We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$335
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$218
$153
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$255
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$191
$149
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$908
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,086)
Filter reviews
8,086 results
Traveler rating
4,793
2,202
728
209
154
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,793
2,202
728
209
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsstar rock cafesteakseafooddominican republicthe oriental restauranta la carte restaurantsguest servicesla pagodajunior suiteapple vacationsbeautiful beachother resortsceiling fanlobby barfrozen drinkssaona island
Filter
Updating list...
2,697 - 2,702 of 8,086 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at the Dominicana from April 4th to the 11th, good weather. It was advertised as a 4* resort, based on Caribbean standard, so no complains. In general, we had good times, the food was OK, but lacked diversity. The restaurants were average, nothing special, had lobsters twice (beach grill restaurant). The beach was charming but a little crowded and cramped. We had to wake up rather early to reserve a beach chairs. Our rooms, or the whole complex in general were clean (except for ants in the bathroom)
The nightly shows were enjoyable. We took the Saona excursion (catamaran & speedboat) and it was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cv3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We had a brilliant time and will certainly go back. We were in the Domicana but the Punta Cana is essentially the same hotel. They both share the facilities and the Punta Cana just has rooms in a different block. Apart from that I do not think there is any difference.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Their English was not great but nothing was too much trouble and it was service with a smile every time.

The food was quite good and certainly better than I had expected and which is normally found in all inclusive hotels.

The gym has a good range of quality equipment.

There were plenty of activities to pass the time and the entertainment team were very good. The evening entertainment was a little boring after a while and perhaps a little more variety in the shows is called for.

The hotel was busy but did not feel at all crowded. There was some sunbed hogging going on but we always managed to get a bed in the shade.

The rooms are basic but kept spotlessly clean (as is the rest of the hotel) and serve their purpose fine. Certainly nothing to complain about.

I have only one gripe. The hotel has photogaphers (a different compny I think) offering photo shoots. I thought it would be a good idea to have some family photos in this lovely enviroment. The pictures looked great and I paid $150 for 10 pictures to be printed and on a CD. But the photos were printed on an inkjet printer and had lines / marks on them. After numerous visits to the shop and various excuses the staff had to admit that they were not going to be able to print pictures of an acceptable standard. To their credit they eventually gave a part refund but this was only after some extensive negotiations and much stress and wasted time. Other people were also complaining whilst I was in the shop.

In short don't bother with the photo shoots. Otherwise this hotel is brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were at this Resort from February 20th to March 7th, 2010. I must admit that I had become a little "jaded" with visits to the Dominican Republic, comparing the friendliness and courtesy of the people in Mexico and Cuba but, after our visit to this Resort, I am again a fan of Dominican Republic.

We have been travelling since 1988 and we rate the Resorts after each visit. We have four top Resorts; one in Mexico, two in Cuba (Holguin – Playa Costa Verde and Caya Coco – Iberostar Guillermo) and now this one. We so thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff is amazing, the "A la Carte" restaurants were very good – especially the one in the lobby (and I do forget the name of it) and the buffet never failed to live up to our expectations. The grounds were the best of any Resort we have been to.

The ONLY negative thing we have to say (we travel with 3 other people so 2 other rooms) is that we all had problems with the room keys and we all had to change them a number of times.

That said, we will DEFINITELY do another vacation at this Resort and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firsttri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

By far the best hotel in the Carribbean. Food, rooms (make sure you get a nonsmoking), friends stayed at the H10 their beach & all others were so crowded..ours was wonderful..can't say enough. Iberostar-currently ranked 4th in the world for hotel chains - is trying to get to number one & they spare no effort. The New Years eve spread was wall to wall .... theme restaurants...I 'll be here all night raving about this place..can't wait to try other Iberostars in Mexico, Spain etc. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sunblock60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed with another couple at the Dominicana from 4/4 - 4/10. We were very pleased with virtually everything there. The staff was incredible; always helpful and friendly and were grateful when tips were offered but never making one feel they were necessary for great service. I'm sure that it was part of hotel policy and training, but their friendliness seemed just so truly sincere and natural.

Our room was a good sized junior suite and was neat, clean and serviced daily. We never even saw the maid but she did her job well and even lined up my wife's Emelda Marcos shoe collection every day.

We have stayed often at AI resorts and towards the end of the stay sometimes the buffets get boring. For the most part the menu was changed daily and the quality was good. There always seemed to be at least something new to try and some old standbys to fall back on. We did dine at two of the specialty restaurants and were satisfied if not overly impressed with the quantity.

As with all resorts, there is a policy of not reserving lounges at the pool. Well as usual, it is not enforced and if you want a good place at the pool, you have to get there early and mark out your territory. There were plenty of lounges along the beach and there seemed to aways be some available somewhere.

One review I had read before going had mentioned a fairly small beach area. Not here folks! The is white sand beach as far as you can see in both directions from this hotel.

Our overall impression of the resort was very positive and, while there were many kids at the resort, for the most part they were well behaved and never irritating.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizzard_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews