We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply marvelous! I could not ask for more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply marvelous! I could not ask for more.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Not sure why I read about bad reviews on them, but for me, there's not much fault I can pick on other than its location!
Having said so, what's the point of staying in a resort located in a busy area where your main purpose is for relaxation?

They have the most friendly and accommodating staffs, always trying their best to meet my request. Room is clean and well kept. Morn breakfast spread is excellent with a wide variety of food. Best swimming pool you can find in Krabi! Full of activities that is well planned throughout the day, 7 days a week. Transport to other places within can be arrange but a bit pricey. Hong island tour is a must try! Do note that there is nothing much you can find outside the resort other than a cozy Thai Restaurant, Simanta Thai which is highly recommended.

On the picky side, shower in the bathroom has inconsistent hot water supply. Though staffs are friendly and attentive to needs, you need to speak to them slowly with simple concise words and they will have no difficulty understanding most of the time.

Overall, it's a wonderful and memorable stay which I would love to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lootster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    653
    252
    67
    46
See reviews for
818
993
86
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A beautiful property kept in good condition throughout. Large grounds and pool area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Large clean rooms. A lot of attentive staff wich I like.

The negative part is that it is away from everything else. The street outside the hotel is dangerous to walk on, since there are no pavements, at least if you have kids and in the dark.
The prices are expensive, even for water, and is a bit annoying when you allready feel a bit stuck.

Its a very relaxing place and the service is very good, but you its resortlife.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment on the location of the resort. We are approximately 15 minutes from Ao Nang which is the popular place for tourists as you mentioned. In order to reach the place, note that we run shuttles to Ao Nang. We would like to assure you that most of our guest enjoys the tranquility of the resort, though it all depends on the purpose of the trip and holiday.

We have also taken good note of your comments on the prices for our hotel. I am sure you will understand and appreciate the fact that we apply rates in line with other 5 star properties and also equivalent to the quality of service rendered.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi very soon.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

WIfe and I stayed in early Dec 2012. Check in was creepy. The Manager pre-apologized for his staff and asked us to be patient with them. An assistant menacingly stood behind us while the manager was pre-apologizing. Not sure what they wee going for - but it was strange.

We had dinner at the White Lotus our first evening--the food was good, not great, but a bit pricey. The waiter talked to us far too long - he was a nice guy, very personable, but we wanted some privacy. I think he was practicing English....

The restaurant employees and hotel staff are extremely nice--actually, too nice. They're all smiles all of the time, but they struggle with the simplest of requests. I think they are terrified to make any decisions on their own or make a mistake, so they fall into the "just keep smiling" routine. It seemed to us that there were too many employees in the restaurants. We felt like they were hovering over us while we ate. They were far to eager to remove plates or to fill glasses--and this was not done stealthily. It was a bit much. Our conversation shouldn't be interrupted each time they approach. Do yourself a favor and dine at the beachside restaurants a few minutes walk from the hotel. (Beware of the cargo trucks during your walk!)

Drinks at the pool were expensive, weak, and disappointing--we wouldn't mind paying the equivalent of $8-10 for a quality drink, but if your going to charge that much, the drink should be good. Also - $3 for water. We felt taken advantage of...Go to Sabai Ba Bar 5-10 minutes down the road instead: drinks were very good and half the price.

Beach: Across the street from the hotel. Not much to say really...Not that much beach/sand between ocean and road. Beware of broken glass--we saw one man carve the bottom of his foot up pretty bad. Not sure why they wouldn't have that army of hotel staff get out there and pick up some broken glass...or pick up all the trash? Crossing the street can be a bit of a pain...Lots of cargo trucks travel this road.

Gym was nice, but again you have the overly attentive, smiling staff bent on handing you a towel or asking what they can do to help.

Room was clean and nice. Maids worked quickly and didn't bother us. Shower could have used some attention.

Its a good place (nice grounds, nice rooms, nice pool) but I wouldn't return...its not worth the money they charge. If money is no object and you like to be fawned over then this is your place...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and in that regard allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We, at Sofitel, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore your feedback is invaluable to us. Please rest assured that we have taken good notes of your comments and are looking into appropriate measures to address the problem in the future.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived yesterday and we are not happy about our choice.
We should have read the reviews more thoroughly.
The pros: Clean and spacious room, nice pool and mostly friendly staff even though they don´t speak very good english, which is understandable here in Thailand.
The cons: We could just as well be in Orlando, Florida at Disney World, everything is fake in the interiors and decoration. The beach is horrible compared to other beaches we have been to in Phi Phi and Phuket. At the two other hotels we have been staying at (Cape Sienna, Phuket and Phi Phi Island Village resort and spa, Phi Phi) there has been complimentary wi-fi and bottled water at every room. Here we have to pay 1500 baht for wi-fi for one week and if you wan´t a bottled water you have to pay 160 baht for Evian bottle or to put your life in danger and walk to a mini-market which is located by a highway that has no space for pedestrians. We thought that breakfast was included when we arrived, but it was not. 635 baht per person per day which is a robbery compared to the other hotels. Great variety at the breakfast buffet but nothing special compared to the others.
Note to self and others: If you want a unique experience and the feel of Thailand go somewhere else and do not choose a European/American chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arni677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. Rest assured that it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which allows us to achieve and improve our best quality service at all times.

We sincerely regret to hear about your disappointment regarding our beach. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

In regard to your legitimate observation about our internet facilities, note that we are currently on process of reviewing the service offered, which should be completed in the near future. We also provide the complimentary water for our guest which is placed in the bathroom and the Evian water is part of our mini bar amenities.

We have also taken good note of your comments on the prices for our breakfast. I am sure you will understand and appreciate the fact that we apply rates in line with other 5 star properties and also equivalent to the quality of service rendered.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards in quality and service by, not only meeting but also exceeding their expectations; therefore your feedback is once again very important to us.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward for opportunity to welcome you back in Krabi again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

+ Big, nice and clean room.
+ Big fan and cold aircon!! (love)
+ Awesome swimming pool, with a nice pool bar.
+ Friendly staff although they couldn't understand me most time.

- Arranged for a BMW transport but a Toyota came instead.
- Bellboy forgot my luggage(waited 20min). and ignored it even after I called the frontdesk(another 15min). had to walk (angrily) to the lobby and found my poor-being-ignored luggage sitting at the side while all the hotel staff were idling around. (angry! )
- Excursion desk forgot to give us the towels when we went for our island tour; towels were supposed to be included. Ended up having to search for convenience store to buy towels when we were supposed be exploring the island. Complained and they gave us a discount for our next activity.
- Ordered coffee for breakfast and it was forgotten. Left for tour before anyone remembered my coffee. (>_<''')
- Saw waitress wiping and sweeping off dirt from the breakfast table to the floor. (for a 5 stars hotel!!! -.- )
- Asked for a teaspoon that was missing with my coffee. Request not fulfilled.
- Asked for some 3-in-1 coffee to the room. Request forgotten. (sadness)

Summary: My experience is not what is expected of a 5 stars hotel. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and in that regard allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We, at Sofitel, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore your feedback is invaluable to us. Please rest assured that we have taken good notes of your comments and are looking into appropriate measures to address the problems to related departments in order to avoid this happening in a future.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,309 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing