We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
$324
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$231
$135
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$210
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$206
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$437
$300
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$908
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,686)
Filter reviews
10,686 results
Traveler rating
8,863
1,304
352
118
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,863
1,304
352
118
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfboom boomstar friendskobe beeflobsterdinner reservationscigar barbutler serviceour honeymoonpool barother resortsspecialty restaurantslunch buffetbubble bathpina coladaall inclusive resortrose petals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,349 - 7,354 of 10,686 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I, and several others arrived at "the grand" on March 8-12. We had the most amazing time there. The service was impectable :) Very clean - catered to my every need. One of the few people we became acquainted with was Javier, Wande, Leonardo~just to name a few. AWESOME place~we will definitely be back! Thank you for a memorable weekend~Ty & jodi

Room Tip: We had a private pool~awesome. Couldn't have asked for a better room!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jodid0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Guest jodi0308,
In the name of the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, Mr. Ricardo Dominguez, I want to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro as your holiday destination.
We want to express you how satisfied we are to read that you had a wonderful vacation in the company of your friends in our hotel premises and facilities. In Iberostar we aim to ensure to our guests to feel as “stars” during their vacations. We appreciate your nice comments about the service provided by Javier, Wande, Leonardo, as well as other staff members, your words have been already sent.
We look forward to welcoming you once again and feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous week (3/3-3/10) at "The Grand". We had gone there in April of 2011, and were so satisfied we decided to return. Many of the staff remembered us, and greeted us as long lost relatives (except in a good way LOL). I've researched extensively and stayed at many all inclusives in Jamaica, Riviera Maya and Punta Cana and this resort is my absolut favorite. A wonderful beach, efficient and friendly staff and a great group of travelers merge together to make this a trip to remember. Our butler, Justo, took very good care of our needs, which included all our restaurant reservations and fixing the wifi in our room. The resort itself is spotless and looks even better in person than in photos. The food is not gourmet quality, but very good for an all inclusive. Staff shout outs to Star Friends Big Boy and Juan Carlos. A big thank you to the entire staff at the hotel, you guys are the best!!!

Room Tip: I'd say no to the swimouts, they are shaded and face the other resort.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vicvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Guest vicvino,
I would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro as the destination for your vacations, for taking the time to post a review about your stay and for your loyalty towards our hotel.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Ricardo Dominguez and his team, I would like to express how pleased we are to read that you enjoyed for a secong time our beautiful hotel premises and the friendliness of our staff members. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We are honored to read that we accomplished our goal with you twice. Your nice words motivate us to keep doing our good work, as well as I am sure they will motivate your Butler Justo, and the Star Friends Big Boy and Juan Carlos.
We hope to welcome you back again, please contact us before your arrival.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

In 2011 my husband and I had an AWESOME vacation at the IGB; so this year we came back with friends and EVERYONE was blown away! From the spa, to the buffet, to the restaurants, to the ship/disco and MUCH more we all had 4 wonderful days. We remembered BoomBoom, Cesar, Ortiz, Edgar. Javier and some others from our first visit, and they remembered us as well!

A special thank you to our maid.......one day I rushed out the room and left the safe wide open with our $$, passports, electronics, jewelery. I remembered hours later at the beach, ran back to the room to find the room cleaned and safe locked, but my combination did not work....
What had happened was that the maid saw our safe open, called security, did an inventory, reprogrammed the lock, and sent us a message. So when we called the front desk, security quickly came back, opened the safe, and everything was there. THANK YOU SO MUCH for your honesty and attention to detail! Room 7112 .......
We love IGB and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear guests,
On the behalf of the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro Manager, Mr. Ricardo Dominguez, and his team, I would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar as your destination for your holidays, and for having taken time to post a review.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you and your friends had enjoyed your visit to our hotel; we are glad that all of you had a memorable stay. Your motivating words encourage us to keep on working hard to turn your holidays in a special occasion. We are happy to know that you appreciated our staff members’ friendliness and honesty. We are glad to hear that our team provided once again the best service to you.
We are looking forward to see you again, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I just went back to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro after three years. It's a great property on a beautiful beach that's great for swimming (no waves) and strolling. Food was good but not great at the restaurants. I seem to remember that it was better the first time but my memory may be playing tricks on me. Guests should consider trying a restaurant or two on the connecting properties. The Cajun restaurant, Jambalaya, was particularly good and it's so pretty around there at night. The consierge at the Grand will make your dinner reservations for you at all of the restaurants. It's also fun to walk to the other attached properties along the beach and have a drink at their beach side bars before they shut down at 6:00. Most of the shows are the Grand are pretty good too and worth checking out. The disco in the ship is a little quiet but maybe it's because it doesn't open until later. My husband played a few rounds and loved the golf course. Warning - Get up and save your pool/beach chair by 9:00 or there won't be many choices as people seem to reserve the chairs even though they are not there the whole day. (I wish that people were more considerate). Staff is very nice. They will try to get you involved in the many activities during the day but will leave you alone to just relax if that's what you want. All in all, a great vacation spot with a lot to offer!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Marcia T,
On the behalf of the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro Manager, M. Ricardo Dominguez, and his team, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience and for your loyalty towards our hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you had once again an excellent relaxing and calm experience at our hotel, and that you valued positively the friendly service provided by our staff members. In Iberostar we are committed to provide a memorable holiday to our beloved guests. We are honored to acknowledge that we have done it twice.
We will be pleased to welcome you back again, and please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival to help you to enjoy your next visit.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our one week stay at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro was fantastic!
The resort catered to our every need with an abundance of food, drink, pool, sun and surf . The pool and bar area is a mecca for relaxation, as is the gorgeous beach. The entire staff was incredibly courteous, professional, friendly and accommodating. This lavish hotel was immaculate, inside and out. Special thanks to our Star Friends, Juan Carlos, Big Boy, Boom Boom (in the house!!), Latecia, Black Boy, Nati, Happy Feet , and others who entertained us with their humor , kindness and vibrant energy.
Also, thanks to our wonderful butlers, Alex and Anduvy who also made our stay so incredible.
The Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel lives up to it's name!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nancy Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Nancy,
In the name of Ricardo Dominguez, Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro Manager, and his team, we want to thank you for choosing us to enjoy your holidays, and also for taking the time to post some comments about your stay.
It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel premises and facilities. We are happy to know that you enjoyed all the activities that we proposed with the help of our Star Friends team. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure a wonderful stay. We are happy to read that our entertainers (Juan Carlos, Big Boy, Boom Boom, Latecia, Black Boy, Nati, Happy Feet) and your butlers (Alex and Anduvy) gave you the best service.
We will be happy to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us before you next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews