We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Krabi Sands Resort(Krabi Town)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Klong Muang Inn(Nong Thale)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,714)
Filter reviews
2,714 results
Traveler rating
1,595
717
266
75
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,595
717
266
75
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite lotusmaya restaurantpool barexplorer barhong islandluxury roomlargest swimming poolopera suitekids clubcolonial stylebusy roaditalian restaurantamazing poollow seasonfree shuttlespecial thankspool side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,251 - 1,256 of 2,714 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Krabi over New Years and it was one of the most expensive hotels we've stayed at except that we didn't really see what we were paying for. The pool area and the rooms were nice but it was the little things that we're annoying like the rock hard bed, the cleaners forgetting to fill up our complimentary water bottles and forgetting to replace our bath towels. The biggest issue we had with the management is that they did nothing to address the problem of people reserving sun beds around the pool. We raised this with the management on our second day but we were told that they were aware of the problem and were looking at ways to address it. They basically said there was nothing they could do, it seemed like it was too hard for them to ask their staff to police the pool area in order to prevent people from leaving belongings on sun beds from hours on end. I'm sorry but if I'm paying over AUD 600 a night to stay at your hotel I expect to be able to sit on a sun bed by the pool! We spoke to another guest who saw someone get up at 6:00am and reserve 11 sun beds in a row so no wonder there was such a problem! The compulsory New Year's Eve dinner was a rip off too, they charged17,000 Baht (almost AUD 600) for the two of us and it didn't even include beer, wine or soft drinks. On the plus side the buffet breakfast is one of the best we've had. Nice hotel but its definitely not worth a 5 star rating.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Charger265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "Charger265",

Thank you for your review.

We took good notes of your remarks.

Hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Robin Deb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went there with the family in October 2012 for one week. The hotel is great, only disadvantage is that the beach is separated by road and there is no access to it directly from the hotel premises. Rooms are spacious and clean and service is very good. They have a lot of activities to offer, golf, tennis, etc. They also organize boat trips to the islands (Phi Phi, Maya Beach, etc.) which is definitely a must. This year we went to the Sheraton and wished we would have come back to Sofitel instead!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab!

We are delighted to read your comments about your stay at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa!

It is a great pride for us that we are able to live up to our standards while aiming comfort and convenience for our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This resort is very peaceful even though there are lots of families with young children.
The pool area is very cosy, but you need to be early bird to get sunbed, specially high
season, around christmas.
To the beach you have to cross the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab!

It was such a pleasure learning that you have a wonderful stay at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort!

I am truly glad of your appreciation of the facilities and services provided and it comes as an inspiration for us to continually pursuit for excellence.

Thank you and we hope you have another pleasant experience with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the perfect place to come to relax and recharge. The resort is isolated, about 20 minutes from the tourist centre of Ao Nang. So you will have peace and tranquility in a very nice part of Krabi. The hotel facility is very good, large enough to accommodate many guests and has a nice & large swimming pool.

The beach is quite alright, much better than what some of the comments seem to suggest. Remember that all beaches in Thailand are public (no matter where you go). If the beach is your deciding factor, then you are best heading to one of the islands, rather than staying on Krabi itself.

The hotel has access to plenty of activities ~ simply contact the activites centre. I would certainly recommend boat trips to Koh Hong (very near, and do the kayak) and to Koh Phi Phi (a bit further away). We spent 3 days doing a dive certification at a nearby Dive Centre (see Aqua Vision).

A couple of things to note:

1. The Wifi connection in the hotel isn't good, and quite variable, especially in the evening when everyone is logged on. It isn't reliable and you may consider getting a prepay sim with unlimited internet. The hotel gives you wifi access for 2 devices (obviously not enough if you come with a partner or your family). You can ask for more, though the reception staff are quite reluctant. Keep asking and they will give you extra login access.

2. Food options are limited. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel, and a handful in the surrounding area. You will need to take the hotel shuttle or a taxi into Ao Nang, to explore more dining options.

Overall, we had a great stay, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore Krabi from an isolated spot outside Ao Nang.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool/bay
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Bonjour & Sawasdee Krab!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit at Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort!
It is a delight to read that you've enjoyed the hotel facilities and services offered.

We regret that there are expectations we have not met and areas where we could have been more sensitive to ensure a comfortable stay.

The feedback has been well noted and will be shared with the concerned departments for appropriate measures to check on areas where improvement is needed.

Once again, thank you very much for recommending Sofitel Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort to all Tripadvisor readers and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Please read the other reviews and you'll get a good picture of this excellent hotel.
My first time to Thailand and I already want to return. Long 11 hour flight + 2.5 hour transfer from Phuket airport is tiring- but once at the hotel I relaxed straight away.
As a summary- the hotel is a good 4.5 star hotel, but the general service is 5 star. There are some exceptions in the evening when the service in Italian & White Lotus tails off- too many trainees serving I think. But the staff are really nice so you don't mind.
The hotel is awash with Scandinavian family groups & wedding guests. Energetic kids + pool= some noise & splashing.
The location is good with lots of days trips available. The road never disturbed us- but you do have to be careful after dark walking down the road. There are big trucks that are moving Gypsum from a mine to the local port. They drive slowish but do kick up dust if you are near them.

Notable Mentions-
1- The golf pro Paul Nawat is a brilliant guy. The 1 hour lessons for £30 are very good value.
2- The pool bar team are great. Mard Senpan (Matd) gave us fantastic service. Cherry and the other guys and girls worked hard to make us enjoy our stay.
Some suggested changes-
1- Please remove the large wedding marquee from the 1st hole fairway. The hotel is advertised as a Golf and Spa hotel. Weddings must bring in good money- but they shouldn't affect the quality of stay for other guests.
2- Sort out the golf greens- I understand the golf sprinkler system was broken (now fixed?)- this has lead to poor greens.
3- Please include some in room drinks allowance with the all inclusive service. On our first night I had a Coke from the room fridge, which cost me 100 baht (£2). In room fridge soft drinks and beer should be included in the all inclusive service.
4- Please give the guys and girls in the evening restaurants some more training.
5- Good to see there is hotel guest Wifi in the room. Next step is to increase the speed for free.
Notes-
1- The hotel is quiet at night. Evening entertainment is minimal. Do not expect an entertainment (animation) team stage show each night.
2- Please try Hong Island on a long tail boat, a massage at a local shop & watch the sunset at one of the bars down the road. £5 per hour for a massage is a bargain.

Conclusion-
I didn't want to leave this place. I was completely relaxed and felt safe. There is a lot to do in the area, and I would like to return as soon as possible. If you can cope with the long flight and jet lag please book.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krap "PL123",

Thank you for your excellent review.

Hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Robin Deb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews