We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, totally stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Fantastic hotel, simply stunning. The rooms are large and comfortable with great views from the balcony. The staff were so helpful and polite, they couldn't do enough for you. We told them it was out anniversary during our stay and they brought us a lovely handmade cake to our room to celebrate.
The food in the hotel is truely fantastic, the breakfast is simple amazing, it has every food you could ever want for breakfast and a lovely terrace to sit out and eat on. The restaurants in the evening were also lovely, if a little quiet as they are expensive compared to the local restaurants up the road. The Thai Lotus food in the hotel as really fantastic though and worth the money.
We actually signed up to become a member of the Accor group during our stay. It cost £100 to do so, but you got a free nights accomodation in Asia which we used on our last night in Bangkok and also 50% of food in the resort when two dine. The free night meant the card paid for itself and then the food was really reasonable priced for the quality. It was lovely to just relax round the pool and have lunch rather than going out for it. Having said that, just up the road when you turn right out of the hotel is a lovely place called Jos's kitchen. It is a travel shop at the front and a restaurant at the back with unspolit views out to see. The place is run by a lovely Thai man called Jos. He is am amazing chef in the smallest of kitchen and makes some of the most delicious Thai food you will ever taste for the lowest prices. He is a lovely man and will love to join you for a drink at the end of the evening. We had some great fun evenings there, chatting to Jos and other guests. I can't recommend this place enough, it is just perfect.
The pool bar also has a happy hour 5-6 everyday, buy one get one free.
We also took the hotel transfer from the airport, which I would definitely recommend. It was only 800 baht for 2 people and a taxi is about 600 baht. The minibus was much nicer with the air con, ice water and iced towels!
The pool in the hotel was blizz, with free fruits given out round the pool in the afternoon. The only downside of the pool was it was too warm,so not overly refreshing in the heat.
Some people have said the lorry's going to the mine were an issue, but after a few have gone by you don't really notice and it certainly doesn't spoil the hotel experience at all.
Overall this is an amazing hotel and we were really sad to leave it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,499)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the sofitel for 8 days. It was the best hotel in the krabi area. The staff was fantastic. We wanted to extend out stay for an extra day, they gave us a special rate, and called the sofitel in Bangkok to push our reservations back a night so that we will keep our special rate there also. The resort has a huge amount of free activites for their guests to do. Every morning starting from 7 till 7 there was always a class to take, yogo which the wife enjoyed and muay thai kickboxing which I enjoyed. They have work out activies in their pool also. And their pool is the most insane pool in Thailand. It runs the lenght of the hotel and dog leg up the sides of the hotel. The honeymoon suites have a private access to the pool form the room with a hot tub.

The LeSpa is an incredible spa. We got so pampered by their staff. You pay for what you get, And this spa is pure ZEN.

Our room was an ocean view. It was spacious and the beds were firm which we liked. The house cleaning staff took great care of us. They had bed turn down service every evening so when you got back to your room after a day of sun and fun your room was ready for you to relax. It was my wife's birthday during our trip, and the staff sent up a fantastic chocolate cake wishing her a happy birthday without charge.

Their hotel offers 3 main resturants, a bar that had entertainment at night, a desert shop, which had fantastic pastry and ice creams. The Maya resturant was the all day dinning the breakfast was great, What every style eggs you want, they would make for you. From eggs Benedict to 2 eggs over easy. Even though the core items were the same, depending on how you want them to perpare it, you had a huge varity to chose form.

The hotel beach was suitable. It may not be the perfect white sand beach but it was fine for relaxing. And the hotel offers many watersports from sailing, kayaking, windsurfing lesson for 500bht with equipment included free of charge. And the hotel has their own private yachts for 4 people trips with a fantastic lunch served onboard. Yes it is pricy at 800 US dollars. But the yacht is plushy and luxuarious. If you really want to go to a white sand beach, just take a short 5 min trip to tub kaek beach. It is not touristy and very quiet. Perfect for a quiet lazy day at the beach. And just 8 minutes down the road there is a national park with a 3 km trail leading to waterfalls. If you want a bit a nature.

The sofitel is not in Ao Nang, but in Klong Muang Beach. So you avoid the crowds. And the town has some nice places to have dinner right on the beach. And the the town's restaurants are a bit less expensive then the restaurants in Ao Nang. If you do want to go to Ao Nang, the sofitel offers shuttle bus service at the top of the hour starting at 8am till 10pm and on the bottom of the hour from 8:30 till 10:30. They shuttle you in comfort, they have new air condition mini bus instead of the usual pickup with top.

If you want to be treated with kit gloves and enjoy totally being pampered the sofitel is well worth the money. A real 5 Stars resort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Much has been said about the fantastic five star experiences that the Sofitel Krabi offeres, and it certainly is!

Elegant caring staff, beautiful views, rooms, enormous pool.

We did enjoyed our stay but unfortunately a few things reduced the fun factor:

-Industrial trucks roar by frequently.
Unless we were walking along the narrow roadside I didn't really find this too much of a concern. Noise was not an issue from our room and I can't recall it as a disturbance while in or around the pool due to the size of the grounds. This might not sit well with other travelers though.

-The lack of shade around the pool.
There was no natural tree shade and the umbrellas around the pool did little to shade as the bulk of the time the shadows were far back from the lounges due to the angle of the sun. Obviously shade has not been taken in to consideration with the design of the resort. This may not concern Europeans who love to bake in the sun, but as an Aussie this is a big issue.

-No music, lack of atmosphere.
We stayed six nights and in that time there was no musical entertainment, band or even any light music around the pool or anywhere in the resort that I was aware of. I wasn't expecting much but the lack of guests and no effort create some sort of musical entertainment occasionally left this beautiful resort feeling like a ghost town.

-Pool closed 7pm!
My main concern was that by 7pm every balmy night the staff packed up the padded lounges and towels!
Spa, pool and lights shut down, turned off!
It was incredibly dark with only weak bare lights so dull that it was dangerous to walk around the grounds as we could not see the ground we were walking on!

Why pack lounges up and not allow guests to swim (who pay a small fortune to stay) as early as 7pm peak season, on tropical summer nights? Seems crazy!

I think that travelers should be aware of this.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We went to Krabi for our Silver Wedding Anniversary.
The hotel is perfect. Our room had a great view.
The staff was courteous at all times. The swimming pool
was fantastic. Even the fact that you had to cross the road
to go to the beach was no problem.
We received an email to arrange transport from the airport.
No problem at all

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

After a fantastic stay in The Peninsula in Bangkok and 3 days in the Mandarin Oriental in Chang Mai, Krabbi was due to be the icing on the cake with a week by the sea in an exclusive setting. We originally booked to stay at the Centara resort down the coast which was horrendous, so moved out after one night and took a chance on the Sofitel after reading the reviews.

Here at the Sofitel, the rooms, service, breakfast, staff, pool, cleanliness is all BRILLIANT! This hotel has a loveley mixture of age ranges and nationalities, and is perfect for a relax in a true 5 star setting. The staff make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive and every request is dealt with immediately. The pool really is as good as other reviews make it sound, and the loungers are so plentiful you can have peace and quiet in a fantastic setting.

Any regrets? That we wasted a night in another hotel which was awful when we could have been here! This is a genuine 5 star hotel. Would definitely come back here without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Great property which is further away from Krabi town/Ao Nang Beach but that was no problem as there is a shuttle bus for a small charge that takes you to Ao Nang Beach. Service is excellent and very gracious. I had even received a reminder email from them as well offering a transfer before I arrived. I thought this was a nice touch. Rooms are large and have nice ocean views. The pool is massive. Spa facilites are excellent as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for r & r.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

A total feeling of peaceful luxury from the moment we arrived at the Sofitel ... the hotel has a colonial charm and a very warm feeling. The pool is amazing, by far the highlight of the hotel. The beach is not the best in Krabi but the hotel has a shuttle bus which we took to Krabi town and took the long tail boats to Raleigh beach .

I highly recommend this hotel... even if you dont leave the hotel, there is enough to do within the resort for 5 days...

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatingoutSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,393 reviews
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $124 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing