We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the most part very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Caribe Tropical
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bavaro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We had 4 rooms and our family ranged from single woman (53), 30ish couple with 2 kids 5 and 3, mid 20s couple (pregnant wife), late 20s single guy, teenage girl.

The bad:

The rooms varied in quality from pretty bad to very good and we were all in the same "villa." I complained about the pretty bad one and my vacation was almost ruined waiting for service people for all the issues in this room.

They said there was a teen club but there was an arcade for 12 and 13 year olds. A 16 year old girl traveling alone had nothing to do. The late 20s single guy spent some time at the casino and there was not a lot of nightlife as this is a family resort.

We had a couple of dinner reservations glitches and some issues almost every day.

There are people trying to sell you something every 3 feet but we did get a good deal on ATVing and parasailing by talking to different people. But after that it is annoying.

The "non motor" water sports are practically not there. At other places they give you boogie boards or something but not here. I don't know why.

We were there New Year's Eve and there were no announcements about fireworks or celebrations and because the place is so huge we were walking around looking for it almost all night.

The place is HUGE and the little train doesn't come by as often as you'd like and it's confusing the first couple of days.

The good: the little ones loved Flinstone Land. The beach is beautiful. The golf course is beautiful and the golf clubs you rent are very good. A lot of the staff is friendly but others could care less. The business center, while a bit pricey, had good connectivity.

There was no problem getting a beach chair or a covered spot. We went to other resorts and you would need to be out there at 7 am to get a chair. Not here. We had no issue at all and the beach never seemed crowded...it's very very long and nice.

We changed from the beach to the pools to the beach and back again. We never had problem finding chairs or a good spot to hang out.

The food was pretty good. After 6 days we were tired of some of the offerings but overall, it was good.

They had no issue giving our pregnant traveler bottled water for the most part. Some waiters seemed surly...like the purified water was good enough (it wasn't...a few of us had stomach upset so get some bottled water too).

The spa was pretty good but some of the technicians honestly looked bored and annoyed.

Overall a good family place. Not a good place for a solo teenager and not a good place for singles seeking nightlife.

Even though the "bad" might seem to outweigh the good, we did spend most of our time on the beach and could not complain about that at all.

It WAS very restful and is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sje119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

9,493 - 9,499 of 17,460 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

I went with my 20 family members (my 3 brothers and 3 sister, their spouces and kids, my husband and my kids, and my parents! We are a well traveled family, and we take huge family vacations every 2 years. Each family had kids ranging from ages 2-17, and the hotel perfectly accomodated everyone.

The Hotel is so huge, when we got there we were welcomed by any drink of our choice, and a group of people who showd us to our rooms.
we had just basic room that were fairly close to the pool, and they were perfect. clean and well taken care of each day. The service was great, especially after we left red sox hats for our maids (they are huge Big papi fans)
The food is good, i mean you have to be careful about what you eat, because of their poor sanitation in the Dominican Republic. All of the restaurants are great, the Japanese and Italian seemed to be the best though.

The beach is huge, and amazing! It is shared by many resorts though, so there are lots of vendors and people trying to get you to buy stuff, but just keep a strong head and negotiate prices, or say no!

The pool area is huge!!! the kids and adults loved it. The swim up bar is always good for drinks and beverages of any kind. its also just a beautiful area, where the waters clean and theres a lot to do. They have music going alot, but not to loud, so you can enjoy that and alos get hair braided or henna tattoos or massages.

They have shows at night, some which are really good, and some which are so so... but at night they have a ton going on, they have like Shot night at the bar or bands playing, dancing, bazars and just areas to hangout and relax.

One cool thing they have, that not only the kids enjoyed was a zip line and ropes corse. Its soo fun, and the kids went like everyday over and over again.
Theres tons to do, regarding water sports and land sports, we did snorkeling parasailing, catamaraning, swimming with the dolphins and windsurfing.

The resort is huge, and if you stay for a while you can go to all of the different pools, but its so big, its hard to conquer the whole place in one stay.
They offer a shuttle service around the resort that are little trains that stop of at different spots in the resort. You can also get rides on golf carts driven by hotel staff if there are no trains coming by soon.

The only complaints i had were every so often, there would be blackouts, where the whole resort would go black with no lights, and it was scary sometimes at night, when youd be like in the bathroom or walking home and it got pitchblack out of nowhere, so just walk in groups and you wil be fine (there are security guards evreywhere to help you out).
the only other thing is the water problem. you cant even drink the resorts bottled water, because they just refill the bottles with tap water, which is contaminated, and three people in my family got sick, and it was not fun to deal with, but it wasnt the end of the world.

its the kind of place that isnt catered to a certain age group everyone in the family, or even if your going just the two of you on a romantic getaway. its perfect!

over all great stay! if your going to the DR go to this resort. its amazing you will absolutleyy not regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsuntan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed at this resort from the 8th of January through the 15th of January, 2010. We have a 5 year old and a 2 year old and specifically chose this resort as it is a family resort. So be prepared.. there are a lot of kids running around. Don't choose this resort if you don't want to be around a bunch of children. We had a fabulous time, but I would like to share a few of the things that irked us.

Check in took a long time, we probably waited about 45 minutes to check in and there were only 5 families checking in at the same time. The 2 individuals at the desk took their sweet time getting things done.

We had asked for a room with the 2 double beds figuring our girls would share a bed. When we got to the room the beds were actually only slightly bigger than a twin bed. There was no way that my husband and I would be able to share a bed that small.. double beds are already pushing it. So we had the bellboy call the front desk and order us a crib for the 2 year old. We could deal with not sleeping in the same bed for the week. Our eldest daughter slept on the "couch" which is acutally a twin bed in disguise. They took their time bringing us the crib, but it was in the room by bedtime that first night.

We found the buffet food to get boring after the first few days, they didn't seem to change the menu too much. The food was good, don't get me wrong, but it did get tiresome eating the same thing for breakfast and lunch. They have a bunch of A La Carte restaurants for the evening and I would highly recommend the Japenese one. It was fun and delicious!

There were a lot of Europeans and Russians at this resort. The Europeans that we encountered were rude. One lady actually stole a toy out of my 2 year old daughters hands to give to her daughter. The Russians were very rude and their children were out of control. They would cut in line at the buffet and very much only thought of themselves. The children were out roaming the resort at 11pm unattended (and these were children under the age of 10). They were rowdy and had no respect for others.

I'm going to also comment on some things that others have said about this resort.

Many people have said that the resort is huge. While it is large it is not unmanageable. We stayed quite close to the beach and walked to the dinner buffet a few times with our 2 year old walking as well. While it did take about 20 minutes to do the walk you must keep in mind we weren't walking at an adult speed. Also, there is a train (or rather there are sometimes 3 of them running at one time). The ride is pretty quick and we never once weren't able to get on due to overcrowding.

I've seen some comments regarding the safe and how much they charge. The charge is $2 per day. So it cost us $14USD to keep our passports and other valuables safe. Well worth it in my opinion. Let's be serious, on top of the thousands you've already spent to go to this resort what is another $2 per day to keep your things safe really? In my opinion, not a big deal at all.

The place is beautiful. The grounds are immaculately kept. For the most part the staff were very friendly. Things seem to take a bit more time getting done, but really, you're there on vacation, for relaxation, try to go with the flow.

We had a great time. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

All you can eat food and drinks. Beach is wonderful with free games and enterainment. Rooms were elegant. Employees were nice. They would grab coconuts from the tree, take out a machette and slice it open for you.

Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank DanteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed at Melia Caribe over the summer with my fiance. We did the royal service and truly thought we made the right decision. Not only was an extra restaurant included but you also get a private pool(which was never overly crowded).The extra restaurant was very nice but not really necessary due to the fact that there was so many great places to eat. We arrived at the resort pretty early in the day, since we had royal service we were swept away to a private check-in area and were in a room in minutes. The staff was amazing, we ordered a bottle of wine to the room and it was delivered in less than 10 minutes. The pool and beach were amazing. YES the resort is large but we knew that before we even booked it so we never did mind it. Walking to the beach was a good way to walk off the amazing food!
The only negative thing i can say about this resort is the room. The first few days were nice, but for some reason we started seeing ants crawling on the floor. We noticed the glass doors going out to the balcony didn't close correctly, so we were getting a trail of ants. We never complained due to the fact that we were leaving a day later, but I'm sure if we did they would have changed our room. Also the night life wasn't that great, so if you are looking for a club like atmosphere this isn't the resort for you. With being in the sun and swimming in the pool/beach all day we were in bed pretty early so it never bothered us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrLo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I brought my fiance to the Melia because I wanted to show her the place, look at their vacation club, and see the gazebo that they have for possible use when we get married. We had been apart on personal items three days before we met at the airport. We never shared a meal until we arrived on Monday. On Friday, we BOTH became VERY ill, both of us developing diarrhea, nausea, fever, and lethargy. Since we were scheduled to depart the next day and ,since our conditions were getting worse, we went to the hospital medic. He told us that we were severely dehydrated , feverish, and told us that we needed to go to the hospital for examination and be rehydrated. At the hospital we were diagnosed with moderate dehydration and severe gastroenteritis (the doctor at the hospital told us initially that we had symptoms of salmonella poisoning). We had to stay overnight, were given antibiotics and glucose. Upon departure, we were presented with a bill of over $3,000 for both of us that had to be paid before we would be released. We notified the hotel of all of this who took our information and referred us to an Elizabeth Perez. We sent all of the information to Ms. Perez. We never heard from them. After two emails and two phone calls, I was put in touch with a Dr. Frank Reyes. He asked me to get the results from the hospital. After a month of dealing with the hospital, I did. He THEN asked me to get the specific test results. After another month, I did. In the end, I think he hoped we would give up and go away. After all of this work and providing the documentation that shows how sick we were, they offered . .(are you ready?) a 20% discount on an upgrade the next time we stay at the resort. No mention of the $3,000 or any any payment of all or part of it. This was an insult.
At no time did they acknowledge that we had gotten sick from staying at their resort. As you can see, all they did was try to get us to go away. TWO people staying at the resort, eating their food, drinking their beverages get sick. How can this NOT be a cause of the resort? It couldn't have happened three days prior because we BOTH were not together. We did not eat at the airport or on the plane. Our first meal and all subsequent meals were at the resort.
I will never go back to this place. There is not doubt in my mind our illnesses came from staying at the Melia Caribe. They treated us like second class citizens all along the way; not returning phone calls, not returning emails, not responding when hosptial records were send, refusing to provide names of the hotel managers or other people whom we could contact. No one person treated us with respect: not Ms. Perez, not Dr. Reyes, and not their boss, Gledwin Mills. We were made to feel like an imposition, not a customer. All they had to do is what you or i would have done; accept the responsibility, make amends to your customers, and acknowledge that your customer was harmed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamawfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Before I rate the hotel, DO NOT go on the Bavaro Runners Excursion. $90 full day of let downs!!!!!! You have been warned. There is no tabacco Museum just a hut on the side of the road, NO sugar cane plantation just a field on the side of the road, BAD experience DON"T GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel is phenomenal!!!!!!! Keep in mind it is spread over as bldgs are only 2 storeys but there are trains/trams constantly picking you up or staff on golf carts will take you all over. Entertainment is great, even for small children they have a special club and entertainment. But poolside is topless and a small amount of women are. The restaurants are great, just make sure to make reservations in the morning or night before. My brother in law is picky and I'm a chef and the food was unbelievable!!!!! We ate filet mignon Med Rare, lamb chops, grilled chicken fish at the buffet. Japanesse great staff, entertaining, GREAT Martini, Food 8 out of 10, Steak house 8 out of 10, Asian Fusion 8 out of 10, Seafood 8 out of 10. The buffets were very good, the fruit was a little disappointing. Lunch buffet was awesome..... they made Paella in a giant skillet it had lobster, musells, shrimp, chicken, safron rice.House Wine is not so good but you can purchase good quality bottles.What more can I say you won't be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The-Crazy-Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
2.7 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#22 of 115 in Punta Cana
13,902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
6.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
5.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#68 of 115 in Punta Cana
9,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Caribe Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Caribe Tropical

Address: Playa de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#13 Green Hotel in Bavaro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#15 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#16 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: $202 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Caribe Tropical 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Unforgettable family vacations on an idyllic island - Meliá Caribe Tropical boasts the exclusive The Level - 9 outdoor pools (Including Melia Caribe and The Level) for adults and children -Fine dining with international cuisine and theme nights -Full activities program, workshops, parties, musicals, evening shows for kids and adults and live music. Experience the YHI Spa sensation, beauty treatments, health and wellbeing. Convention Centre of 6,405 m2 with 13 meeting rooms and space for up to 1,000 people. -A magical wedding with superb service and a dreamy location -Fun children's area where the children can engage in sports activities (zip line, climbing wall, super jumper) and artistic activities (crafts workshops) together with their family and professional supervisors. Located on the beachfront on the idyllic Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana (Dominican Republic), the Meliá Caribe Tropical hotel is the perfect option for vacations with the family or your partner, thanks to its beautiful beach, extensive and comfortable facilities, a wide range of activities and entertainment, and the superior quality of its services. Meliá Caribe Tropical is a luxury hotel in Punta Cana with a Yhi Spa areas, Royal Service, fine dining, 9 pools, casino, golf course, gym, 13 meeting rooms, fun children's area , amongst other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Caribe Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Tropical
Sol Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Punta Cana
Melia Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Tropical Punta Cana
Melia Hotel Punta Cana
Melia Caribe Tropical Resort
Punta Cana Melia Caribe Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing