclusive route. We even ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel and got hooked on the delicious paella (it said for 2ppl. but it fed all of us!)
I can't speak enough good things about Juan Pablo, our concierge, who arranged everything we needed, from having someone waiting at the airport for us at arrival, to arranging a fun dune buggy adventure for the afternoon. He even got a rowdy group of partygoers to leave the pool one late evening so the rest of us could sleep. The Karibo is very lucky to have him.
With two beautifully decorated bedrooms (when travelling with kids, privacy is a luxury), two and a half bathrooms, three balconies, a Jacuzzi on the balcony, a kitchen, dining room, and washing machine, you could not compare this comfort to a small bedroom at a resort that we would have had to pay more than double the amount. The golf cart ride to the beach was fun and we just arranged a pick up time whenever we were ready to go back. As we got to Bavaro beach, lounge chairs were there, or you could just sit under one of the many coconut trees. I have travelled the Caribbean extensively, and Bavaro beach is one of the more beautiful areas, aquamarine waters, and white sand that goes on for miles. Watch for the locals, never go with the first price if they try to sell you anything.
This captivating place is definitely at the top of our best vacations. With the money we saved on this trip, a second trip would be in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    79
    27
    11
    13
See reviews for
135
112
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

It was a really great time at Karibo. The Rooms are clean and big. The Pool area is clean and a perfect place to relax. The service is fast and we have always been treated very friendly. Juan Pablo the columbian guy at the reception can be asked about trips and everything arround punta cana. He speaks english too. If you need some help to book your trip just go to ask Juan Pablo. Best trips and prices guarantee!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMarcel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We needed one night in a hotel before our condo was ready, and the Karibo was wonderful. There are very few choices for anyone wanting an affordable few nights in the Punta Cana area. Most hotels are all inclusive or very expensive. The property was well maintained with a beautiful pool. The people at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was a two bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, huge closets, large living room, spacious baths, and balconies all around. It was very clean and all the marble glistened. The cost was a bargain. We had dinner and breakfast there, and dinner was very good with large portions. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was standard fare.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for only one night but wished we could have stayed longer. When you want to be away from the bustle of all-inclusive resorts, this is the place to go. The suites are spacious, modern and clean. You don't have to rise before dawn to reserve your poolside lounger. Staff members go out of their way to attend to your every need. The food is decent and the drinks are great. This is an intimate, friendly place where you really get to know the local culture at a very relaxed pace. It does not have the bells and whistles of the larger resorts, yet it is the perfect place to get away from it all. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teragramsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Extremely pleasant stays both times we visited; beautiful, spacious rooms, great location and awesome amenities. What really sets Karibo apart however is the staff; Juan Pablo went out of his way to help meet and exceed our needs. Great people and great value, I highly recommend it and we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel_Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I own a hotel myself and I have never been someone who is easily pleased. I have been to Bavaro many times, and each time end up in a horrible all-inclusive and come home with food poisoning. So this time I thought I'd try something different and booked an apartment at Karibo for a weekend away with friends.

The service is unusually good by Dominican standards. The staff gave us a genuinely warm welcome, showed us the apartment, checked that everything was working, and constantly asked us if everything was OK.

The apartments are really nice, way nicer than the usual standard of rental apartments. Ours had two good sized bedrooms, each with a private bathroom and dressing room, a huge lounge area and two balconies. Wifi is free and worked (again unusual) and the fitted kitchen is very well stocked with cooking equipment.

I liked the fact that it was largely quiet and peaceful (even though we had a 2 year old in our party). The other guests all seem to be quite mature, it's a grown up atmosphere.

The location was good for us - we have a car, and we drove to the beach which took some time to find since other hotels in Bavaro do their very best to block all attempts to access the beach to keep locals off (shame on them). There is a free beach shuttle provided if you don't have a car. At night it's walkable to the bars in Bavaro, although a little dark on the road. If you get a taxi, be warned they charge US$10 for a 2 minute ride.

We didn't eat the food in the restaurant, but I did check the menu and I was surprised by what good value it seemed to be. Prices seemed incredibly low and the quality looked good. The restaurant seemed to be busy with non-guests, so I'm definitely going to try it on my next visit.

The only things which I could moan about were that I found the music by the pool to be a bit too loud - I did ask them to turn it down and they did. It's nice music, but you could hear it in the apartments, and as the DR is such a noisy country anyway, a bit of peace and quiet is a real treat. The other moan is that they provide dishwashers in the apartment, but no dishwasher soap (the cleaners don't even have this). I don't expect many guests bring their own, so it just seems strange for the hotel not to supply.

But these are both minor points. I will definitely be back at Karibo. They are doing an excellent job, I'm pleased they are getting so many good reviews on Tripadvisor, they definitely deserve these.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Casa_Sanchez_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I liked this place a lot. The man at the reception, Juan Pablo, was very helpful. The rooms were huge. Very spacious and clean. And for a bonus, they have very good security. For the money, I don't think you can find anything with comparable value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdmhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
10.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
2.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.9 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#20 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.9 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibo Punta Cana

Property: Karibo Punta Cana
Address: Av. Italia en White Sands Golf & Beach Resort, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karibo Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Karibo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing