We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, staff very accomodating.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel, staff very accomodating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

On arrival to this grande hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome, including refreshments & a10min back massage, lovely. Our room was upgraded to a pool access suite, wow ! Beautiful rooms very spacious & well serviced. Staff were friendly, always greeting us with a smile nothing too challenging for them. On return to Melbourne we have nothing but praised this hotel & what a terrific stay we shared.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    628
    241
    64
    43
See reviews for
758
950
81
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

it is our first stay at the hotel and we have been impressed right from day one. A hotel representative met us at the airport and we were transported to the hotel swiftly. Checking in was smooth (which was really important because we were travelling with a young toddler and a baby) and our room was nice and neat. Pool view from our room was also fantastic. Apparently, it is the longest pool in the whole of Thailand, surrounding a large part of the hotel. Quite a swim. What really amazed us is the sincerity and efficiency of the service. On our first day, after settling in our room, we brought the kids to the restaurant for their dinner. Forgetting their utensils, I went back to the room. My room card didn't work so I sought help from a staff just a few doors down. He made a call and the chambermaid came to open the door for me. He took the card and said that he would send the new cards to the restaurant. By the time I got from the third to the second floor, where the restaurant is, my husband had had the cards sent to him. I certainly didn't stay long in my room. I grabbed the kids' stuff and left the room. That was really fast.

My kids fell sick on the second day and the staff at the restaurant were extremely patient and understanding. They obliged to all our requests (extra bowls, extra napkins to clean up their mess...) and even asked if we needed a doctor. They tried to entertain our kids so that we could have some time to swallow our meals. When we went to the restaurant for all the other subsequent meals, they asked if the kids are alright. On top of that, upon arrival, the staff would swing into action and prepare 2 sets of everything...high chairs, utensils, extra bowls, extra napkins, etc. It is nice to know that they took the initiative to remember our needs.

Our kids recovered within 2 days and started enjoying the kids' club. The staff at the kids' club were great. They took the initiative to engage my first child by making some crafts for her. We have been to other hotels with kids' club facilities but the staff would usually gather in their own room and appear only when we pay for extra activities. The outdoor playground was also very comprehensive - slide, swing, see-saw, doll house and even a big sand pit. From then on, the first thing my kid asked whenever she woke up is, "Are we going to kids' club?" Even my baby enjoys playing with the toys and the friendly staff.

Certainly a good break for us since this is our first trip with 2 kids. Sunrise and sunset views are also extremely beautiful. Looking forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

the hotel is located 10 minutes from the action at ao nang beach, can be a plus or minus depending on what your looking for. the hotel has its own golf course and a fantastic pool. great place if your travelling with kids. lots of activities for the younger lot. the rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable. we rented the hotel boat and went on a tour of the islands, great crew great service. One caution, the new year night is a rip off!! dont spend the new year in this hotel, you will be charged a huge sum which is totally not worth the money, was the only dampner for an otherwise good stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hotel is very nice and luxury. Room is big and equip with luxury aminities. Restaurant in hotel also serve nice food/view. Staff is friendly, even seems not enough staff at night. Hotel location is good for relax, quite far from city. Difficult to go out anywhere at night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jingrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was my second stay in this property. It remains a top notch hotel, with the largest and nicest swimming pool you will see anywhere.

Rooms are fantastic. The setting is superb. There are nearby restaurants within walking distance if you wish to avoid the usually high hotel restaurant prices.

Breakfast (which was included in my rate) was sensational.

Reception desk service was poor by comparison because staff were slow and their English poor. This shouldn't deter you as you will have little contact with them during your stay.

The hotel has beautiful facilities, and a sensational gym.

I could no find no flaws and if you wish to spend a few days relaxing there is hardly a better place in Krabi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

What a magnificent hotel this is - it certainly is in a different class to the other hotels in Krabi and would certainly recommend it for its classy rooms, service and general ambience. I injured myself on the pool decking and the care I received was exceptionall with the general manager taking a personal interest in assisting me. I was very, very imporessed. Unfortunately for those desiring a beach holiday it is located on a very poor beach and the road running between the hotel and the beach carries big loaded trucks 24 hours a day. Amazingly though, it odes not really spoil the hotel. The reality is that few Krabi hotels have a good beach and you need to catch a long-tail boat (or the hotel's speedboar) to one of the gorgeous island beaches only a few minutes away. So don't let this put you off. The Sofitel is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

There was low occupancy when we stayed here. It's a very large hotel but it did not feel that way at all, maybe due to low occupancy.

High quality construction and furnishings. Very nice rooms. Beds on the stiff side.

I thought the staff at this hotel was exceptional - everyone I came in contact with.

A very good, maybe excellent breakfast buffet.

Like all resorts, food is expensive.

Expensive internet access.

Really nice and very large pool. Great pool staff.

Nice gardens.

Others have commented that the hotel is not on the beach (there's a beachfront road) but the beach access is very convenient and quick. It's not a great beach. If you are looking for a great beach experience you should go elsewhere. Can only swim at the beach when the tide is at least half way up. I was hesitant about all this before booking but it wasn't an issue for me. I enjoyed the beach here as much as the beachfront Sheraton Krabi which is just down the road.

If you are looking at this hotel you are probably looking at the Sheraton as well. I've stayed at both recently and would choose the Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rei94602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing