We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax after Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relax after Bangkok”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

After 4 days in Bangkok nowhere looked as good as Krabi and felt relaxed as soon as we got into the hotel shittle bus for the 40 minute ride to the Sofitel. First impression of the hotel is the impressive lobby and the attention and welcome of the staff with a welcome drink and efficient check-in.
Things went a little downhill from there, I had booked two connecting rooms and from the description on the website one room was to have pool views and the other a sea view both rooms were side by side and we had a view of large palm trees with the pool and ocean somewhere behind them.(Book a room on the top floor and you may have a view)
There was no information in room on the restaurants or a site plan of the hotel to find where they were, what they served or opening times. Only found out that the restaurant where we had breakfast was also open for lunch and dinner and also caters for AdvantagePlus members.
One plus was across the road from the hotel is a taxi stand and tour boat outlet that was very good value.
One very annoying thing was the Buisiness Centre which had two very old computers that you could only get on late at night because at any other time it was full of children playing computer games.
Now I know the layout of the hotel and surroundings I would stay again as the place is one to relax and wind down with a great pool and wonderfull people.

Room Tip: Get a top floor and a tour of the hotel and a tuk tuk up to the 7/11 to stock up on nibblies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron1954Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour Sawasdee krab,

First of all thank you very much for your loyality and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Please be assured that we appreciate the constructive feedback as it allows us to improve our quality and our services at all times, something that is essential for Sofitel Luxury Hotels.

In regard to your room allocations kindly note that our Front Office department always tries their best to allocate the best views avaliable, although this will depend on the hotel's occupancy on the day .

I have taken note of the points concerning the information about the restaurants in our resort. Please rest assured that your suggestions has been carefully noted by our teams and we will ensure that all our guests are well informed about the hotel facilities at all times.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Krabi.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    649
    250
    66
    47
See reviews for
806
981
85
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had good time in Sofitel, staff are very nice specially front desk Mr. Manish who really take care of all small issue. Only complain which i had with Sofitel is i have booked PRESTIGE SUITE room number 297 which has 1076 sq. ft. (100 m²), with a separate living room & bedroom. 2 televisions and DVD player. The large balcony has spectacular views over the Andaman Sea, a perfect place to unwind in the sun. Complimentary WIFI Internet. But sorry there was no view of Sea. After complaining the same to Guest Relationship manager she said sorry sir Mangrove trees has grown up so the view is blocked. Only reason for booking this room was Sea View and i was shocked to hear suck excuse. i will not recommend any one to book PRESTIGE SUITE who want sea view, better to book normal superior room which has better view. Youngster, group of friends not recommended because its located in a very isolated place, access to any place around Krabi specially Ao Nang is far. Yes family, honeymoon couple its a best place.
Again i am not happy with the room after spending good amount of money in room for the view and hearing such response from the Hotel really spoiled my mood and trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memories about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay wih us.

We would like to sincerely apologize if the room view in one of our Prestige suites did not meet your expectations. Kindly note that our team always tries to allocate the best views avaliable in a hotel, although this will depend on the hotel's occupancy on the day.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.


Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Second time here. I didn't stay in the hotel but went to the bar and Italian restaurant. Staff is very nice and have well knowledge about their menu. Every Wednesday night, there is a Thai cultural night, elephant show with Thai food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Earth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memories about your short visit with us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had a nice time with us and it was certainly a pleasure to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd visit.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was thinking of giving this hotel 3 stars, but staff is nice and would not be fair to them;
location: not good - you are very limited to this hotel and there are no shops around ( one small one in, but nothing more). We had our baby with us and could not get any dipers. We had to rent a motorbike to get to first 7/11 few kilometres away; big problem is also a busy road between hotel and the beach, full of trucks all day long!!!
Rooms are quite outdated, despite being pretty large;
Pool is great, especially for children; there is also nice children area near the pool so you can even leave you child for few hours ( charge 150 THB per hour) and have some free time;
I do not know if all rooms are connected, but I hate that!!! You hear all the noise from the other room and if there are some loud people or watching TV, you have a problem;
there were some other smaller flaws, but in general they are ok;
But if I will be in that area again, I will think twice before booking Sofitel again ( and I have Platinum status);

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Bonjour Sawasdee krab,

First of all thank you very much for your loyality and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that our hotel facilities did not meet your expectations.

I am also sorry to know that you were dissapointed with the location of our hotel. We are approximately 15 minutes from Ao Nang which is the popular place for tourists. In order to reach the place, note that we run shuttle bus to Ao Nang. We would like to assure you that most of our guest enjoys the tranquility of the resort, though it all depends on the purpose of the trip and holiday..

In regard to your observation on the road and trucks. You will surely understand that it is not of our control however it is important that we understand your frustration and would like to reiterate our sincere apologies.

I was, however, pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and friendliness from our Ambassadors as this is something we strive to excel at on a daily basis.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel was almost great, and I say 'almost' because a few small but pervasive problems exist. Firstly, this is a great hotel for busy families as it's spacious and has a huge pool. What it lacks is atmosphere. To keep in line with the image it projects as an International brand, most spaces except the lobby lack decor. The pool, while large, also lacks appeal because of lacking waterfalls, rockery, etc. One other problem was with the bar and restaurant staff whom I feel need a little more training to fit in an International Hotel. Specifically, cold water should be brought to diners immediately, beer must not be poured in a manner which results in a glass filled with froth (this happened so many times!), if you're going to pour wine while holding the bottom of the bottle, it must land inside the glass, and finally, after serving all food items, wait a moment before returning to the table to check if everything is OK. The wine selections were also pretty bad except the $100 bottle Trio Reserve 2010 from Chile! Aside from these issues which I believe could be easily fixed, everything else was wonderful. The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating, especially those taking charge of the Archery lesson which my 7-yr old adored. The excursion desk was also great and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 boat trips which came with fantastic lunches (I strongly recommend the full-day Phi-Phi island tour and ask to go to Yung Island for the most fish - it's not on most people's itinerary but has the most impressive fish to view while snorkeling). Finally, the beach by this hotel is poor and our family of beach lovers never used it. Overall, this is a good hotel with the potential to be a great one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms along the corridor 261-269 and above them 361-369 - the corridor faces an outside area t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloTexan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Phokheethra Golf and Spa Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to learn that you had a nice stay with us.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding the service in our restaurant and bar. Our aim and intent is to ensure all employees are totally customer-focus and all guest concerns and requests are handled quickly and efficiently. Please rest assured that appropriate action has been taken regarding your comments immediately and we will emphasise the training to our ambassadors for the comfort of our future guests.

I also regret to hear about your disappointment regarding our beach. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Sofitel Phokeethra in October 2013. It was amazing. Our travel agent tipped off the hotel to say we were on our 2nd honeymoon and the bed was scattered with petals, the bath filled with water and petals and a small chocolate cake (thanks). Our room was lovely, spacious and clean and overlooked the garden/pool. The food at all the restaurants was excellent and the service was outstanding – we were treated like royalty. The pool was amazing and we loved the swim up bar. We liked the fact that it was away from the busy hub bub of Krabbi. We would definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memories about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing