We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,418)
Filter reviews
1,418 results
Traveler rating
1,178
159
38
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,178
159
38
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lion fish chef eduardo inner circle agua marina family concierge ceviche restaurant de la rosa reserve guests kids club dinner reservations personal concierge bedroom master suite silent disco punta cana main pool kids water park golf cart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,418 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

We have just returned from a 12 day holiday at The Grand Reserve, staying in an inner-circle suite.

This was the first time we had stayed at a Melia hotel and I must say that we were very impressed. The hotel décor is just incredible and the restaurants, bars, the spa and rooms are just superbly designed and decked out. We had a suite and the size of the room was fantastic with unlimited snacks and drinks stocked up daily.

The on-site water park was perfect for our toddler too and we made a daily trip for him to enjoy the slides, splash areas and facilities. We also enjoyed time at the beach and spent afternoons exploring the Reserve pools as they are much quieter , peaceful and child-friendly than Grand Reserve/Circle main pool.

All the food was great and we visited most of the restaurants that were on offer across the resort and collection of hotels. The buffet was good and the staff in the restaurants were particularly helpful and friendly in the Grand Reserve. The service did not seem quite as high in the other hotels.

A special mention to our concierge/guest services Ralphy who went over and above his duties during our stay especially when we were unable to source additional nappies/diapers from the onsite shop. We were very grateful when he offered to drive to the pharmacy out of resort to help us out. Ralphy was also very accommodating with our restaurant bookings and room-services with our toddler so thanks Ralphy.

Also a thank you to Carlos Bautista (Concierge) who became best-friends with our toddler! He made sure that we were happy daily and had everything we needed. He also took the time on multiple occasions to take golf-cart rides to the beach and restaurants and show us around the resort which our little boy absolutely loved. He has asked multiple times since we got back ‘where is Carlos?’. He certainly made us feel very welcome and was a pleasure to speak to each day.

My only ‘room for improvement’ area is the Childrens Club onsite. I observed a few times that there was only 1 adult caring for 5 children under the age of 2 and whilst there seemed to be an abundance of staff, in my time spent within the baby room, there seemed to be a lack of child/baby play and engagement. There was also a tendency for staff to leave the door open to the baby room which allowed children (of all ages) to flow in and out which my toddler became cautious of. I think there needs to be some process-reviews to bring this up to the standards that are boasted on the website. Other than that, the children club facility is ok.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Sunset_Moments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMMelia, Gerente at The Grand Reserve At Paradisus By Melia Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your latter family vacations at our resort, also criticism is of course always welcome to improve our facilities and service. Rest assured that we'll share your valuable feedback with the corresponding departments.

We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay the services and that you used as well our sister properties. It'll be a pleasure for us to share your compliments with Carlos and Rlaphy, who made your vacation enjoyable.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Only one day at the Grand Reserve was enough for me to book a week with my children and grandchildren next December. With two grandchildren in each room I was afraid that there would not be enough space. The Master Suite has @ 1,000 square feet and is perfect for two children with their parents. The suite is new, thoughtfully designed and simply beautiful. My wife and I will suffer with just the One bedroom. 800 square feet of beautifully decorated space is more than enough for us.

The rooms are only a small part of the story. At every turn the staff proved to be professional, friendly and genuinely seemed determined to make sure we have a wonderful time. They succeeded spectacularly.

The food and beverage service we sampled were very good. Again, the service was outstanding.

Out short visit was not enough for us! We will see all of the wonderful Grand Reserve people in December.

Room tip: Inner Circle rooms have the best views but the others are just as nice
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jdr1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMMelia, Gerente at The Grand Reserve At Paradisus By Melia Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing description about your recent stay. We love to know that you spent an outstanding time at our high-end resort, enjoying the professional and warm service, as well as our different cuisines.

It'll be a pleasur for us to welcome your family at December for some luxury vacation at The Grand Reserve at Paradisus by Melia Palma Real.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The hotel itself is very beautiful. The staff is friendly, hard working, and helpful. Not a lot for teens to do other than the sports bar that is only open in the evening (where foosball tables and pool sticks were broken). For younger children (up to 8 or so) they have a small waterpark. The food is good but is the same at the buffet everyday. There are several restaurant options (a few require closed toe shoes and pants). We were there for New Years and they had DJs, dancers, acrobats, and fireworks. The staff definitely makes the resort.

Room tip: Don't get room cleaned everyday (just a few towels from the cleaning service).
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Q3965BQtimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMMelia, Gerente at The Grand Reserve At Paradisus By Melia Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We hope you had a pleasant time at our resort. Please rest assure that we will share your valuable feedback with the corresponding departments to keep improving our services.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

super friendly hotel nice staff child-friendly and great animation. We are enthusiastic about 2 employees of the hotel who keep the whole hotel on trap very very friendly and helpful we look forward to meeting you a second time in the ninth year .. the best Kauri Castillo and rosendo

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Vloraemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMMelia, Gerente at The Grand Reserve At Paradisus By Melia Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Vloraemilia,

Thank you very much for visiting us. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation at The Grand Reserve and that you took the time to acknowledge the service from Kauri and Rosendo; they'll be happy to get your impression of their services.

We're looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

This was our first time in the Domican Republic and we were impressed of how friendly the staff was especially Kendal Tavarez. He was very friendly and helpful with our kids and infant, he went above and beyond to get us what we needed.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank isaco2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMMelia, Gerente at The Grand Reserve At Paradisus By Melia Palma Real, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Isaco,

Thank you very much for visiting us. We love to know that you totally enjoyed your stay and the Dominican hospitality.

As creators of memorable experiences; we strive every day to exceed our guests' expectations by providing high quality service, and it is a real pleasure for us to know that we have achieved our goal since your arrival at our property.

It is thanks to our co-workers that we have been able to create these unforgettable moments. We are proud to have such a committed member in our team, and we assure you that we will share your kind words with Kendal Tavarez.

We're looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews