We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Wonderful Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the most wonderful, helpful and pleasant staff at the hotel that helped us pick the right excursions and made our stay most relaxing. The rooms were very comfortable, the pool was nice and the breakfast wonderful as well - so many exotic fruits and anything you could wish for. The cooking class was great fun and delicious as well and the spa also exquisite. A lovely stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittlePegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for keep choosing us as your accommodation choice for your visits in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again for your 3rd visit.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MouseyLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Should a 5 star hotel be perfect? I believe it should be because it is claiming to be a premium property, the best there is. Should a 5 star hotel be perfect in low season? I think it should be close, with allowances on both sides for carefully planned renovations or reconstruction (a small part of the pool was off limits with a rather amusing but massive temporary sign proclaiming “No trespassing” on one side and “So Sorry” on the other). That wasn’t an issue for us as the pool is vast. So did the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra meet this fair standard of compromised perfection? Sadly it didn’t.

So why the title “Cemetery flower”, what’s that about? Well in any other country frangipani is called just that, but this hotel and presumably Thailand, labels them “Cemetery Flower”. Combine that rather depressing name with what look like primitive headstones (see pictures) and you create the unexpected impression of a cathedral with a cemetery! There is such a “plot” in the main foyer and in other places around the property. It probably has a completely different cultural meaning, well I hope it does! It does however impose the feeling of a religious building.

Across the road from the pool, which was regularly populated by large double trucks and a taxi van with a very loud bass sound system, the view along the beach is spoiled by a huge loading dock which on investigation appears to be transporting white sand. This is piled dangerously high, by the side of the road, about a kilometre in the direction of the Ritz-Carlton hotel. Considering the hotel writes about they cannot have structures on the beach because it is a national park this was an extraordinary sight.

I chose the title “Cemetery flower” for a more worrying reason than puzzling landscaping. There are many cracks (and some external staining) around the buildings on both internal and external walls. I counted three major cracks in our bedroom (221) which had been roughly plastered over and painted. There were also many fine cracks in most of the walkways. There was extensive mould (see pictures) growing on our bathroom ceiling (above the bath) and the bedroom ceiling (mostly, but not exclusively, around the air conditioning unit). At random times the bedroom air conditioning smelled mouldy or rotten. At night we experienced power cuts (at least four during our 4 day stay) which appeared to increase with the number of people staying at the resort increased. It wasn’t so bad when the air conditioning went silent for a minute or two in the middle of the night (and lights went off in the bathroom which was a bit of shock while showering as there's no natural light) but when it whines like a Tsunami siren as it starts up again, well…..hmm.

I fear the hotel may be experiencing structural issues. I noticed someone very like Anthony Melchiorri (Hotel Impossible) walking around with management.

Some relatively minor points follow. Several of the poolside mattresses were frayed although towels were plentiful. Others have mentioned that the bed mattresses are hard – they certainly are. We joked that it felt like a marble slab, much in keeping with the cemetery aesthetic! Each morning I woke with short term back pain. In the White Lotus restaurant we were told that they were sorry that we would have to wait a longer for our meal are there were a lot of orders from room service and they only had two Indian chefs! We thought this was quite funny. Though I might expect these issues at a Thai backpackers, I did not expect them in a 5 star resort.

I suspect the management will say that we should have brought these issues to their attention during our stay so they could have addressed them. I would counter that I shouldn’t have to, it’s their job to maintain such standards, at all times. I know that this report sounds awful, particularly for a 5 star hotel, but setting aside these issues we mostly enjoyed our stay as the staff were just lovely, the furnishings generally adequate and the restaurants had mostly good service and nice food. We would stay there again if we were in the area but we would plead that the management attend to the maintenance of the buildings.

Room Tip: Few of the rooms have sea views. With your sea view may come the view and noise of passing double tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Bonjour Sawasdee krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your memories about your recent stay with us. I am truly disappointed to read that the hotel and its facilities did not meet your all of your expectations. In reference to the flower that grows in abundance in and around the hotel and local area they are often referred to as Cemetery flowers or Frangipani, as well as Plumeria and are, according to local traditional beliefs, often associated with temples and play a big part in Buddhist culture.

We are currently upgrading some of our rooms and other facilities which is part of our annual engineering plan as well as our focus on convenience for all our guests. Thank you for your feedback regarding the rooms, I have shared your comments with our Chief Engineer and I would like to ensure that there are no structural issues with the hotel. Please be reassured that your comments have been addressed and will be resolved as part of our annual refreshment program.

I am sorry to hear about the brief power cuts that you experienced however occasionally these can happen within the Kingdom of Thailand. The hotel is fully equipped with a full generator system that is able to provide 24 hour electricity for the entire property in the event of this happening.

On another note I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and friendliness from our Ambassadors as this is something we strive to excel at on a daily basis. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Sofitel over the past week with our 3 month old baby, my brother's family (niece is 8 and nephew 10) and my parents. We've been lucky enough to have high season weather and low season occupancy. The service has been amazing with Bung in the bar, Andy in the restaurant and Rachel in sales to assist with suitable activity suggestions, along with all of the other beautiful staff. The hotel provides an instant sense of relaxation as you enter and has enough of a range of dining options (considering it is low season). There were plenty of activities to suit our broad interests and the pool was always a great option (although the temp could be slightly cooler). With everything being so easy and comfortable, we will leave this place with beautiful memories of our family holiday. Thanks to all of the staff that made our stay a delight!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the friendliness, assistance of our ambassadors and enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed with our 2 infants for 6 nights and had the most fantastic time. The breakfast was amazing. Great selection of food and the patisseries were the highlight every morning. Coffee was good, but there was no caffeine kick to it.

The rooms are clean and spacious even with 2 baby cots. Large bathroom with spacious shower and bathtub. Once again, a huge benefit when bathing 2 kids.

Service is fantastic. We had prompt response to all our requests. The child minding service was great. There is an indoor and outdoor play area and all the staff were super friendly. Kids pool was large but could do with more shaded area. Also the Sofitel promo tv channel music was great to get the kids to sleep. Life was magnifique during our stay.

The grounds are spacious and tranquil. Though there were huge trucks on the main road, the double glazed sliding doors blocked out all the sound.

There was a beach/road side cafe called Monkey Cafe across the road to the left was fantastic. Cheap and fresh food. Friendly service. A must try. Getting to the mini mart can be quite a hike, and there is no mini mart in the resort itself.

The club sandwich at the pool cafe is much better than room service.

We would definitively stay at this resort again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool view, much better than the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for keep choosing us as your accommodation choice for your visits in Krabi and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again for your 3rd visit.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Today is my 3rd day here ..and honestly im simply loving it. Its from the finest properties ive ever stayed with and certainly the best in terms of service and courtesy.we havent felt the need to leave the property to explore krabi. The food is great and the activities fullfilling. The courtesy extended to me on my arrival day from the duty manager was commendable. My honest recommendation to everyone coming to krabi ..u have to stay here and to everyone coming to thailand u have to come to krabi :).after this experience will certainly consider sofitel hotel over others for my future travels. Job well done team sofitel krabi

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbasrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience in Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf and Spa Resort. I am pleased to read that you are having an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our first concern.

Thank you very much for your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Krabi.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank malibu999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,416 reviews
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,405 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $125 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing