We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,180)
Filter reviews
11,180 results
Traveler rating
9,263
1,375
367
123
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,263
1,375
367
123
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler servicepool barour honeymoonother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaocean frontall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
8,354 - 8,359 of 11,180 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Very relaxing, excellent food and beaches. The nightly entertainment was good and the staff goes out of their way to be sure you enjoy yourself. No complaints at all. I have been to many other all inclusive resorts, including Ritz Carlton...this ranks up there as one of the best. The golf course is right near the resort, so no time is wasted getting to and from the course....it's not real challenging, but perfect way to spend a morning.
Bring your own float or tube for the water...none available. But, nothing else is needed! They think of everything.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sistersandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel by far is the complete game changer...you will not want to stay anywhere else. This resort is truly 5 star, the pools are amazing, beach is gorgeus. Plenty of stuff to do, massages are awesome, food was great. The resort is extremely exclusive and safe. If you dont have a 5-star wrist band...you ain't getting in. So there were no moochers or stray visiters from other resorts. They actually kept security on the perimeters of the resort so only the iberostar grand guest would be onsite. I was worried because it was near Haiti and i thought that the misfortune there would be felt in Punta Cana. Not being crass or insensitive, I wanted to be safe, i didn't want to fear crime or looting..NONE of that was going on. Security was tight....It was a near perfect vacation.

A few KEY POINTS:
RESORT ATMOSPHERE - 35+ Grown and relaxed
It's a mature adults only resort so it's a bit low key. A really mature crowd, no nudity, no hard partying....really laid back. Activity pool was pretty dead...everyone was really enjoying the beach or pool. Most importantly, even at the beach...NO KIDS allowed on our side!!! I travelled with a group and we were a little rowdy at times, but we visited a couple other resorts and partied there so we didn't disturb the others too bad. Although dead at times, at other times it felt good to come back Iberostar to recover in peace and quiet. Everyone was super nice, including the other guest! We had a blast. Leonardo is great with drinks at the swim up bar..Luis is a great server as well. The staff also made sure that we had safe passage to and from the resort...sending us only with trusted taxi services.

ROOM SERVICE - 2 thumbs down
Butler service was a slow at times, but we didn't stay in the room much so it was ok. The ONLY major complaint I have is ROOM SERVICE SUCKS....it took hours for them to fill orders and deliver them to the room. The resort was so awesome that we got over the less than impressive room service fairly quckly. Service at the pool, beach and restaurants made up for it.

VALUABLES - 5 finger discount (cleptos)
Lastly...there was some items that came up "missing"...from our parties rooms. The resort apologized, supervised remaining cleaning, sent flowers, comped a few extra services and sent an official apology letter. It was an appreciated effort. However it was annoying that just because you didn't lock it up, your maid picked it up. People steal any and everywhere this isnt unique to Iberstar so it wasn't enough to sour the experience but just remember to lock up your valuables. How ironic that the "missing" valuables were just in the rooms. We left things by the pool and beach all day and they were there whenever we went back for them. I guess if you can afford the Iberostar Grand...stealing wouldn't really make much sense. Seems like it was just one bad apple on the staff....occurances happened during the evening turn down service. The day maids were fine.

In a nut shell...great experience. If all of the Iberostar properties look like this one...I'm officially, a 5-STAR CHICK!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FoxxyPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

this was just what i needed. this hotel is heaven on earth. the staff are super friendly. They cater to your needs. They are there for you when you need them.The food is excellent. The restaurants are good, i would recommend the Japanese restaurant. To get the best drinks you need to see Leornardo, and the rest of the pool bar crew, Leidy, Clarkson. The decoration in the hotel is very unique and cute. The entertainment staff is always active and encouragin people to do the activities and to see the shows that are put on everynight. Conan,Kassandra, and Luis are the best. they are always looking for people to do activities with. The servers are alway there for anything you need, extra plates, fork or spoon, what ever you want they got.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazybabiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

travel date(s) july 24-31, 2010

grand bavaro is most definitely THE hotal to stay in bavaro beach
grand bavaro is the most recent complex built in the iberostar family here in punta cana
the other 3 adjoining hotels are within walking distance (it takes about 20 minutes to walk across the complex)

grand bavaro although next to the other iberostar hotels, feels like it's a world away from the others... the seclusion is amazing

trees, plush lawns, beautiful decorative pools and well laid stone walkways make the views throughout the hotel a truly calming experience

the property grounds, beach and hotel are kept in amazing condition
the beach is cleaned and sand evened out every morning and the groundskeepers are always keeping the lawn free of any fallen leaves

no shortage of alcohol here! the standard drinks, bartender concoctions and beer are always flowing
all the a la carte restaurants have good food and didnt fall ill at all
room service was prompt

wait staff on the beach and pool are attentive and come around often to ask if youd like another drink
beer of choice, el presidente (brahma and brahma light taste too american)
if you like sweet drinks, have a glass (or a few) of mama juana
you can also buy the ingredients as well as the liquor in the hotel shop

beach lounge chairs are comfy and be sure to grab a pillow
pool lounge chairs and beds are comfy
dont forget to ask for white cooling towels as the days get hotter from 1pm-4pm
you can also get the cooling towels at the towel/lotion bar

the beach is nicely laid out to allow for privacy and seclusion from the neighboring (and busier) adjoining iberostar hotels
if you feel inclined to go topless at the beach it's accepted but families do walk across the length of the beach so be mindful of that
topless at poolside is not allowed

take advantage of the free beach rentals and activities
the nightlife in the hotel is typical for iberostar hotels
the cigar bar was a good place to hang out

check out the disco at the riu hotel next to the iberostar complex and take the half hour taxi to Imagine

the hotel rooms are spacious for two
king bed is super comfy and switch your standard  pillows for 4 down pillows
fridge fully replenished every day with water juice tonic wine beer
the bathroom is definitely not for the shy types
call your butler and have a jacuzzi bath drawn for you with roses and a bottle of champagne every night if you like
dont forget to draw the mechanical privacy shade or you'll give the ground floor passers by a show
glass enclosed shower and toilet keep things minimally private
double sink with some countertop space is great!

the balcony is great for having breakfast in the morning and having a late night drink before bed
request an inward facing ocean view (minimal nightly additional charge)

the free in room with wifi is great
make sure you ask for a dvd player because there are few english tv channels
the bedside clock is an ipod dock as well so you can play your fave toons

the spa was great!
a bit pricy for services in general but thats to be expected for resorts
book a beach massage... you'll love it!
take advantage of the daily 1130am stress relief sessions as well

be sure to tip your cleaning services daily, $3, it's a nice gesture
at the end of the stay i'd suggest tipping your regular poolside and beach wait staff, $10 each for the week

i've traveled to the caribbean quite a bit and hands down grand bavaro is the one place i will definitely return to!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracyclancy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We have been to the Dominican before with our friends so we had some idea what to expect. We had gone in March when the rates were much higher and rain was practically non existent. This time we went in July with our children who are 29, 27, 25, 22. We wanted to be sure we were getting the best value for our vacation and were willing to pay for a 5 star hotel, but not a 3 star that was overrated. We did search for months and wanted to make the right choice. The Ibero Star Grand is everything they say it is. When we arrived the friendleness was overwelming,at check in we greeted with champagne and pina colads.The rooms are not musty and smell of mildew like most of the hotels there, they are inpecably clean. The staff is genuinlly caring and helpfull, I felt like I had left some friends behind when we left.Most of them do speak English, not like most of the other places. Some people say tip the butler when you first get there, I don: t agree, I gave him $20 thinking I was going to get special treatment then I never seen him again. Most of the room service people,waiters, and bartenders do deserve tips usually a dollar or two and they will love you long time. They work hard and deserve it. We brought 100 ones, and used most of them. Bring mostly $5 and $10. We always tipped Dinner $20-25
lunch and breakfast $10-15. They could not do enough for you, and always seemed to remember were you liked to sit or what you drank they are so appreciative of your small tips. Another recommendation make you reservations for dinner when you arrive. You will be able to got to the other Ibero Restaurants but I believe you will find them sub standard to the ellagant restaurants you have a choice of. It is great to go to the other Iberos, but I would eat at the grand. If you do not see any food or liquor on the menu they will still be able to get it but don't advertise it. We did have a medical problem, and that created a bit of an issue. I would suggest you make sure your insurance will cover you in a foreign country. Our only problem was tropical storm Bonnie came thru that region for 5 days it certainly put a damper on sitting on the beach. We still had a great time sat under the huts drank alot and had fun. When I tried to find out when the rain season was I could not get a diffinitive answer. That was my only complaint. This was ultimately a top quality excellant resort that does give you everthing it promises. Stay dry

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waynes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews