We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17,969)
Filter reviews
17,969 results
Traveler rating
9,063
4,844
2,031
1,064
967
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,063
4,844
2,031
1,064
967
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican grillavenue bargabi restaurantgolf cartla gondolatropical lobbyvip loungegabi poollevel sectiontime sharesteak and lobsterdominican restaurantbreakfast and lunchkids clubdominican republicdinner reservationsmaster suite
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 17,969 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Great time on our honeymoon, loved the hotel and excursions. On our first day we went horse back riding and to the blue hole lagoon and the second excursion we swam with sting rays and sharks. The resort was. Dry cleaned and we recieved great service. The beach area was clean and the water was clear and beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Stayed hear for one night after staying at the Hard Rock for 3 nights. You definitely can see the difference in the attention to detail, the overall lack of care and friendliness by all of the staff, quality of food as well as size of rooms and decor were piss poor in comparison. Will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MeliΓ‘ Hotels International
5  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

This was a very nice resort. The staff was friendly, attentive, and never hesitated to assist us. We did two excursions while we were there which proved to be a lot of fun. Make sure you take in some of the sites. Now for some of things we disliked. We had reserved a 1 bedroom suite and ended up in a studio because someone had reserved a whole area of the resort. I would have rathered had the 1 one bedroom, however, because of the problem, we had a large discount in our all-inclusive fee. Secondly, bring Imodium. This resort had a few outside buffets which we frequented for breakfast and lunch. Flies and birds everywhere, hence, we were both very uncomfortable the last 2 days of our stay. Use the buffet inside the main building. And thirdly, don't drink the water. We even used bottled water to brush our teeth which is provided in every room along with beer, soda, & snacks. Other then the outside buffets, which wouldn't have been bad if they were screened in, it was Beautiful.

Room Tip: If you need a bath tub go for a 1 bedroom, otherwise you will only have a shower.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank grannygogojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Stayed at Melia Caribe Tropical for a wedding and had one of the worst all-inclusive experiences. The hotel grounds is way too big and the golf carts, diesel train that is used to transport the guest is not only of environmental concern but inefficient. Even when you call for a shuttle ride, which never came, literally had to run and stop the cars to get a ride. Imagine walking in heals to a wedding and the driver still didn't stop.

Additionally, Staff was never eager to help and customer service was sub-par. We called reception several times and was always given to run-around. In terms of food, you are served the same things everyday and they keep the heat lamps way too hot so food is left try and pretty much taste like gas station/convenience food options. I would suggest only going to the prepare for you stations such as burgers/omelettes and even in those situations, staff was not very friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Stay at the Level section or suites
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately it was just a bad experience. Melia Caribe tropical is a huge resort, which is fine by us, as we love big resorts( we' Ve been To Princess and Iberostar, which are big- they have plenty things to do)
So the resort is huge but so useless. I assumed that's there would be pools all over the territory. Oh boy, how wrong I was, we were in the middle of the resort, and there were ponds by each side of the resort!!!! Ponds- go what! They'd better build a big pool there instead. So the main pool was all the way at the end of the resort next to the beach.
Since it was just one main pool it was kind of crowded.
People would take lounges early in the morning by putting their towels, so later there wouldn't be any vacant bed lounges. That's ok too.
So people who worked there were not all polite. The cleaning leafy was very nice to us, I think only because we tipped her.
The food was not good at all. There are 2 buffets: one close to the lobby and the other close to the beach , which I prefer. But since the second one was outside - it was kind of very hot!!! The budget that was close to the lobby didn't have enough food for everybody, and the employees were kind of rude. It took them forever to come to us and offer the drinks. So one morning we came to that buffet and they didn't even have plates so we had to wait until they got more plates. They ran out of bananas and yogurts in a few minutes and they said they didn't have more!!!!! Really???? Ran out of food so fast?
Then there were not many choices for food, very poor selection, and every day they would have the same food, which is quite annoying.
The drinks were horrible, watered too much, you wouldn't feel even tipsy after 10 drinks. And I am not a drinker so I get tipsy very fast. Didn't happen!!! They do it on purpose so you would get what they call "Premium liquor ", and you have to pay for it!!! Crazy.
The rooms were outdated, our closet door would close, the lamps on the room were broken, everything is kind of scratched , we didn't have hot water one day in both of our rooms, it took them half day to fix it.
The kids club zone was pretty, the girls who worked there were sweet too, but I wish they did more activities and arts and crafts with them. I had a feeling that kids were doin whatever they wanted to do, without organized activities. They had some games and dancing for kids at night at least.
But no fun activities for adults AT ALL!!!
The only activities they had some lame aerobics, very slow and not fun at all. I took a picture of the schedule of their activities so look at it. The crazy games they had were Darts and Horseshoe game. What are those??? What kind of crazy game are those???
The schedule says Olympic Games - we went there - and nothing was happening in the beach. Sometimes people would play beach volleyball, but the employees were not even gathering people for that.
Our building was in the middle of the resort so we had to walk every where or take a small train. But at night the lights were so poor, you won't even see your building number!!!
What was good about our stay-there were enough couches and lounges in the lobby to chill out. They would have life music performance in the lobbies every night.
The restaurants were kind of ok too. We went to Mexican couple of times - we liked that one the most, Dominican- didn't like it, Thai- so -so, and Japanese and Lobster house you need to pay. The lobster house has tables outside, and they would grill their lobsters and steaks outside, and we saw that many times they were burned.
They have gym, also ok, clean, not enough machines, and we went one time they didn't have towels, also disappointed.
The beach was also ok, a lot of lounges, so that was nice, but the sea weed was annoying. I understand that was a season for that. And they clean the beck every day. But one day they didn't clean the beach, it was gross!!! You can see it on the picture.
So over it was a HUGE Disappointment!
But it also depends what you are looking for from your vacation. If you kind of guy that just eats and relax, it might be al right for you . We are very active , so for us it was REALLY boring!!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
7  Thank OLenany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews