We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in this lovely hotel. We got a great deal on price, so was an absolute delight when we turned up to see how amazing the hotel was.

Beautiful grounds, massive pool, lovely rooms. Was within walking distance to a local village and about 30 mins by car to Ao Nang. So easy to get groceries and eat out if you wanted too. But the Thai in the restaurant was very reasonably priced and delicious, so we ate in the hotel a lot.

Staff were all lovely and very helpful.

We stayed in the low season when we had the hotel almost to ourselves, which was awesome. Not sure how it would be at full capacity.

Highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for another fantastic holidays with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

What an absolutely beautiful resort! Spent a few days here with friends in May while traveling around Thailand, and we all wished we'd booked for longer!

From the moment we stepped out of our taxi, we were blown away by the breathtaking lobby - spacious, opulent, and exuding colonial charm! We were immediately warmly greeted, given welcome beverages and cold towels, and invited to sit on the beautiful lounges for a fast, efficient check in as we admired our gorgeous surrounds.

The standard rooms are spotlessly clean, spacious, and have everything you need. We were on the second floor and had a lovely balcony with views over the resort. I was a bit surprised to find a CRT tv in the entertainment cupboard - a while since I've seen one of those! However, strangely it fit with the overall style of the property, where you really can feel like you've stepped back in time (in the best possible way!).

My favourite two places were the pool (which is absolutely huge!!) and the Explorer Bar. Decorated in true colonial style (lots of dark wood, leather chairs, etc), you'll feel like Hemingway could walk through the door at any moment. We had a fantastic evening sipping Martinis at the bar and telling tall tales! A great place to dig in for the night.

The main restaurant was lovely. We had a great selection of Italian and Thai dishes for dinner, and the quality and presentation were great! Loved the wood-fired pizzas! Also had some fantastic lunches at the pool bar, which was always busy and had some very creative, healthy salads that I loved.

Breakfast was generally good, although my friends reported that there were long queues at some times for the coffee and egg stations. I arrived at breakfast towards the end and didn't strike this, though.

The spa is lovely! Had a very nice massage and wish I had time to have another during our stay. We had a quick game of golf, which was lots of fun, but I think the course needs a little more maintenance (was just a bit dry). The best thing we did was join the free Thai boxing (Muay Thai) class! The instructor was fantastic and we had an absolute blast! Highly recommend it!

We didn't really explore much of Krabi, but the beach opposite was quite nice and we had a lovely swim!

Overall, we loved this resort and would definitely return. As mentioned, our one regret was not being able to stay longer! Lovely place for friends, couples, or families - lots to do, and plenty of areas to relax and do nothing at all! Perfect place for a romantic colonial adventure!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaffaStralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf and Spa Resort.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Resort. I travel a lot in Thailand and Krabi is one of my favorite places. The scenery is spectacular. This resort has a wonderful colonial ambiance and reminds you of a bygone era when you first arrive. The pool is huge and the expansive gardens ensure you don't feel crowded. The service was excellent, as was the hotel food, and my room opened straight onto the lawn surrounding the pool, which was ideal. The beach requires taking a few steps across the road but it has a quiet atmosphere. I would love to come back again for another stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open onto the gardens. Lovely atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaineGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I absolutely love Krabi; very relaxing and peaceful after spending time in the tourists traps of Phuket and Bangkok. We stayed for five nights and it was such a good end to our holiday, I think that five nights was a food length, Krabi is quiet so anything longer you may get bored.

The Sofitel was a really beautiful resort; it had quite a French feel and the grounds were lovely. Our room was clean, bed was super comfortable and the balcony was such perfect for an afternoon drink. My favorite thing about the whole resort though was the pool! I think it is the biggest pool in Asia and it was absolutely beautiful but the swim up bar was the best bit... My partner and I loved it.

One day my partner went off to play golf (boring) he said it was good and I snuck off to the spa for a massage and facial, spa was one of the Sofitel "So spas" not as cheap as massages on the street in Phuket but the products they used were first class.

Food is nice; surprisingly good pizza and the staff are all lovely... So many of them! Only downside for me was crossing a small road to get to the beach but it didn't put me off because of the amazing ... The beach was pretty but it didn't have a swim bar!!

Room Tip: Superior Seaside rooms with a balcony, great for an afternoon cocktail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We always endeavor our best to make sure our guests experience the best while staying with us and it is a great reward that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are also pleased to read your positive feedback regarding our So Spa and the pool.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon for your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the third time we have been to Sofitel Krabi and returned with our extended family to celebrate a 60th birthday. As always, the experience was relaxing and memorable – because of the staff, food, but mainly the peace and quiet we can all get by the pool and in the evening at the bar / restaurants. We keep returning this destination because it offers relaxation in a resort environment without being near abnoxious Europeans or backpackers, and enjoy the scenery as well.

This time the weather was so – so (had a couple of days of strong rain) so the beach wasn’t as inviting as it usually is, but we tended to stay by the main pool anyway. My husband said the golf course, while still having the impressive views, needs to be better looked after. Not really a concern for the rest of us though.

People complain about the beach not being perfect like the Maldives etc - but we have stayed in Patong, and Chaweng, and none of those beaches are like the Maldives either - The beach is good when the weather is good - and when it is not good, it is like any other beach. Regardless though the pool is a much more inviting option, given its size.

Everything else was up to the usual Sofitel standard – the service, the rooms and we took advantage of a special Spa offer as well, which made the exquisite treatment extremely palatable.

Would recommend for people who love nature, relaxation, and happy to either hang around by the pool, eat, get spa treatments, with a few days of day trips and site seeing. The boys went rock climbing and we stuck to coffee and cake.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us once again. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you back again for the fourth visit.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Overall a nice hotel with good service, comfortable room, and reasonable price. Location is out of town (and therefore quiet), but have to cross the road to a rocky beach and view of a mining pier and ore ship. When I called the hotel for a reservation and balked at the price, the reservation isn't was kind enough to refer me to a discount website where I saved 40%.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99protraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear you were disapointed with our beach, unfortunately in Thailand beaches can’t be privately owned, and are protected by Thai government. We do however, provide our guests at the beach with lounge beds, and have our Ambassadors standing by to provide any assistance you may require.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.


Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Perfect place to stay for a first trip to Thailand.
Rooms and hotel spotless. Best beds ever..........
Food excellent and the prices are not to expensive for this type of hotel.
Peace and quiet all around.

Only thing to consider is to get to the beach you need to cross a road... but don't let it put you off.

Room Tip: Try to avoid garden view room, worth paying that little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul1jack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. The words ‘spotless, peace and quiet’ is a brilliant description of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the nearby future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,414 reviews
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $123 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing