We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
$153
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$198
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$191
$149
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$790
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10,792)
Filter reviews
10,792 results
Traveler rating
8,946
1,323
355
119
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,946
1,323
355
119
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler serviceour honeymoonpool barother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaall inclusive resortrose petals
Filter
Updating list...
6,135 - 6,140 of 10,792 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Two sisters went to relax Oct. 6 thru 9th. We were looking to be pampered and not do a lot of running around. It was a very easy experience from the airport to the taxi and check-in. The property was clean and beautiful, all the help was friendly and very classy. Drinks excellent everywhere, room perfect. We had a very nice butler named Jason, buffets were great once we figured them out and decided what we liked. A-la-carte dinners not fabulous but ok and just nice to have a sit down dinner at the end of the day. The beach was one of the prettiest beaches I have ever seen, with palm trees and turquoise waters. Peaceful music playing on the grounds, and a great orange oil smell burning in the hallways. They do a great job at this hotel, and are very eager to please you. We hope to return next year, and I doubt we would bother to try another hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd or fourth floor overlooking interior gardens and pool
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that you and your sister had a pleasant holiday due to the excellent service of our friendly staff, our beautiful premises and exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection we are committed to ensure a relaxing and unique experience for our beloved “stars” on vacation.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your return.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel and gorgeous beach. Only ate at 1 one the eat-in restaurants - was very good. I think it was the french one. Before booking, I heard that Iberostars typically have better quality food than other all-inclusives. The food is ok quality, but definately don't go to an all-inclusive for the dining experience....everything tastes the same: either bland and flavourless or bathed in grease....and flavourless.

I guess the all inclusive experience just isn't for me, so take that into account in this review.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSWoodill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,
First of all we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holiday and for the time you took to share your experience with the online community on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we appreciate your positive valuation about your experience among us despite the fact our cuisine could not please your palate’s expectations.
We appreciate your feedback. It helps us to evaluate our performance.
In case you decide to visit us again; please feel free to contact us, we will be honored to assist you.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the Iberostar Grand from 9/21/13 to 9/28/13. All the positive comments you read are true. The bell boys hopped right to it and handed us the hot towels and the pina coladas.
At the front desk we met Alix, (HI ALIX) who started our vacation off right, assigning us room 7381. The room faced the ship on the 4th floor and a great view of the ocean.
The grounds were perfectly groomed and well maintained. Our first lunch was impressive, with salads and all the lobster, mussels, cracked crab and steak that you can eat.
After lunch the bell boy showed us to our room. We met Kelvin our butler (HEY KELVIN). He was there when we needed something and made all our dinner reservations; including accommodating our restaurants and dinner time requests.
The room was decorated beautifully. Roseangela, our main maid, took great care of our room every day. Our bed was turned down nightly, with 2 delicious chocolates left for us to enjoy. Our mini-fridge was stocked each day with our requests.
We had a chance to eat at each of the specialty restaurants and the food was delicious. Ask your waiter or waitress for their recommendations. We never were steered wrong. Altagracia who was in charge of buffets could not have been more accommodating.
Shout out to the great staff in the restaurants that made our dining experiences enjoyable! Lorraine, Keyla and Saulo were the best. They would always greet us warmly and would get us anything that we needed. Eudeisi was the nicest and most down to earth person you could ever meet. She was always there for us with a smile, and a good morning, and by the time we left we made a new friend.
Kennedy and Anel were very attentive to us, getting us drinks, and clearing our table the many times we would go up to get more food. They knew how to make my wife’s iced tea, no sugar and 2 lemons, correctly each time.
When you visit the front desk you need to ask for Juan Carlos. He went over the top to service a request of mine that was really out there. His dedication to helping us should not go unrecognized by the hotel management, and he should be made employee of the week.
Freddy, a hotel manager was there for us when we had an issue with our room AC system, and it was serviced immediately. If there were any issues, they were addressed ASAP. Overall the trip was fantastic! The hotel is beautiful and the beach is exquisite. We hope to return soon.
PS-- shout out to Boom Boom, from New Jersey New Jersey!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside of the hotel have a great view. The 4th floor has no obstruction from the balcony to the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oktotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of Hotel Manager, Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience among us and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays.
We would like to express you how satisfied we are to acknowledge that our varied gastronomy, the beauty of our grounds and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff not only confirmed your expectations based on the reviews posted by our “Stars” but also ensure you a memorable holiday. In Iberostar we aim to be well known by the excellent service of our staff members. We have congratulated all those staff members whose service made a difference during your visit whom you named in your publication.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your disposition for any assistance prior your return.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I would predict that I 'm from Italy and so my English is not perfect, but for me it's very important to write my feedback on tripadvisor to say thank you to the whole team of the Iberostar Grand Bavaro.
I spent a wonderful vacation at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro from 20/09 to the 04/10, and yes, I already spent my 6 vacation in this hotel and it was the best of all.

The ambiance of the hotel is amazing. The lobby, the grounds and the restaurants are gorgeous The hotel itself is in very good condition. Facilities were spotless and staff were super friendly and really took care of me.There are constantly smaller repair works and renovations made. During my stay, some rooms have been renovated above the ship.This garanted that the hotel will be in perfect condition also in the future.

The check in was very friendly , even family because Mrs. Maria of the reception could still remember me. Everybody of the reception team is very friendly and helpfully. Greetings to Mr. Jeovanny and Mr. Freddy.

I was taken at my room by Abdul the bellboy, and also he remembers me.The room was lookslike absolutely new. It was clean, smelled fresh and has been just perfect. The mattresses were of very good quality,
The furniture like new and there was enough water pressure at any time of the day. A bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for meat the room with a wonderflul flower arrangement and cocolate strawberries.

The room service worked very well and quick. Thanks for this to Victor. For special wishes ask your butler. They work very hard to fulfill your wishes and take care of you. Thanks to Miguel, Albert, Alexander and Luis.

New for me was that all the butler, the ladies of the concierge desk , but also many others employees remember always my name and greeted my every time with a friendly "hello Mrs. xxx" how are you. But it's not enough. The employees at the restaurant remember where i preffered to sit and what i usual drank. Greetings here to Barbara from the buffet restaurant, Alejandro from la Perla restaurant, Carlos and Leily from the pool service .

Very good and very professional was also the service at the lobby bar. The bartender Adalerto is my favorite :-) Try the mamajuna a local drink and try the dirty monkey. Thanks to Adalberto, Mathilda , Ramona, Yanna. The drinks were always very well prepared.

Great compliment to the gardeners, which always work very hard, special greetings to Braulio.
Star Friend will entertain you if you like. Great job! Thank you to Leticia, Maria, Margarita, Tommy and the guy from the gym (I don’t remember his name!). I liked also the evening entertainment. The show are very good and professional. My favorite was Michael Jackson, but also the Tropical and Dominican Show.

The buffets were also terrific great with a large variety of foods from different countries and different themes every night.. The quality, and selections of the food were impressive.The food sometimes was not very warm, but I know from management, that they are working on this problem. Tipp: if you one day like something special to eat look or ask for Altagracia .. she fulfills special wishes ... she's an angel ! !

I've tried all the à la carte restaurant except the Japanese . At the Italian restaurant I was even 3 times. The food was always of very good quality and hot. Unfortunately 2 times the organization was quite bad, so sometimes you had to wait very long for the food , or even sometimes I get the wrong food. In addition I have spoken to the management and I am sure that this is improved.
Occasionally the a la carte restaurant change menu, so repeater guest can find something new.

Also, the service on the beach was much improved , you will never left without drink.

After 6 wonderful memorable vacation at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro - as a very complicated guest - I can really say that the Iberostar Grand Bavaro is the best Hotel in the Dominican Republic . It's a real dream hotel with a very high level, great ervice, friendly employees, and an amazing food offer.

Thanks to the management of Mrs. Melissa Burton and Mr. Stefano Baratelli and Mr. Alejandro Martinez. This 3 are garant for me that the standart at the hotel will remain at top, or even gets better.
It is not imaginable for me visiting any other resort now compared to Iberostar's Grand Collection, it is worth every penny and will make for a memorable vacation.

I want to express my thank to the whole team of the Iberostar Grand Bavaro for my dream vacation and I can't wait to be again your guest.. in paradise :-) Muchas gracias, Ortler P.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PAOLO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,
We thank you for posting a review about your sixth stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro on Tripadvisor and on behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we also thank you for your loyalty when choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
We want to express how satisfied, honored and motivated we are to know that our friendly team once again and as you are used to has ensured you an unforgettable holidays. As you well know, the service provided by our staff is part of our commitments and we have congratulated all those staff members whom you named in your publication for making your sixth holidays among us unforgettable.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not forget to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We should probably have never gone to this all inclusive for our first all inclusive experience because we are now spoiled and wed only be able to go to Iberostar resorts from now on. I have no complaints. Food, drinks, accomadations, service...just awesome. Carlos, our butler was awesome. The restauants were top notch, and the buffets were fresh and had a large amount of variety. One of the best peices of advise I recieved was if you dont like something dont grumble about it, ask for it to be changed! There was nothing the staff would not try to accomplish for you. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guests,
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your first all inclusive vacations and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience.
We would like to express you how satisfied we are to hear that you enjoyed from a unforgettable first all-inclusive experience due to our friendly staff and their excellent service as well as our exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar both aspects are the key of our success worldwide.
We are waiting for your next visitÇ; please feel free to contact us by e mail to ensure you another memorable holiday.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews