We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull hotel , Food not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here in the beginning of januari. Rooms are very nice and clean so is the hotel. The pool is amazing. The service and food was totally not good , we had the idea that there was not enough staff for such a bussy time of year. The restaurant at the swimming pool had very very loud music and the people where not friendly the food was really bad. The buffet style lunch didn't had variety and the salade was turning brown. Probably this hotel is better when there are less guest in the hotel but the management could not handle the crowd on a service you would expect for Sofitel Accor. The price we paid was too high for the service we got. Also the "ALL INCUSIEF" (which is off course not ALL inclusive) you got special menu s to choose from) was absolute not good enough. We traveled a lot but i don't think we would suggest this Sofitel to anyone. Sofitel is normally for us a great chain but not this one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post this very detailed review.

We have well noted all your comments about our hotel and facilities. The issues raised has been passed to the Food & Beverage department and we will utilize your comments to improve on the areas you have suggested.

Once again, thank you for choosing Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort and we are still looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely clean rooms which were not ready when we arrived (maybe due to New Year). So we had to wait for rooms for an hour. Hotel kindly promised to offer us something to eat in the reastaurant while waiting but then they added to our bill. This hotel is favored by families with small children so the pool area resembels a kinder garden.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Bonjour & Sawasdee Krap,

It is such a pleasant to read a positive feedback. We always strive to exceed, if not achieve all of our guests’ expectations by providing quality products and services. Your review help us assess these and enable us to further improve on areas which require, thus, I thank you for sharing them.

Despite your positive experiences in our hotel, we regret that you encountered some lapses. Do note that your feedback have been shared to the concerned departments and the management for reference in ensuring that we meet our guest’s needs.

It is our hope that the said concerns have not marred your perception of our hotel. We do look forward to welcome you back and be of better service to you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent our holiday at this hotel in december and the situation at this hotel with the sunbeds is not acceptable! They should really do something to make people not reserve sunbeds, in other hotels i have been the pool staff has taken away the towels to sunbeds wich is reserved before 9.am and put them aside! Is not acceptable that you have to set your alarm clock before 6.am to get a sunbed when you are at holiday! This experience truly wreecked our vacation! If it had not been for this problem i truly would have reccomend this hotel, but because of this problem i cannot! I think they would make their guest truly more happy if they solved this problem!

Room Tip: Ask to get away from the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christoffer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

We appreciate the time you took in sharing your concerns with us. I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay.

Following to your comment, we are currently in our on going projects and the challenges we are facing for the sunbed situation is on our top priority list.

Rest assured that immediate actions will be taken to improve and to meet our guest needs and expectation.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are a family of 5 wich spent 2 weeks at this hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the food is good, but the vacation was ruined by the stress in the morgning to find a sunbed. When you have to set the alarm clock in your vacation with 3 kids, it is not a vacation. Even if you are by the pool 7 o clock this is to late to get a bed!!! Thats unbearable! I saw the pool guys reserved beds for guest, maybe you have to pay them to get a bed, but it cannot be like that!! I will not recommend this hotel until they do something about thw sunbed issue!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 786chris_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

It is such a regret to know that your recent stay with us was not to your expectations. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us as this helps us to understand which areas needs improvement.

Following to your comment, we are currently in our on going projects and the challenges we are facing for the sunbed situation is on our top priority list.

Rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comment and have focused on immediate actions to improve the services and facilities to suit our guest needs.

Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Rooms: Large room with nice furniture and large bathroom, well cleaned by courteous and friendly housekeeping staff. Bed was too hard for my taste but pillows and bed linen of good quality.

Food: Nice buffet breakfast with a good variety of western and Asian dishes. Very cold indoors. Other dining was over priced and of average quality and not really worth the effort.

Pool: Large pool area with plenty of space, the annoying habit of booking sun chairs in the early morning is prevalent at this hotel also and although against hotel rules not really enforced. Come later than 9 am and you will lay in the grass.

Spa: Good facial in a relaxing atmosphere, manicure below par and not price worthy.

Swedish travel agent Fritidsresor has started their kiddie club Bamseklubben at the hotel, in my book that is not a good thing and shows that the hotel has to "cave in" to requests from large agents to fill the hotel, this means that the hotel clientele will change over time, more kids and more noice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I thank you for your constructive feedback as every guest impression is valuable. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your recent stay.

Please rest assured that issues raised has been discussed with the entire management to avoid future occurrence.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our on going efforts to improve our services and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a great resort, about six years old, in a secluded area, 60kms from Krabi, 166kms from Phuket. If you want a "bar scene", don't stay here. If you are on a package deal, don't stay here. If you have a family, this is a perfect place.
The White Lotus is the best place to eat, followed maybe by the pool cafe. Try ou the Thai or the Indian set menu at the Lotus, our choice was the Thai The buffets are for those with their snout in the trough, they take heaps, they waste heaps.
Venezia restaurant was a little overrated, but good.
Enough people have had their say about the reserving of sunbeds. It's a farce.
The beach is ok, you'll always get a sunbed (we did), only thing missing is a little service. Perhaps the hotel could organise some cold drinks etc to be brought around in a cart periodically?
Gold Course is thirsty, and the rough is ROUGH!, Still fun.
Gym rule need looking at. Allowing 12 year olds (and under) unsupervised, to use gym equipment is ridiculous. They'll hurt themselves, and SUE! Make it 16, get real! This isn't a creche, kick 'em out!

People shouldn't stay here if they have allowed / expended every last cent just getting here. It does cost money to eat and drink at a resort hotel, more than a local shanty shack with dodgy food hygiene, wake up!

People should also make sure they first thing they pack for holidays is MANNERS! Geez, the staff aren't dogs , they're people, treat them with some dignity. Remember please and thank you.

special mention to the girls in the ice=cream / coffee shop, job well done, and little Sao, who was just learning, and Epsie, and Chart.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orchTraralgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. The Magnifique experience you have is the Sofitel Krabi's aim for our guests to receive and it is always our hope to meet if not exceed your expectations of us. Providing excellence service is our passion and it is worthy for every guest to be the recipient of such.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,448 reviews
6.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.0 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $144 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing