We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Service at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (16,364)
Filter reviews
16,364 results
Traveler rating
8,767
4,199
1,740
909
749
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,767
4,199
1,740
909
749
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub premiumla fuentesanta fe steakhousecoral seafoodfamily deluxesports barspanish restaurantjacuzzi on the balconylanguage barrierbeautiful resortseafood restaurantdinner reservationsocean frontmake reservationsa la carte restaurantsfamily vacationadult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,196 - 5,201 of 16,364 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

As a Travel Agency owner and manager with 25 years in the travel business, we had a very large group travelling with us ie March Break, and NO question this Resort a 5 * rating for D.R. as a destination.

I will tell you that they went above and beyond to accommodate us as many requests were delivered upon our arrival and during our stay and that's very important for us and our customers.

The Family Deluxe Rooms are one very unique concept and can accommodate up to 6 guests in one room so for families with 3 young kids or with 2 teenagers that wont share the same bed this is it and believe me this concept is always a challenge to find.

Again, a special thanks to all of the staff, inside sales, resort manager etc BRAVO !!

Room Tip: Large families
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tccbourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share this nice comment with us on Trip advisor. Thank you!

We are pleased that all the advantages it offers met your expectations. Also we are glad that the resort in general was to your liking. It is a pleasure for us to know that we were able to provide you and our common client’s delightful vacation and that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe to repeat an amazing vacation with us!

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have been on about nine cruises, but this was our first trip to an all-inclusive resort. This was our honeymoon trip. We are both over 50.

The beach, pool, and hotel were amazing!  Powder white sand beaches, palm trees give you the option to lie in the sun or get some shade. Multiple wonderful pools. Ample chairs both in the sun and under gondola-type structures shaded with fabric bands. The entire property has beautiful landscaping.

At check-in, we learned that our room was by the golf course, and we opted to upgrade at a cost of $40 per night. That put us at the beach, and the location was perfect. We booked through BJ’s travel, and it would have been nice to see where on the property our room was.

The large room had a wonderful, large, spa-like bathroom, a small refrigerator with soda, water and beer, all complimentary. There was also a safe that you can lock with a combination that you make up.

The balcony was large and had a two person jetted tub, as well as 2 chairs and tables. A plus was a motorized privacy screen, however, it only shielded half of the balcony.

By the bed were air conditioner controls, ceiling fan controls, and a wonderful all-off button that turned off all lights easily. We travelled with another couple and could call their room, but could not leave a message if they were not in. That would be a nice feature.

The bathroom had shower and sinks in a galley-style room with frosted glass pocket doors on each end. The toilet was in a separate room (nice) but also had frosted glass pocket door. (not private enough for me).

King size bed had very soft, lumpy pillows. The pillows had a very foul odor to them.  The pillows also did not have pillow covers on them, merely pillow cases.  Therefore, the pillow itself was exposed.  That means other peoples' bodies came into contact with the pillows themselves.   After 2 nights, I asked that the pillows be replaced. Hopefully they threw them away. That was quite gross.

The food was plentiful but just mediocre.  Lobster, steak, and shrimp, should have butter, horseradish, and cocktail sauce, respectively. We thought the seafood restaurant would be the best, and reserved that for 2 nights. Not so. After the first night, we changed our reservation. The japanese restaurant was good, but sushi was no better than what I get at Giant grocery store. Again, the lack of sauces (we like the yum yum at the American Sakura restaurants was a disappointment. They didn’t know what yum yum sauce was. Our cook was obviously new (nothing wrong with that), but he dropped the spatula on the floor, wiped it on his pants, looked at my friend and said “sorry”, and proceeded to cook with it. I didn’t know that until we left.

The bars have friendly bartenders. They would try to make any drink you wanted, but when I ordered vodka and soda with a splash of cranberry, I received a half glass of cranberry, some vodka, and some soda. I learned to ask for vodka/soda, and then when they gave it to me then ask for the cranberry. They didn’t understand the “splash”. There was one beer on tap and it was ok. But as a beer geek, that was a bit of a disappointment. I drink different beers like people drink different wines. No biggie.

We opted for massages in the Spa, and mine was excellent, my husband’s was just ok. After the massage, they led you to a dark, round room for some tea while you relaxed with some hot, moist towel around your shoulders. Heaven.

Bring plenty of sunscreen. We ran out and a for bottle that we paid $8, they wanted $30. No, thank you. Also, the bathroom supplies were great, but the lotion had a strong, flowery-old grandma scent to it, so I couldn’t use it.

There was a Hard Rock Cafe, but it was only a souvenir store. No food. No cafe.

During the entire trip, my husband and I were evaluating whether or not this beat a cruise, and it is still very close. The food on a cruise is very good, excellent even, and this was not. The entertainment on a cruse is better. But the Barcelo Bavaro property itself - the pools and the beaches, were top notch. It was nice to become familiar with the place, and just relax. I think the resort beat out the cruise slightly, but don’t expect good food.

Room Tip: We were in 2221. Good location with beach view. Short walk to the bar, pool and buffet. If you are by the golf course, you'll have a long walk to the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opal_J425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe in the Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that our Hotel was of your liking and that you could enjoy most of our facilities as well as our Spa.

We regret that our food and beverage concepts did not meet your expectations; we appreciated your observations as well as your impressions which will be analyzed with our executive chef.
We apologize for the inconvenient referent our cleaning service be assured will be given the proper attention and that we are continuously working on improving the services level to make our guests feel like in paradise.

On behalf of our all team members at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe, we thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We are seasoned travellers (but first all-inclusive), so I was a bit concerned about taking our entire family (16 in all) to a sunny beach destination during US Spring Break. We had 8 adults, 7 teens or preteens, 1 toddler. However, wife prevailed and off we went for our 50th anniversary. Thankfully, her judgement was excellent, and we had a great 5 day holiday! There certainly was a crowd, but this resort is huge, and we never felt crowded at all.
Our experience:
Airport- No problems. Got our tourist cards online, took the far right line and saved some time, but the bags took a while. The AAA Travel agent (good, not great) had prearranged transfers (VIP Travel Services-more later) which went smoothly.
Checkin took a while due to some miscommunication with the agent- we switched a Junior Suite for a Family Deluxe (2 bedroom) so we could all be in same building. Turned we had 5 adjacent rooms, which was perfect.
Rooms were excellent- roomy, light, wonderful beds, well appointed, fine bathrooms. Location in Building 8 was ideal for us- equidistant from main building (food and shows) and golf course. Easy walk to beach. Not too loud, though we were near the kid's pool and rec area. Do not expect US TV cable selection, but there were a few English channels, and I enjoyed all the foriegn programs anyway.
Service was good, very responsive. Very little English spoken, but fun to learn a bit of Spanish, and we were always able to communicate somehow. We always tip, and never had reason to complain.
Food was mixed as expected, though we found better than some have reported. Loved the Hoyo 19 on the golf course for breakfast. Buffet lunches were very satisfactory- hamburgers a big hit. Busy, but never too crowded, and adjacent to the main pool area.
Dinners- we were able to reserve places for our top 4 selections.
Seafood was first and our least favorite. Lots of lobster, some cool and undercooked- mushy. Shrimp, fish and other dishes OK. (Wine- US too expensive, but others more reasonable- don't forget the coupon book they give you! We preferred South American reds. We had at least a couple of bottles per meal.)
Spanish was excellent and our favorite once we figured out the menu and ordering scheme. (Note-Please add ordering instructions). Gazpacho superb, appetizers all good, as were entrees.
Japanese very good, but not as good as expected. Excellent sashimi and sushi, shrimp and chicken good, beef overcooked and chewy. Some confusion with our waiter, and our cook seemed programmed and disinterested. Felt rushed, and there was large crowd waiting.
Steak restaurant was also good, only minor errors which were quickly corrected. All were satisfied. About on par with typical US roadside steakhouses.
Entertainment- Way too much volume, and shows were variable. Michael Jackson show was best, and crowded. I really enjoyed the Latin music and dancers, which were excellent even though I couldn't understand a word.
Golf Course- definitely a highlight. Excellent (though pricey) pro shop- bring plenty of balls. Bag storage and cart helpers were great. Truly a fine course, challenging but suitable for all levels. Fairways and greens in wonderful shape. Played twice, we all enjoyed it immensely.
Beach- deservedly called one of the best in Caribbean, warm water, lots of water sports. Minor amount of sea grass, not a problem. As expected this time of year, people tended to lay in sun (be careful- one of our teens got blistered) and just use the water to cool off. Rarely had to search for chairs.
Now about the VIP Travel rep- he was a real pain in making sure he handled our outside activities, such as an Higuey tour. We had booked a catamaran trip online (catamaran Teresa- excellent- see review) which about drove him crazy trying to somehow (security, dangers, etc.) get a commission. Bad experience. OK for airport transfer, not otherwise.
All in all, we had a super family experience, as one would expect from a top AI resort. We are happy to give it a top rating. (I love now saying the name as Bar-see-lo Bav-a-ro). Fascinating country, great place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TX2OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for having chosen our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for celebrated your 50th anniversary.

We are glad to read your nice review because this is the best way to motivate our human team to continuous in our effort to reinforce the level of service and satisfaction in our guests.

Thanks for your good impression about our gastronomy specially our 19 holes restaurants we are very pleased that was to your liking.

Thanks also for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. We will be pleased to welcome you soon in our little Caribbean paradise, always your second home in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I just returned 2 days ago from a 5 night trip here. I read a lot of reviews and had friends go to this resort so I thought we would have a great time but... We were expecting a nice 4 star resort and when we arrived we thought we were getting just that, the gardens, pools, and beaches are really well taken care of. When we first walked into the room we thought we had hit the jack pot-an ocean view with a hot tub on the balcony. Once the initial excitement wore off we realized that the bathrooms in our room were disgusting-the ceiling in the shower was falling apart. The maid service does not replenish the bathroom supplies either so don't throw anything away. The buffet restaurants food quality and service were poor. They definitely put a lot of thought into variety but not quality. I'd rather have less options and better quality-it is a 4 star resort after all. The service was terrible! We sat at tables for a whole meal without them asking if we wanted water or silverware-we ate with our hands. It says it's all inclusive but everything is extra-don't let them fool you-those coconut drinks are extra, red bull vodka is extra etc... The restaurants at night were a lot better quality, they were actually 4 star. The "entertainment" at night was awful!! Don't waste your time!
They are also really pushy about excursions they call you down right when you get there to talk to someone who works on commission to basically force you into booking something. Don't do that! You can walk down the beach and find the Gringo and he will take you on the same trips for less than half and they are awesome!

The beach was pretty and the resort looks amazing, but don't let that fool you-this is not a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe; It is pleasant to hear that our pool and beach, which is one of the top ten in the world, were of your liking.

We regret not having met your expectations; this is very disconcerting because we strive for consistency and excellence with regards to our service levels. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the service issues you encountered during your stay. Please be assured that we will never cease in our efforts to achieve the total satisfaction of our guest.

We regret if we did not fulfill your expectations regarding the food served at our hotel. We cater people from all over the world and generally get very good comments on our food. We are sorry if they were not similarly impressed. We make menu changes throughout the year and their comments would be passed onto our Executive chef to improve on any shortcomings.

Hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and demonstrate you our commitment to excellent service.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

First let me start by saying we are very well travelled. High end and budget plus everything in between all over the world. Punta cana is not nevis or bora bora. It is not as upscale as resorts in mexico but for a family or singles holiday it is amazing. The barcelo bavaro is a beautiful resort. Lovely modern rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom It is exactly as advertised.

The resort is lush. Great expansive beach nice pools...that are not heated but small enough to heat with sun.

Checkin. Super efficient and we went during spring break. Got the room we ordered. The front desk gave us a tour of facility on route. When we got to our room we made reservations at the concierge to as many a la cartes as we wanted.

The activities are not well advertised but there are a ton if you want to participate.

The food isnt the best we had. It is not horrible. Good breakfasts. Good pasta bar (felix very helpful). Some dishes better than others. Food at club med punta cana and hard rock were better but room service beach and atmosphere all much better here. My advice on food...do less but do better at the buffets. The ala cartes were good too. Food very much caters to european tastes. Excellent spanish tapas. Good cheese. Lots of mixed buffet dishes. Good pork. Rest mixed. But honestly while food is not amazing there is always something good at the buffet. We are foodies but you dont get 5 star food at all inclusives. Club med does do best that i have experienced. House wine is low end spanish. It is ok. Not great. They do sell wines...yellowtail shiaz 30US fyi

This is a large resort. We found service great. No issue getting coffee or drinks (as many reviews reported). No issues with lack of english....it is not their first language. Get a google app. Gestures and a smile worked every time.

Sun is very strong. I under estimated how much sunscreen to bring.

Amenities in room: shampoo conditioner dental kits but no body lotion fyi.

We used gobecon wifi and transfers. Very very good

We had small problem with tv...assistant manager came immediately. This place is under valued. We would recommend it highly.

I didn't see as much tipping as other resorts. We did tip...few dollars every time.

Room Tip: Bring body lotion as they don't have that as free amenity.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lovetotravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your vacations and thanks for your recommendation.

It’s a pleasure that you had a wonderful time in our resort and that our service, facilities and grounds were of your liking. We lament that our gastronomy concept was not of your liking. Your opinion is very important for us, so please be assured that we take your review into consideration.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews