We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$336
$180
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$639
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$564
$387
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$277
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$908
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$378
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$153
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,031)
Filter reviews
8,031 results
Traveler rating
4,756
2,192
724
206
153
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,756
2,192
724
206
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsstar rock cafesteakseafooddominican republicthe oriental restauranta la carte restaurantsguest servicesla pagodajunior suiteapple vacationsbeautiful beachother resortsceiling fanlobby barfrozen drinkssaona island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,998 - 2,003 of 8,031 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been at this resort before. They have the nicest beaches by far. We went to turks and Caicos and the Bavaro Beach is the nicest by far. Weather is beautiful if you check the weather prior to going out always says rain. The rain always comes in the overnight early morning hours. The staff at the resort is wonderful. They speak multiple languages and are there to make sure you have everything you need. The suites that we stayed in were clean, flat screen TV modern amenities and a mini frig that is stocked every other day for free. Each site has a balcony robes and slippers are provided too. Plenty of activities on the property and also excursions are available at an extra charge. Use the hotel reps to set up excursions they are very knowledgeable and reliable. This hotel is all inclusive so no need to carry alot of money. All food drinks and non motorized amenities included. Make sure you have some cash. There is a ten dollar per person charge to enter the country that you pay at the airport. Don't lose the receipt or you may have to pay again upon leaving. All in all we will be turning there again in November. .. It is a truly beautiful property that just makes you want more. .. enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drutilio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for taking the time to post some comments about your recent stay among us and for choosing Iberostar Dominicana once again for your holidays.
Thank you for highlighting out the friendliness and excellent of our staff member as well as the cleanness of our hotel premises. In Iberostar both aspects are part of our guiding principles to ensure our valuable guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for the whole team to welcome you back.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay at the Iberostar Dominicana. This resort is the perfect resort for a family as well as adults. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the rooms are kept extremely clean. The anamation team is amazing and will keep you laughing your entire trip if you want great fun. If not, there is plenty of room around the resort that you can stay away for the action and just relax. Our hats goes off to Pantara, Maria, Fernando, Luis, Claribel, Francesca, Miguel and Melvin from the amination team. They will keep you entertained from Monday to late night. They are extremely hard workers and deserve to be recognized. If you are relaxing by the pool be on the lookout for Marco (my singing waiter) and Josefa (my smiling waitress). At the theater look for Carmen (our dancing waitress). The food is plentiful and is served all day and night. There is wide variety so, if you do not like certain foods you will find what you like. There is always something fresh on the grill at lunchtime from steaks, chicken, pork and paella so be on the lookout at noon. For those of you who have children do not fear. They have a kids club and will keep the kids entertained day and evening. My children are teens who had a blast. They are already planning our return. There is plenty of fun for all. Honestly, the whole staff at this resort is top notch. They all go above and beyond. I don't think you will be disappointed with this resort. We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: We would recommned upgrading to a suite so, you will have plenty of room for your family. Standard is fine also if you are on a budget. Trust me you will not be in your room much.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your family holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to express how please we are to read that you and especially your children enjoyed from a memorable stay due to the excellent service of our friendly staff. In Iberostar we aim to turn your holidays into an unforgettable vacation. We have congratulated Marco, Josefa, Carmen, and our Star Friend team whose service helped us to achieve our goal during your stay.
We are looking forward to see you again in our premises. Please feel free to contact us before you arrival.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel was great. Food also. Entertainment the best points of this resort. The entertainment team is outstanding. The Star Friends Director and all the entertainment team are so talented and I would like to recognize the hard job they do all day to make the guests happy . The Management was there every day to make sure that the guest are happy and to organize everything that has to do with the customer service. I work in that field and I will guarantee you that the staff is so organized, that is close to perfection.I would like to mentioned one by one what I so in this resort:

The beach- beautiful
Entertainment - great, great, working hard, non stop.
Swimming pool - huge and always clean.
Food - really good, there are 3 buffet, 2 close to the beach serving great food.
Customer service - the best, they take care of the guests as they are their good friends.
Rooms - great condition, air conditioning, safety box, and everything you need in a room.
Service in the beach or in the pool with the drinks, oh my good so great.

The best resort ever been. GREAT JOB, GREAT SERVICE, GREAT PEOPLE. I would like specially and individually to recognize the Management for the amazing job in managing professionally this resort, and all one by one the entertainment staff that they made our stay so pleasant and entertaining during all our stay.

I would strongly recommend this resort to everyone that would like to have a memorable time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the west side facing the ocean , nice view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaniY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana as your holiday’s destination and for taking the time to write a note about your experience at our hotel.
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we want to express our satisfaction to read that the friendliness and excellent service of our staff especially from our entertainment team (Star Friends) and their daily and nightly activities made your holidays especial as we aim in Iberostar. We have shared your motivating lines referring their work with the entire team so they keep doing our guests’ holidays memorable.
We cordially invite you to contact us before your next visit; we will be glad to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First off, the only thing keeping me from giving this a 5 star rating is the food, which is good, but not great!

The resort is beautiful - well-maintained, lush landscaping, gorgeous pool, wonderful views - and everything is very clean. The staff is mostly very friendly and extremely attentive, especially the bartenders and servers. The front desk staff was efficient and helpful. Our Apple rep was also very helpful. It's only about 30 minutes from the airport as well.

Pools: The pools are great. Big, cool, lots of shaded sunchairs. The only negative is a lot of people seem to go down early and put down towels to "reserve" chairs, but we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. There's no swim-up bar, but there are several bars right by the pool. One of the buffets is right by the pool, as well, which is nice for lunch.

Beach: Gorgeous! Lots of chairs with shaded coverings, soft sand, volleyball court...really relaxing and wonderful.

Entertainment: Always something going on, at the pool and beach, day and night. The entertainers are great and highly energetic. They put on shows every night in the theater by the lobby. We only saw one show, the Ideal Couple show where they brought up members from the audience and it was so funny! They have servers coming around getting drinks, so you don't miss any of the show.

Rooms: Our room was just a basic room, but it was nice. Clean, just big enough, nice water pressure and temp in the bathroom. The maids did a great job cleaning, and always left the towels in fun shapes with flowers, just a nice little touch.

Food: Like I said, good, not great. The breakfast buffet at the main restaurant is the best food. Lots of variety, really tasty. The lunch buffets (one at the main buffet and one at the restaurant by the beach) were ok. Just your basic buffet food -- pizza, burgers, rice, nachos, salad bar, etc. The buffet by the beach has a grill where they make porkchops, steak, pork belly, etc. That's very good. The rest is just ok. You need reservations for dinner at the main restaurants, and we ate at two, Marimba (seafood) and Maria Bonita (Mexican). Again, both were good, not great. You get a lot of food, though, which is nice. And really good service. The other night we ate dinner at the Star Rock Cafe, which is basically on par with like Applebees or Chilis.

Spa: We paid $100 for a 50 minute couples massage that was worth every minute.

Excursions: We booked one excursion, through Apple, to the Marinarium. It was $180 for the both of us and beyond worth it. You get to snorkel and swim with stingrays and nurse sharks, open bar on the boat, lunch (small sandwich, so bring a snack!), stop to swim in the ocean (with drinks!) and a very entertaining staff. It was really amazing!

Overall, the resort was pretty fantastic. Like I said, the only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is that the food is just good. Everything else was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana hotel for your vacations and for writing a comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read that you enjoyed an unforgettable experience as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts due to the excellent service of our staff and our entertainment options. Our staff will be happy to acknowledge that their work left you a remarkable impression.
On the other hand, we regret to read that our two nightly themed buffets and snack bars as well as our five a la carte dinner options were not satisfying enough. We have shared you feedback in this area with our executive Chef so he can evaluate his performance with our North American costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Punta Cana for a spring break get away! We were greeted with fruity drinks, tropical music, and very friendly and helpful staff. We were looking for something affordable but nice and that is exactly what we found at Iberostar Dominicana!!! My boyfriend had booked a King room but they were out so they upgraded our room to a Junior Suit. This had a nice seating area, tv, full beds, patio, mini refrigerator, and it was really close to the beach. It was not a king room, so that was kind of a bummer but it was just us, so a full bed worked just fine! All of the staff was super helpful, we even locked ourselves out of the room and a staff member brought us a key so that we did not have to walk to the front again.

You get what you pay for in the food. It was all inclusive so it was buffet style and basically the same things every night. We ate at the sports bar a few nights, and it was american style food, and good, not great but what we expected. We had the mexican restaurant one night. It was cheap mexican, and nothing like what you get at the authentic mexican restaurants in the states. We ate at the steak house the other night, and it was SOOO good! If we went back, we would book this for reservation nights every night.
For breakfast, it was buffet style and we LOVED it! Everything was always fresh and the fruit was always so good.

We never had a problem getting lounge chairs either. We never had to go out early or go without. The only thing that I would suggest is if you want an umbrella then I would get out there early. We wanted the full sunshine! Although sometimes it was not exactly where we wanted, we always had a chair.

All in all this was one of the very best vacations that I have been on!

I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasidyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear guest,
We want to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
It is a pleasure for the whole Iberostar Dominicana team to acknowledge that you and your boyfriend enjoyed an unforgettable experience due to the beauty of our facilities, our exquisite cuisine and the friendliness of our staff. These are very important aspects of our guiding principles in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers. Likewise, we have shared your feedback with our Executive chef about our lunch options.
We look forward to welcoming you back; please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.
With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews