We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

LOCATION
Why isn't that "ugly paved massive truck traffic road" right in between hotel's garden and beach stated online? Because: 1) it's not glamour and Sofitel knows that 2) customers paying up to 200USD / nigh want direct (and quiet) access on the beach , not having to pass by an "ugly paved massive traffic road" boarder. Apart from that: facility is isolated , you won't get nowhere by foot. Except to those great restaurants 15 min walking on the left-side of the road. Beach is boring because narrow , noisy (cf. road) and access to sea gets complicated by rocks on the sand. We didn't see many folks down there.

F&B
Breakfast is fantastic , and the bar serves good cocktails. We didn't to try lunch or dinner because we found it extremely pricey (without taxes, imagine). Over 10USD for a pad thai, you must be kidding. I can get one 100m away from the hotel for 2USD. And guess what, sea view while eating it.

ROOM
What is that 20's century horrible TV doing in the room? The one my dad purchased in early 90's looked even better than this one. And why is Sofitel management so stingy with shower gels? One super little bottle for two persons every morning? That's so cheap.

SERVICE
That's the missing part. Spotty and globally unefficient. Very smiling and sweet , but in a star-rated hotel, thats just not enough. Rarely someone around at the pool to get you a towel. No free wifi, wanted to charge us 10USD extra just to call us a taxi to the airport. No shuttle service to the airport either. Aren't we supposed to be guests?

BRIEFLY
At over 200USD per night , we expected a fantastic experience , like we did enjoy in other resorts. We ended up in a nice hotel with what we found low consideration for its guests. Constently feeling like a wallet , and not a proper customer ends up being boring, if not offending. We could't appreciate the beach as we expected (and we promised) to , and even if the beautiful garden and pool were really enjoyable , our experience and time there is unfortunately very forgettable. And that's where all the problem is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elkemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. Rest assured that it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which allows us to achieve and improve our best quality service at all times.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the traffic in front of our hotel. You will surely understand that it is not of our control however it is important that we understand your frustration and would like to reiterate our sincere apologies. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

In regard to your legitimate observation about bathroom amenities and TV, note that we are currently on process of reviewing those facilities, which should be completed in the near future.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards in quality and service by, not only meeting but also exceeding their expectations; therefore your feedback is once again very important to us.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful with great facilities, however, from the very beginning we found the service to be less than satisfactory and often found that we were not understood in English.

The rooms were fine but the beds extremely uncomfortable.

Kids club was good with plenty to occupy the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HickoryChick15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel
Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We realized that foreign language skills was indeed a difficulty in Krabi area. We have
recruited an English national English teacher, and we trust it will help our team to be
progressively more confident and efficient in their communication with our guests.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We returned home a week ago after a great 10 days at this resort.. Rooms very big, spotlessly clean, fresh linen ever day. Staff very helpful & friendly couldn't do enough for you. Fantastic pool and plenty of sunbeds... Breakfast amazing, plenty of choice... Eating dinner in the hotel very nice but quite expensive compared to the lovely little restaurants just a few minuets walk to the village, Beach quite rocky.. Can recommend a trip on the hotel speed boat to Hong Island a fantastic trip and so worth the money.., Must take a trip into Ao Nang for some shopping and eating.. The taxi's by the beach are great for taking you there.. Had a good massage just next door to the hotel at a fraction of the cost..!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent a week here in early February. The hotel property is large and the pool is enormous. The beach is ok but the pool is definitely the attraction here. It was great to be able to swim and always have a section of the pool to ourselves. It really is that big. It was also great to be able to find loungers in the shade at any time of day.

The lobby is impressive and the rooms very comfortable. The beds were good and I enjoyed the large bathtub and separate shower. We had a room on the ground floor with a small outdoor sitting area overlloking the pool. It was pleasant to sit outside at the end of the day.

The hotel is in an isolated area. We walked up the road to a small restaurant for lunch a couple of days but the road is narrow and can be busy. We had foot massages at the massage place next door and they did a good job. There is also a tiny mini mart at the same location. Otherwise, we stayed at the resort. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a great selection of items and a pleasant outdoor seating area. The food at the restaurants was expensive but it was worth it. The Indian was delicious but our favourite was the Italian. They even found gluten free bread for me. The evening buffet was ok but the other restaurants were great. The pool bar was ok but quite hot in the afternoon. A few fans would be helpful.

We took the trip to Hong Island which was ok but the beach is quite small and very busy. I'm not sure if it was worth it. I think I might just stay by the pool. We enjoyed coffee in the coffee shop in the afternoons and the food there is excellent. The hotel arranged transport formus to the Phiket airport and was an easy transfer.

Overall we had a great week and I would reccomend it to anyone looking for a few days away from it all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NepeanCanteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This does everything a resort of this standard (and price) should. I have very little to add to the positive comments below. In response to the negative: the hotel employs someone to stop traffic so beach access is safe and easy, and is bound by strict national park guidelines to not develop on the beach; there is a shuttle bus a couple of times a day in and out of ao nang to relieve cabin fever; and there are a few very good cheaper options for eating a short walk from the hotel. The 'exclusive' trip to Hong Island refers only to the speed boat! Hong Island itself was rammed with tour groups. Not the best snorkelling and quite challenging kayaking, but the amazing hotel picnic just about justified the cost.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Missdeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in January and we've really enjoyed it.
Room was spacious with a pool and sea view.
Hotel is located in a quiet location with beach just across the not too busy road, but with local shops and restaurants within a walking distance.
Lot's of difrient activities every day and great trips - which you could book outside of a hotel to save some money.
All the staff and management always found a time to greet you and had a little chat.
Big THANK YOU for the great stay and especially an excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed 5d4nt during Chinese New Year. (FYI, we go to Phuket few times a year, we know what to expect from a 5 star hotel.)
Good things first -
The Hotel was very very very clean!
Food was great. Better than anywhere we went in nearby town and night market. Not only Breakfast Buffet (Fresh baguette regularly!) and lunch at Maya, but the Pool side restaurant/bar and Thai restaurant (less herb and spicy compared to authentic Thai food) exceeded our expectation. The food will not disappoint you. Except from the Chinese New Year Buffet, it was the most horrifying Chinese buffet I have ever had..... But I guess they tried their best.

Now, here's the bad things, which sort of ruined our mood:
Poor Front Desk:
When we got our bill on the last night, SPA forgot to deduct 15% for my wife, so we called the CS. They said "Oh, SPA forgot to deduct it, it happens all the time. However, SPA is closed now, please call them tomorrow, they will fix it right away."
"but we are leaving tmr, it may take a while for them to fix it?" My wife asked
"yes, they may. Call them first thing when you get up." we were speechless....
I was expecting the front desk to fix it for us before checking out. Am I expecting too much?

Poor training for the waiters and waitresses - definitely not a 5 star service!:
Hotel restaurants really need to improve this. It seems like they don't know what they have to do on their job. If you need anything, you got to ask. Even as simple as a menu as you sit down. Like at White Lotus (Thai restaurant, waited 5-10 mins then asked) and Pool side (waited 5 mins then asked). You have to wave for them to come and then you tell them what you exactly want.
They will try to fulfill your request with a big smile from their heart. But don't expect they take the initiative to serve you. They are either too busy or not trained.
And most waiter/waitress have no idea what coffee cream is at breakfast, they even brought me Whipped cream for my coffee upon request. (I appreciated they tried to fullfil my request!). One waitress insist the sweetener was cream powder....
At the Pub, we asked for a wet towel for my baby (it was the only place open late night when we arrived). They asked me to go get it from Front Desk instead of serving it to me.

Food runs out in breakfast buffet
Mangosteens will run out every morning around 9:30am. We asked them for but they said they ran out. Two consecutive days.


Poor island trip.
Snorkel gears/beach stuff were provided by hotel. But we had to carry them to the boat by ourselves, then carry back to hotel after the trip. Did I mention it was a long walk because they didn't park the boat near the hotel on return? (I guess maybe low tide.)
While on the island, I couldn't find our own tour guide who told us he will stay in the dining area.

Rooms
Water pressure sux. Shower head is falling apart, . 2 nt out of 4 night no hot water after 11pm.... Only lukewarm water...

Nevertheless, there is a girl I especially want to praise. Her name is Lanix. Well trained, presentable, great social skill. Good manner, gave you peace of mind that she is there to help when you need her. (However, she usually works in the office.)

We had some great experience with other Accor Hotel but Sofitel Krabi, it is not one of them.

Room Tip: Thin wall. A/C is bearly cool enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and in that regard allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We, at Sofitel, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore your feedback is invaluable to us. Please rest assured that we have taken good notes of your comments and are looking into appropriate measures to address the problem in the future.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,414 reviews
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $123 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing