We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,423)
Filter reviews
11,423 results
Traveler rating
9,478
1,391
377
124
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,478
1,391
377
124
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf and turf boom boom star friends kobe beef lobster dinner reservations cigar bar butler service our honeymoon pool bar other resorts specialty restaurants lunch buffet bubble bath rose petals all inclusive resort ocean front
Filter
Updating list...
8,163 - 8,168 of 11,423 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

After a long flight and a very hot wait for our transport, we arrived to a very warm welcome and to a cool towel and 2 drinks each. Not long after our arrival to our room, Kelvin our butler arrived to tell us all about what is on hand. On reading so many reviews about this hotel, we knew some of what to expect. Our room was 7019. It was at the bottom of the hall on the ground floor looking out to the garden and pool and across to the Galleon. A great spot!
The restuarants were all booked, so while unpacking, we ordered room service and had an amazing club sandwich with fries. We couldn't believe the humidity in the hallway, and to be indoors, found it quite unbelievable there is no air con in there. The lobby bar was also unbearable some nights too. How the staff work there with no fans above them is really not on. That wouldn't happen in other places we have visited, but we presumed that they were accustomed to it being from the Dominican. On other nights, the wind blew straight through the bar, and ash from the ashtrays would be blown around too, so there were nights when you couldn't breathe through lack of air, and others when you just couldn't get enough of it! On saying that, we loved everything and everyone! We were also suprised to meet so many people who have been there more than once, and also more than 3 times too! We will definatetly return there. The beach and ocean just took our breath away. We have visited Mexico on the Riviera Maya 4 times and I must say the beaches there were nothing like this, apart from when we visited Barbados. If you don't like to be around the swim up bar and pools, grab a lounger on the beach where you will get a breeze, but only a small one, depending on what time of year you go. All the resaurants were amazing, but the French and Japanese stood out for us. Also, communication can be a bit difficult. Not everyone can speak enough English to get ourselves understood, but on the same hand, neither we can speak enough Spanish either ;-) Ringing room service or other amenities was also difficult to get understood too, we just realised to speak slower and clearer in the end! Having the odd Spanish lesson in the mornings helped too!
Just one gripe...... if you don't go to the shows every night, there isn't much going on around the place. It would be great if the bar around the pool had some tables and chairs and lighting at night to be available so we could drink out there too. We couldn't believe that there were only 2 bars aound the place, and only the lobby bar at night! I dread to think how it would be when the hotel is fully booked, and to try and get a drink.
Anyway, we loved it, and make of it what you will, you won't be disappointed ;-)

Room tip: Try and get a room facing the pool
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BaxterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The hotel all around is very good. Positives are: perfect to relax, friendly staff who enjoy what they do, Nice beach, a réal 24 hr service, super jacuzzi service, and room service. Now, thé biggest issue is that after a day or 2 you become picky.... So... Food and drinks are good, but not truly 5*. Thé servers at thé beach are a bit slow, the animators on thé beach are Nice but they should let thé guests relax. If someone looks like sleeping, you should not call loudly people to join activities. Organises tours (incl snorkling)- i suggest to avoid. All in all, i would go back after seeing thé rest of thé carribbean

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorikketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is truly a 5 star resort. We really had no complaints. The food was better than most resorts we've stayed at, and we did not eat any meat. Lots of choices for seafood and vegetarian. The desserts are amazing too! The view from our room was the neighbouring resort but we did not worry about it too much as we were hardly in our roon anyway. The staff are fabulous....always friendly and helpful. The beach is gorgeous...but there is a fair amount of seaweed. The weather was perfect...no rain even though it was in the forecast. The turn down service every evening with dark chocolate was very nice. A change of towels ad quick clean of bathroom every evening was also somethng we've not had at other resorts...hence we think it is a level above making it a true 5 star. The shows were also very well done, with some really talented people. Don't hesitate to book this resort...you wont be disappointed!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Fatsy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were looking for a place with white sand, and warm, clear water, that was peaceful and safe and easy, with good accommodations.

The Iberostar Grand had all of that, and more. For an AI, the food was very good. Plenty of choices in the buffet, so that I could always put together a healthy meal. The a la carte restaurants offered interesting options. My husband liked the Japanese restaurant best, and the French was also very good. The others were fine, as well. I preferred having more choices, so the buffet was my own favorite.

The premises were lovely, the resort very clean. Besides all the rest, one of the best parts of the trip are the employees of the resort. Mainly young people, these employees were always pleasant, usually smiling and friendly. For that reason alone, I'd look forward to coming back (shout out to Maria at the pool bar, and Allende, activities (esp. dance) personnel.

I also loved the Latin music played everywhere on the grounds (and elsewhere), the dance lessons, and the two outdoor dances that were held while we were there.

Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: We liked out Jr. Suite groundfloor room, on the west side, facing the ocean.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CathleenD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We spent 7 nights at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in late Aug. It was AMAZING. If you're looking to be pampered and treated like rock stars, then I'd highly recommend this resort. From the butlers and daily beachside massages, to the afternoon poolside snacks and service with a smile, it just doesn't get much better than this. The grounds were beautiful and our room was very nice. The food selection and quality was very good for an all-inclusive. The staff were very nice and always accommodating and respectful. Really can't say enough nice things about our experience in DR.

I will point out there was more seaweed in DR than we've experienced elsewhere in the Caribbean. Of course, the Iberostar Grand kept the beaches as clean and seaweed-free as possible. But, it just keeps on coming. It wasn't that big of a deal, and the beaches and water were still beautiful. Just pointing that out since you might end up at the pool more than the beach - but, you should be okay given it's an awesome pool with a bar and cozy cabanas. :)

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank saltyseaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews