We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
$153
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$465
$337
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$234
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$261
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$190
$149
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$908
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10,810)
Filter reviews
10,810 results
Traveler rating
8,962
1,323
357
119
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,962
1,323
357
119
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler serviceour honeymoonpool barother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaall inclusive resortrose petals
Filter
Updating list...
8,283 - 8,288 of 10,810 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

What a hotel the name Grand is really Grand (wauw) what a place to be. Very nice people
special Lydie she"s never let you out of drinks by the pool. Good food and Remmy the kook
with his eggs every morning. And our butler Pastor a few people to manson they are the best for us. Dont hassitate just go.

Greetings From Amsterdam The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snoopy803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We've stayed everywhere from the Hilton Maldives to LeBlanc Cancun and frankly, this was one of our better vacations. Since mostly everything was good, and I do recommend this hotel (and it will only get better over the coming year or so), allow me to tell you briefly the few things you may not like, if you tend to be picky:
- No soap dish in bathroom
- Newspaper arrived at our room every other day (supposed to be every day)
- Limited consistency in room service and minibar refills (e.g., you ask for Diet Coke and receive regular Coke, etc...)
- The best restaurant is the buffet, which due to low occupancy is closed several nights per week. Therefore, you are forced into ‘theme’ restaurants which are not as good as the buffet.
- Cool (wet) face/hand towels were delivered to guests on the beach, a brilliant touch. Unfortunately, it was only once per day and not necessarily every day. These towels were never delivered poolside.
- Activity pool was closed (requires maintenance)
- Golf course not ready yet (not a golfer so no difference to me)
- While the food and beverage staff, as well as the front desk, concierge, bell staff, maids and butlers were beyond nice, the 'animation' staff comes across as insincere. Nice kids, just not as genuine as the other employees.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HonestAbeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

There has been so much that has been written about this awesome resort! We tend to be a bit guarded when we read the reviews. We are frequent travelers and have high expecations regarding our vacation experiences. Last summer we stayed at The Excellence Punta Cana and had a great time which prompted us to write a positive review on Trip Advisor. Having stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro, we realize that there is an all inclusive experience that exceeds all the rest!

I'll not reiterate what has been said in the previous reviews which have caused this resort to be rated #1 in the Dominican Republic. Go! Experience! See for yourself! You will be pampered in a beautiful setting - one that speaks to those who desire a more relaxing vacation enriched by great service, good food, and drink! Guests at this all adult resort tend to reach out across all ages, races, life styles...whatever, and truly enjoy the Ibersotar Grand!

Greetings to our friends and thanks to the wonderful staff!
Robert and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

What everyone else has said is so true - you MUST stay here!!

It began with us checking in around noon. We were greeted with damp towels and a glass of champaign or a fruity frozen drink. At check in, our room was not yet available so they asked us to head to the lunch buffet while we waited. At first this was a bit of a let down however since check in is normally at 3pm, it was understandable.

The lunch buffet everyday was in this outdoor arena - tables with white table linens, wine glasses, water glasses, etc on the table. Many people to assist you with your drinks and take your plates away. If there is not something there that you would like, they would be more than happy to make it for you. For example, my husband wanted steak everyday at lunch and they were happy to prepare it for him even when it was not out that day.

After lunch we were able to check into our room. We were on the 3rd floor in room 7244 facing the ocean however we were pretty far back. Still a great view of the resort as well as the ocean. As soon as the bellboy brought the bags to the room, Alejandro came to the room to explain everything about the room as well as who to contact should we need anything.

We then went downstairs and made our dinner reservations. I would encourage you to do this as soon as you arrive so that you have your week planned out and get the reservations for the times and locations that you would like. Some nights the buffet is closed so unless you want room service, make the reservations. We made reservations at the resort next to the Grand at the steakhouse they have and it was wonderful! We had dinner at three of the four places. Each dinner was great and they are more than happy to meet your needs. I am allergic to seafood and they were happy to prepare my meals for me without having to worry about a trip to the doc's.

The buffets are great - breakfast had made to order omlettes, doughnuts, waffles, pancakes, etc. There is a wide variety to choose from. Only thing that I did not like was the coffee and I am a big coffee drinker!!

Since it was our honeymoon, they did a romantic dinner for us one night at the italian place which was beautiful. They had someone there playing music and there were roses all over. They also gave us a free couples massage for 30 min which was amazing. They brought flowers to the room and gave us a free picture frame as well. Little touches made a big difference!

The staff is GREAT. They work 12 hr days for 12 days in a row and then get 3 days off. They have housing for the staff since most of them live one to three hours away. The average pay for the staff is 300 us dollars per month where they need at least 700 to 800 per month to support a family of 4. You can tell they are beyond appreciative if you are able to give them a few dollars at meals. I know that it is all inclusive so many feel like you should not tip however they do a great job and are very appreciative. Juana is the sweetest. She served us breakfast, lunch, and dinner the entire time we were there. Ricardo is the one who answers 3pm to 11pm for room service, which was also great. The staff just makes the resort that much better. It really is their pleasure to serve you.

The beaches are the best we've been to - so clear and beautiful. The pools are great too. Nice and warm with Leitty going around asking if you would like a drink. She is a sweetheart and is out everyday in that heat getting drinks for everyone. While we are not big drinkers, the drinks at the pool were good. Unlimited towels, bottled water, sunscreen, and magazines at the pool as well.

The grounds are VERY well kept. The resort was about 1/2 full while we were there however they have great attention to detail and keep the grounds in great shape. Even though they just opened, they have already begun repainting everything to keep it looking fresh. The rooms are beautiful with flat panel tv, super huge bed, cozy chair to relax in, as well as great patio furniture.

Words cannot describe how wonderful this resort is. If you are looking for a lot of nightlife, this is not the place to be however the resorts next door seem to have a lot going on and if you stay here, you have unlimited access to all other Iberostar resorts which are all lined up next to the Grand. The staff is just so wonderful and willing to meet your every need.

We hope to be able to return there one day - well worth the money!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

If anyone has anything negative to say about the Grand, they are just picky and ridiculous! It is absolute paradise and a MUST SEE! You feel like royalty the whole time and they work very hard to do so! The Grand is fantastic and you would be VERY lucky to stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank algsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews