We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

Really love it. I go there every year since the opening. It's new and has the biggest swimming pool in Krabi.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AtinujT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    628
    241
    64
    43
See reviews for
758
950
81
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

this was our last stop before leaving thailand and it was so worth it ! it was amazing from the moment we stepped into the lobby till the time we checked out. the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with dark wood furniture, and the bathroom was spectacular too. the grounds are amazing and have all the facilities i'd expect from the Sofitel, catered for all sorts of people from families to honeymooners to older couples. buffet breakfast was fantastic, very large selection and tastes good too. the highlight however, is most definitely the pool. the most awesome pool i've ever seen, it's massive and absolutely beautiful. we easily spent all 3 days sitting by the pool.

On the downside, if you want to leave the resort the location is quite remote. Klong Muang is about 20min drive from Ao Nang, there's not much around here besides other 5 star resorts and the beach across the road isn't the best - similar to Ao Nang. As expected the Sofitel restaurants are expensive. For lunch we ate at the pool bar/restaurant which is quite reasonable but dinner we walked up the road (about 200m) to the restaurant opposite the Krabi Sand Resort, which was lovely and much cheaper. There's a very funky bar also close to here (over a small bridge) which is nice to chill out at after dark which also have cheap food. There's also a shuttle bus service into Ao Nang and return during the day which costs 100 baht/pp, although i think last service is early evening.

Tip: Sofitel offer free day trip to Hong Island which is apparently beautiful. Definitely book ahead, we missed out cause they were booked out days in advance. Otherwise can't go wrong just relaxing by the pool !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The hotel is beautiful, the room was spacious, the swimming pool was super relaxing, but most of all, it was the attentiveness and genuine warmth of the staff that really made this hotel stand out for us.
We took the minibus to Ao Nong, and although it was interesting enough to visit we were so glad we didn´t stay in the centre and were more than glad to jump back onto the minibus at the end of the evening to get back to the sheer relax of Sofitel.
We would recommend it 100%, we thought it was the best place to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed here with three friends for four nights. The resort itself is located about 15min drive from Ao Nang, so if your looking to party then this isnt the place. We actually wanted to relax before our big holiday kicked off, and the sofitel was fantastic. the rooms were huge and immaculate (only downfall was that the tv's were big boxes and not flat screens), the pool was the largest i have ever seen, and the staff were also fantastic.

The hotel offers shuttle bus services to Ao Nang, which was actually quite cheap in comparison to negotiating with the tuk tuk drivers at the front. To all the people complaining about the beach in front - yes, its a relatively poor beach, but who cares - the resort offers free transfers to Koh Hong, which is a spectacular island hideaway 20min by speedboat!

If you are sick of the resort, hire a tuk tuk for 50baht and they will take you up the road near the sheraton, where theres 20 shops or so, with good restaurants, massages and tour shops!

would definately recommend the hotel, the bar, and the spa!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

We have stayed for four nights and we had a very relaxing time at Sofitel.
The swimming pool is huge, the spa offers quite good massage but not the best I have experienced and the staff seems unlittle lost when it comes to order wine...
The negative point was to be out of the other places and no beach available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarmotteSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Recently returned after 4 nights stay at Sofital Krabi and were thrilled with accomodation. Rooms were immaculate serviced continuously thoughout the day. Limited pool and ocean views from our room and probably from many others, but who cares - didn't spend much daytime in the room anyway. Buffet breakfast was quite good. Italian restaurant - excellent value, especially with advantage plus card - was a bit dissappointed with Thai restaurant - found food very bland. Service and atmoshpere at both was excellent though. Had a Thai meal just down the road at a place called 'The Coconut Restaurant' and it was great. appeared clean and staff friendly. The bonus at present is they offer a day tour to Hong Island for free in their own jetboat - thought there might be a catch to it but there wasn't - kayaks and water included, meals and alcohol available for purchase. Agree with one TA entry it is not so traditional Thai but very colonial - didn't worry me though. We sat on the loungers on beach and swam in the water - thought it was great - however the beach at low tide probably isn't swimmable. I am from Queensland so am a bit fussy with beaches! Quiet area, but that is what we needed after 10days around the rest of Thailand. Looking forward to going again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfish623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We didn't actually stay here - only drove into reception to ask for directions to our resort (Amari Vogue). I didn't see the rooms or the pool. The location is it's biggest downfall. It is across the road from the beach (ie not situated directly on the beach) and the beach itself when you cross the road is very ordinary - I didn't see anyone spending time on deck chairs etc...it looks more like a port.

I'm so glad we stayed at the Amari which is right on the beach (though a little further from town (approx 5 mins).

I also agree that there is no-where to walk to (no shops or restaurants nearby) - having siad this neither did the Amari however at least it was such a better location.

The Sofitel hotle itslef has a colonial design - ie lacks the charater of a true Thai hotel with regards to architecture etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Gooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing