We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,680)
Filter reviews
10,680 results
Traveler rating
8,858
1,303
352
118
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,858
1,303
352
118
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler serviceour honeymoonpool barother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaall inclusive resortrose petals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,754 - 5,759 of 10,680 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our second stay at this wonderful resort (Feb 2 through 9). Last time we stayed there was its first year and minor construction was still underway. It is all finished now and as expected, this is an absolutely wonderful place. Rooms and resort grounds are always clean. Staff are marvellous. Service was rapid and friendly and obviously genuine. Food was superb - everything from fresh fruits and vegetables, salads, to grilled fish, lobster, steak and seafood. Wonderful choices always available.

We have now stayed at 5 resorts on Bavaro beach and this one is by far the BEST. It is the beach that keeps us returning each year. Warm water. Never crowded. Consistently beautiful. Iberostar has four resorts adjacent to each other. Grand Bavaro guests have access to all amenities including the beach of all resorts. There are small coral and rocks that extend just inside the swim areas of the resorts with lots of different fish to see. We swam for hours each day and enjoyed snorkelling right from shore.

Only wish we could have stayed longer. Next time we will.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helloimamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Dear Searchers of perfection, It does not exist, " But" the highly professional staff at the "Iberostar Bavaro Grand Hotel" in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, do their best to ascertain that status quo ! My wife and I have been going to the Dominican Republic for over 28 years and we have tried many different hotel chains and areas in the country within that time, and they all had a certain charm and quality that answers most needs. We have many friends who still work in these other hotels, and I will not mention any names as to say one is not good or better than the other, but what I can say is that with all our personal experience and living at all these other hotels for two to three weeks a stay, is that after three years as repeat guest at the Iberostar Bavarto Grand Hotel, PC that it just gets better and better every year that we return. If your looking for a Hotel to have peace and quiet so to be able to finish that book that you never had the time to finish back home because of your busy life style, here is the place. Yet the " Star Friends" a animation team of the hotel do a very good job in asking people if they would like to participate in daily activities, but in a very subtle way as not to disturbe your space. You have free yoga classes, body massage given by the Star Friends, also merengue dance lessons, Spanish lessons to help to get better aquainted with the hotel staff and locals. Some of the staff speak English, and a little French, German, and some Russian, but not to forget you are in a Latino country and Spanish is the language, no hay problema ! There is a stupendous golf course, plus tennis courts right on the property at your disposal and many other activities at your all inclusive, and timeless stay at the Grand Bavaro. Every night you have the Variety Shows in the air-conditioned theater which are very entertaining, also live Dominicain bands play outside on the gigantic sailboat in the center of the complex, where you can put to practice all the dancing lessons you learned on the beach. There is the main hotel lobby lounge where you can share with new friends, while having champagne, a cappuccino, or expresso. The Punta Cana beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, with it`s fine powered white sand and the kaleidoscope of blue turquoise waters, with ocean catamarans in the the sunset. As for the room accomodition it is decorated in a modern style decor, ample room space with very confortable beds, a pillow menu, mini bar well stocked daily. An electronic safe for your valuables, wi-fi rotor, 32" plasma or led TV, a telephone next to the toilet great idea, room service, maid service daily and nightly, a big plus your personal Butler. The bathroom is furnished with a therapeutic bath and a large walk-in shower, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, and all hygenic accessories and more. Reservations à la carte were handled by our Butler and all was to our liking. Dinning was always a sublime experience and a delight à la carte or at the Buffet restaurants. I would like to take this time to say a " Big Thank You " Chef Kelven Cruz Vaskez and his assistant Luis, and friends from the cuisine, Pastry Elvin, also a Big Kiss from Marysa and Don Louis to AltGracia de Rosario Mejia who takes care of all the guests. Salute to all the waiteress-camarera y waiters-camarerros and managers Sr. Javier Gonzàlez Bauza, our kind hearted Capitan Senor Johanna for your kind words and attention, Muchas Gracias. Albenis,Lorane,Flor,Raul,Ortiz,Nathaniel,Coronado,Joël,Christian,Elvis,Angel,Willy. The beach and pool camareros and bartenders Salute, Smiling Dionas,whistle Lily, flash Edwin. The pool technicien, Antolin, pool and towels Bayron Castillo. The Butlers, Luis Fernandez, Victor Frias, Henry, Carlos, Pastor. The Directior of Security Adriano, Security and Lifeguards Jose Luis, and my special friend Augusto Rafael Nunez, and Shawn Rafael. Last but not least Executive Director Stefano Baratelelli, Sub-Directora Melissa Sue Burtion, Sub-Directora Jr. Lara Wagner for your excellent administrative work and congratulation on winning again the " Tripadvisor Award " Now that is almost "PERFECT" ! Adios Amigos, see you soon, Bond 000 Signing out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Don-Louis-Bond000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I chose the Iberostar Grand after reading reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed. Everything about the vacation was wonderful. The friendliness and service of the staff was impeccable.We wanted for nothing. From chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in our room to remembering what I wanted to drink in the dining room, our every need was met with smiles . We ate lobster every day much to my husbands pleasure. You never felt crowded as it was a bit smaller than other resorts we have visited which made it very pleasurable . We met many wonderful people and look forward to seeing them next year when we return. I would love to be able to share this place with my friends and family as I'm sure they would enjoy it as much as we did. We were told they were going to remodel some things and do agree that small updates are needed here and there. Our room had an unforeseen plumbing problem which was promptly dealt with by the staff .The theatre they used for the main entertainment needs remodeled as well.It smelled like stale cigarettes. The entertainers themselves were great as they provided a variety of music for different tastes. The rock night was my favorite. I cannot wait to return to this resort .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We left the cold northeast winter for a 5 day trip to Punta Cana. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - relaxation was key! We are beach people and were not at all disappointed. The sand and ocean was clean and serene. The lounges were spread among 'hut umbrellas' enabling me to stay in the shade while my husband enjoyed the sun. The layout of the resort is wonderful - the beach and pools (there are 3) come together so we could move ourselves easily between them. There were lots of fun activities all day long - from water aerobics to silly water contests to archery to old fashion bingo. We were surprised by the quality of the restaurants - in a very good way. We did make reservations in advance - and recommend that you do that. We especially liked the tournedos of beef at the Italian (and ate there twice!)

The service is excellent - everyone is friendly and tries hard to get you everything you need. The room was really nice - a small terrace was perfect for late afternoon relaxation with a cocktail. All inclusive included the mini bar in the room (which our butler happily stocked with our choice of beer). The room is designed in away to shield you from noise in the hall (there is a door that separates the entrance area from the bedroom.) We both slept in - something we rarely do!

They have a show every night at 10 - we went twice. It's nice that they have shows every night but they were just so so. We would have preferred a live band by the pool or beach at night.

I look forward to returning with friends next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was my second time at an Iberostar Grand, the first being in Jamaica (which was so much nicer). I was extremely disappointed with the lack of maintenance which meant that everything was breaking down, including my jacuzzi in the first room blowing up and shooting water everywhere. In the second room the jacuzzi only had 3 of the 6 jets working. The food is ok, but if you enjoy fine dining, especially at the a-la-carte restaurants, this is not the place for you. It would have been nice to be told there would be maintenance of all of the water feature pools for the entire week we were there (during high season, really???) which was very loud and I'm quite sure the paint fumes were not good to be breathing in either.

The pools for the swim-up suites are way too cold to be in for more than 5 minutes and there is hardly any sun in these suites, as well as the rooms smelling so badly of mold or mildew so don't waste your money.

The beach is very nice and there are lots of comfortable chairs. The concierge/butler service is wonderful (thanks Henry!) and they go out of their way to try to please you. The spa is very nice as well.

All in all I would say this hotel is a 3.5 star, definitely not a 5. If you're interested in Ibeorstar Grand the one in Jamaica is the place to go.

Room Tip: As for a room as close to the beach as possible on a high floor and stay away from where the theatre is unless you want to hear the noise from the shows until 11 pm.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews