We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room but no WIFI ... Location secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great room but no WIFI ... Location secluded”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Sofitel krabi has a great comfortable room with colonial interior design. Quite nice room but the location is really secluded, in the middle of nowhere.

They say they have private beach, but I say its not a beach. They only have a small area of seaside with white sands, with the view of giant tanker ship. You even have to cross the road in order to reach the so called "beach". It's definitely not what I expected.

They provide no WIFi anywhere in the hotel. If you need internet, you have to go to the business center where they provide 2 Compiter PCs. Often you need to queue for quite awhile because it seemed that all the children guests need internet too ... No surprise.

They have several restaurants inside the hotel. I tried the Venezia and I personally think its not good. The taste average and the service is really slow. It seemed that they are short of servers.
And there is no restaurant nearby.

The hotel provides a rental car, but the price is more expensive than outside rate. Even the rate for going to the airport is more expensive.

Booking a tour is recommended, especially the tour to Hong island.

Once again, the room is great and comfortable. But I find the location rather inconvenient, also no WIFi is a big minus points for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeblade49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. Rest assured that it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which allows us to achieve and improve our best quality service at all times.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the location of our hotel. We are approximately 15 minutes from Ao Nang which is the popular place for tourists. In order to reach the place, note that we run shuttle bus to Ao Nang. We would like to assure you that most of our guest enjoys the tranquility of the resort, though it all depends on the purpose of the trip and holiday.

In regard to your legitimate observation about internet service, I am pleased to inform that at since few months ago our guests are able enjoy the free internet not only in bussines center but in our lobby as well.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    649
    250
    66
    47
See reviews for
806
981
85
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
599 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The positive: the premises are really beautiful, the location is quiet, the facilities very generous, the pool is huge, the kids club is nice and Krabi is just a nice place to start with.
But overall we were quite disappointed for a number of reasons: the water of the pool was clean (in the sense of clear), but the pool itself and the area around it were quite neglected (see pictures). Broken inlets, broken lamps with protruding screws (that swimmers could hurt themselves), protruding electrical cables "somewhat isolated", construction material and debris on the bottom. Then there were dozens and dozens of snails that crawled from the lawn to the pool and some also fell in. They were there for days, and then one day some were cleaned up (or disappeared), while may others were just smashed (see pictures). And this next to the kid's pool. Ok, I don't care what you do with the dead snails, but leaving the dead carcasses next to where the kids play is just not right. At the pool bar waiters would be wearing sunglasses (weather was overcast, actually almost raining), and when setting the table they would be touching the blades of the knives and the fork tips with their hands. And there was more, but we stop here. The beach would be really nice, but in no case you can let the kids stroll around or walk into the water. Every few meters there are broken bottles and pieces of glass, combined with trash that is being washed up the shore...and just stays there. Nobody from the hotel cleaning up.
The staff was actually there, nice, and trying genuinely to be helpful, but in this case they totally lacked processes, supervision, discipline, in short....management. What a pity to see such an infrastructure being "run down" like that and at that price.

Room Tip: Try upper floor and facing the ocean to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Bonjour Sawasdee krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memories about your recent stay with us. I am truly disappointed to read that the hotel facilities did not meet your expectations.

Please rest assured that appropriate action has been taken regarding your comments about the pool and I assure you that it has been resolved already.

I have taken the liberty to share your feedback about the service in one of our restaurants with our Food and Beverage Manager to rectify the problem immediately and we will emphasise the training to our ambassadors for the comfort of our future guests.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments. These will certainly enable us to improve the quality of our services to better meet the needs of our guests.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautiful location with superb scenic around....! clearly a luxury resort with a luxury experience...! the food was amazing...! also the resort has lot of activities and will also help you in booking external activities...! highly recommended for a break or a change in lifestyle as a break from the busy city schedule...!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulshetty432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memories about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations, as this is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the Sofitel for 8 nights and had a wonderful holiday with our two kids (1.5 and 3.5 years old). The service was just great! Everyone was incredibly (and honestly) friendly, especially with the kids.
We choose a pool villa room which was very convenient, as we just had to cross the lawn to go to the pool. The pool is huge and very nice and warm. The slides of the kids pool may need some security improvement as my younger girl fell down the stairs because it is slippery when wet. The pool is clean and the sunbeds are comfy. The staff from the beach bar is providing towels and serving drinks on request. As we traveled at the end of the rain season we had some surprise showers after which it was hard to find a towel, there may be some improvement on that.

Referring some other reviews, we can say, that we didn´t find any reason to complain about street noise (staying in a pool view room).

To go to the beach you have to cross a street but that´s no problem and we didn´t feel bothered by traffic or anything. The hotel is providing towels at the beach entrance but there are no umbrellas or sunbeds. The beach was pretty lonely which we liked most. At low tide it is a bit rocky, so you´d better go swimming at high tide. Also you can find some glass in the sand but that´s a general environmental question Thailand has to work on hard.

We choose the Sofitel because we wanted a nice resort holiday (away from the touristy and busy Ao Nang Beach. A shuttle bus is provided but you need to pay extra.
We did 2 trips organized by the hotel: a speedboat and snorkling trip to Hong Island, which was nice. As a movie was shot on the island, the crew was very flexible and drove us to Paradise Island where it was possible to snorkle. A snack was provided and we enjoyed this trip even though it was raining slightly.
The second trip was the 1 hour elephant ride through the jungle. This was definitely too long for us and the kids and we had some doubts if the elephants there are treated right.

Another reason to choose the Sofitel was the included kids club. The staff was lovely and patient and always took good care of our kids. The kids club is available for kids from 4-12 years for free. You can always go there together with your kids even if they are younger. If below 3 years you can book the babysitting option for a reasonable price and go to the spa or hang out at the pool. Anyway, we felt that the kids club rooms need some renovation and renewal and maybe replacement of some toys.

One thing we really enjoyed and looked forward was the outstanding breakfast buffet. It was very big, everything fresh, tasty, varied and arranged in a beautiful manner. The staff was very helpful, friendly and knew after 3 days which coffee specialty we liked most and placed the child seat just before we arrived, helped me carrying the plates to the table and entertained our kids. A big thank you for that!

We cannot say anything about the other restaurants apart from the pool bar which served some nice snacks. We used to dine in the little beach restaurants which are at 10 minutes walking distance.
After all, we can recommend this resort for like-minded people who are looking for some nice and quiet holidays with their family or alone. Thanks to the staff of the Sofitel for their great service and hospitality.

Room Tip: Pool-View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine_Kah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice for your visit in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your comments about toys at kids club has been carefully noted by our Activities Manager and she is currently on process of reviewing those facilities, which should be completed in the near future.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

PRO'S: Even though it was rain season (mid-July) we only had sunshine with some clouds. The location was away from cities, this is exactly what made the hotel attractive - we did rent a scooter for a day to explore (doing so we noticed that we did not mind being away from the cities, but also that the 5 star resorts a bit up north at Tubkaak beach are actually nicer located). We also did a half daytrip to Ko Hong via the hotel, which was well arranged - no complaints there (except that we proofed that if you try to snorkle in the rain season one should not expect to see too much). Overall the service & attention is excellent. The pool is huge, and there were plenty of beds & clean towels available (it was low season though).

CON'S: Hotel & beach separated by road. Only free wifi (with a poor connection) in the lobby, not in the room (which any normal hotel offers nowadays). The hotel room was a bit worn and starting to need renovation - especially the bathroom. The bed was quite firm; based on other reviews I expected medium beds. Food & drinks are way overpriced - around 4-5 times as much as outside the hotel - when you exit the hotel, turn left and on 5 min walking you will find a number of restaurants & a small supermarket with more normal prices. It is not allowed to store any items bought in the refrigerator in the room (I have travelled a lot for work, and never been to a hotel where this is not allowed). Rooms were cleaned very late on the day, sometimes around 16:00, when you already came back from a day out of the hotel. If you arrange a taxi via the hotel to go to the airport the hotel again charges an additional fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_456123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Phokheethra Golf and Spa Resort as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding our prices in a hotel. I am sure you will understand and appreciate the fact that we apply rates in line with other 5 star properties and also equivalent to the quality of service rendered.

In regard to your comments about internet service and rooms status note that we are currently on process of reviewing those facilities, which should be completed in the near future.

On another note I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and friendliness from our Ambassadors as this is something we strive to excel at on a daily basis.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards in quality and service by, not only meeting but also exceeding their expectations; therefore your feedback is once again very important to us.


Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

An excellent hotel with all the facilities you would expect to find in a 4 star hotel. If the purpose of your holiday is relaxation, this place won't disappoint you. It offers loads of activities for its guests including organised day trips and water sports in the huge pool. In addition, food is also served in 3 restaurants and the quality is exceptional. Don't miss out the breakfast, one of the best I've ever had! The only negative points as previously mentioned is the location as it is outside the city centre and the beach opposite is not the nicest in Krabi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexliccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice for your visit in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing