We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Nearby Hotels
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$336
$180
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$639
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$564
$387
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$277
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$908
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$153
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (16,366)
Filter reviews
16,366 results
Traveler rating
8,768
4,199
1,740
910
749
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,768
4,199
1,740
910
749
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub premiumla fuentesanta fe steakhousecoral seafoodfamily deluxesports barspanish restaurantjacuzzi on the balconylanguage barrierbeautiful resortseafood restaurantdinner reservationsocean frontmake reservationsa la carte restaurantsfamily vacationadult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,884 - 5,889 of 16,366 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family of 5 (10, 6, 18 months) vacationed here from April 21-28th. We had a Family Deluxe Room which was located in the 8000 block of the complex. These rooms are a must for a large family - the amount of space they afford kept our young ones comfortable and civil while giving my wife and I some privacy. We did have some issues with ants in our room when food was left out. This was solved by not leaving food out. We tipped the cleaning lady $3 a day and had good service.The rooms in the 8000 block surround the Barcy Kids Water Park which was a lot of fun! It is open to all guests but the fact that it right outside your door if you stay in the 8000's makes it very convenient. It's great for kids up to about 10 years old, and there is plenty of shade for the young ones when you need it. There's a full bar (and a kids bar) in this complex which also serves coffee, muffins etc for breakfast.

The 8000 block is an easy 5 minute walk to the main building where the restaurants and main pools are. Add another minute to get to the beach. Our kids never complained about the walk, but they did prefer to take the "train" whenever they could mostly because it was fun.

The beach was fantastic. The area near the sports pool/watersports/beach club was pretty busy and seemed like a pretty good party most of the time. It was very busy compared to the beach area to the east (right) of the sports complex. We tended to keep to the eastern part of the beach as ti was a bit more low key. There was never any issue getting a beach chair in this area.

The pools are huge and never crowded during out stay. There's a 2nd small kids pool area just east of the main pools near the buffet restaurants.

We visited the new Pirate Water Park with has a few large slides and a wave pool. There was a $10 per person charge and while very nice, we only spent about 2 hours there before the kids wanted to find something else to do.

The grounds are beautiful. I don't know how they manage to keep the resort so well maintained.

The food was okay. Our family had zero complaints of the food quality or selection. The service was hit or miss but it went from mediocre to very good. We didn't have any "bad" service experiences and a few of the girls that were serving us were a lot of fun and took great care of us. I will say that I love seafood and there's an abundance of it at the buffet restaurants. If you don't eat seafood you could probably rule out 1/2 of the buffet selection, but even at that you'd fair well. The two buffets are connected and some basically serves as overflow for the other when it gets busy. Don't expect different food from one buffet to the next. Strikers had a 24 hour buffet, the food what you'd expect to find in a sports bar and was decent quality.

The a la carte restaurants were fine. I made reservations as soon we had out room number and had no issues getting 6:30 reservations each night. We tried the Japanese, Seafood & Mexican. I cancelled our reservations at the Italian after I realized that the menu was mostly pasta and there's an abundance of that at the buffet. My advice would be take advantage of the a la carte to break up the monotony of the buffet - but the food isn't that much better than what's offered the buffet. The pleasant surprise was the Hoya19 restaurant at the golf course. It's an a la cart with no dress code and no reservations. It was a great break from the hustle of the buffet and the hassle of reservations and dress codes.

If you are a coffee drinker the only real espresso machines that I found were in the Cigar Lounge and at Hoya19. Other wise it's american style coffee or cappuccinos from the machines in the restaurants. As far as alcohol goes the bartenders do what bartenders do; if you tip you'll get better service. The drink quality was good, but as others have said the cups are small so bringing your own large mug is a pretty good idea.

Traveling with a young child in DR is like having a VIP card - the people of DR love kids and seem to go out of their way to help you. The other thing that helps is speaking Spanish. I didn't speak a word of Spanish when I arrived but quickly found that more I attempted so speak it the better the service got. By the end of day two I was having fun learning and the employees were having fun teaching me! I'd say Espaniol is just as important as tipping and it doesn't take much. A $1 here and a few simple words there and you get better service that the guy next to you that won't tip and won't speak the DR's native language.

I was astounded by the number of Russian guests. I simply never had the opportunity to hang out with that many Russian people and wish I could have spent some time getting to know a few of them. The seem like great folks. If you happen to speak Spanish AND Russian you'll have the time of you life! At times it seemed like 1/2 of the guests were Russian and the others were Latino or Anglophone.

We didn't catch too many shows, but did see the Michael Jackson show and enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor of the 8000 block and there are no elevators. If you have any issues with climbing 4 flights of stairs (especially if you have to lug a stroller around) you may want to try to get a room on a lower level. 1st floor rooms have a small "yard" and you can walk right out to the water park. There are guest services centers all around the resort. Don't feel you have to visit the front desk to get help, the other desks are not busy and the employees seemed happy given something to do,
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max_Theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share this kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are really glad to hear that we were able to provide you a delightful stay in Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe and that we met your expectations. It is a pleasure for us to know that thanks to our facilities, our food concepts in the different restaurants and especially the service provided by our staff made you had a memorable stay enjoying your vacations with your family.

We are really glad that you had a great time in our resort and we really hope that we have the possibility to welcome you again in our little paradise!

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Upon arrival at this resort everything looked beautiful. The lobby was magnificient. Surrounding area of pools with gorgeous landscaping was very eye catching. The resort was well maintained. Room was clean but there were a few things not working properly. We advised Guest Services and they said someone would come to our room promptly to make the necessary repairs. They never showed up. Service in the buffet was terrible. Nobody understood English. None of the service staff spoke English nor understood English. It was very frustrating. By the second day of my vacation, I wanted to leave and go home. Our tv reception was very poor. Could not find English speaking channels. Request was made to get a few more towels and it took a day for them to be delivered to our room. I would never go back to Barcelo Bavaro Palace and will not recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your last vacations.

We honestly would like to apologize for the unusual inconveniences resulted during your stay with us. We are sorry that you felt unattended while you need assistance from our staff members. We can assure you that we are given the matters the proper attention. We regret the inconveniences trying to communicate with our Staff but we hope you may understand that English is not our mother tongue and our team members do their best effort to communicate with our guests in english. In the same way, be assured that your comments are taken into consideration.

We really regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations 100% , but we hope you could give us another chance in the future to change your opinion.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had a great time at this hotel. Its a big place and easy to bet around. The room was huge! Two bedrooms, one king bed with sleeper/sofa at the end of the bed (great for small children) and two full beds in the second bedroom with bathroom in between the two. Plus both bedrooms had balconies off of them! Both with small table and two chairs. The king bedroom had a jacuzzi tub on the balcony! Lots of room in the rooms and frosted sliding doors for privacy. The pools were awesome! Plenty of room and lots of chairs. You could go to the pool late morning and find a chair but if you went in the afternoon you would be out of luck. The beach was gorgeous with beautiful white sands. Plenty of chairs for lounging and several shady spots if you need that. The food was fine. Lots of fresh fruits at the buffet. Lots of variety of food to cater the wide variety of people. But not spectacular. There are several restaurants, we only ate at a few. The seafood one (Coral) was so so. The Japanese one (Kyoto) was really good. We had a group at the hibachi grill and the food was delicious. The 24 hr bar/restaurant (Strykers) actually had good food, mostly american.The downside was you had to make reservations for the restaurants with the little cards you get with your room key, if you don't have those cards they won't help you. Reservations should be made as soon as possible after checking in, they fill up fast. The dress code for the restaurants is worse for the men than women. Men have to wear pants, closed toe shoes- no shorts, no sleeveless shirts. Women just can't wear flip flops or shorts so lots of easy options for them. The place is also kid friendly- several kiddie pools throughout the resort. The drinks are good. Lots of options and they aren't stingy on the alcohol. One suggestion is if you go to a place like this, take an insulated travel cup. Use it to keep your drink cold or for ice water. I know others have said that people didn't speak English but I didn't run into that too much. Everyone was nice and had a smile on their face. That's half the fun! You have to understand you are in another country. All in all it was a great vacation! I would definitely do another all inclusive vacation again. This was my first and it was a great experience!

Room Tip: I believe we stayed in a family deluxe room. One king bed, two full beds and a sofa/sleeper at the end of the king bed. Would easily sleep 5 (2 adults, three + kids) or 4 adults comfortably.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschlote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your vacations in the Dominican Republic. We are glad that we were able to provide you a delightful stay in our little paradise and that we met your expectations. Also we are pleased to hear that our beach, the pool, your room, the variety of food, our beverage as well as our service was to your liking. Thank you so much for letting us know through Tripadvisor your nice experience during your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our resort. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had the best babymoon ever thanks to the exceptional service at the resort. From check in to check out out stay at Barcelo bavaro palace deluxe was very good. Fiordaliza sterling checked us in and have us a great welcome, explained everything we needed to know about the resort and have us a wonderful room close to everything ( my feet are swollen due to pregnancy). I loved the different food choices they have. My favorite restaurant was the Japanese restaurant, the food was delicious and very good service. During breakfast the service was exceptional, Grey Guzman assisted us with some natural remedies since my boyfriend belly was aching. One thing I was not too impress was with the food at the Spanish restaurant. It was slow in service and they didn't have a great variety.
The beach and pool are is very well kept. And I love was that outside vendors were no where to be seen. Beach entertainment was good with the aerobic and merengue classes. Had a great time. I will definitely go back and recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkenny1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback about your vacation in Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe. We are really glad to hear that we were able to provide you a delightful stay in our resort and we appreciated your review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to know that our beach, restaurants, the entertainment as well as the perfect performance of excellent service of our staff, especially from Fiordaliza Sterling and Grey Guzman in our Front Desk helped you to enjoy a wonderful and relaxing holiday.

We are pleased to hear that you will visit us again. We hope to see you soon in our little paradise!

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went to Barcelo Bavaro Palace for a conference. The hotel was chosen by the conference organizers. When I arrived, I thought I was going to have a fantastic experience. I was taken into the Club Premium area, given a champagne (they serve Freixenet which I drink and like, so that was a plus) and treated royally. I got a suite in the Clubs Deluxe area in the 6300s. Everything was great until the early evening. They had left a nice large bowl of fruit, champagne and chocolate in my room on the coffee table while I was out. When I came back, I had bugs all over the coffee table, on top of the place that housed the mini bar and the desk. Small whitish looking ants were crawling on my computer on the desk. I called to ask them if they could look into this and have someone exterminate. No one ever came. I ended up leaving a note for them to get rid of the fruit as that's where I thought the bugs were from. I had to write it in Spanish (I don't speak Spanish, but none of the help speaks English, so I looked it up on Google translate.) My front door did not close completely shut when you left the room, so I called to see if that could be fixed. They did send someone, but the door never did work properly. I had room service one morning. It was horrible, inedible. Scrambled eggs were gross and bacon was so salty it was awful. They delivered a nice chocolate dish again one night when i was out of the room but it attracted bugs again, so I called to have them remove it. The person who answered the phone didn't speak English so I tried to tell him the plate needed to be taken out. No one ever came. I called three times.
When they would take my washcloths out from being dirty they would not replace them with clean ones. If you called for something, it was never delivered.
I was so worried about the bugs in the room (it never was exterminated) I came home and washed and dry cleaned everything I took. I can't say enough bad about this awful property. I could wait to get out of there.

Room Tip: Get a room at the Hard Rock Punta Cana. Went there for a party while I was at the Barcelo. Wished I was staying there!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celebchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

The most important for us in Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe is that our guests enjoy their vacations in our resort and to improve our services for them daily, that is the reason why your opinion is very important for us. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences resulted during your stay. We really feel sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations and we honestly regret that you had problems with the housekeeping and that the breakfast from the room service was not to your liking. We assure you that these points will be given the proper attention to avoid such situations in the future. We are a little bit wondering that you say there was nobody speaking English, because we have a lot of personnel speaking this language. We will figure out what the problem was in your case.

We would be glad, if you give us another chance in the future to convince you of our commitment to excellent service.

Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews