We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
$311
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Vogue Krabi(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$221
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$87
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$193
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$635
$508
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Krabi(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Klong Muang Inn(Nong Thale)
$24
$10
Hotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Elements Krabi Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
$83
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,714)
Filter reviews
2,714 results
Traveler rating
1,595
717
266
75
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,595
717
266
75
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite lotusmaya restaurantpool barexplorer barhong islandluxury roomlargest swimming poolopera suitekids clubcolonial stylebusy roaditalian restaurantamazing poollow seasonfree shuttlespecial thankspool side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 2,714 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for over a week and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The rooms were nice sized, the pool huge and never crowded, and beach area beautiful (although was surprised to find out the beach wasn't right at the hotel - you have to cross the road to get there ... but Sofitel has a nice man at the road who helps you cross!). We were there during a slower season so not all of the restaurants were open, but it was nice that you could order from any of the menus from the closed restaurants. The hotel itself is far from everything, but there's a shuttle to take you to a nearby city area with shops, and the rec center sets up great trips. A short walk from the hotel will lead you to some very local restaurants that are a much cheaper option than eating at the hotel every night. Only problem with this is after dark the walk back isn't safe as the road is not well lit.

Most importantly the staff here were so friendly - at any given moment that any of my friends were at the bar, pool, restaurant, lobby, etc - someone would stop by to say hello or ask if we needed anything. When we left they all gathered to say goodbye - definitely made us feel welcome.

I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wheaties1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a fabulous time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort and you enjoyed our personalized service. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hotel, clean, big rooms. Great pool. A bit far from the action, but nice place to relax. Heavy traffic re trucks. But most 5* resorts in this area. Great breakfast. Only downfall, was the poor English spoken at the pool bar area, where communications broke down, namely happy hour time ( which only goes for half hour ). Drink orders were wrong, bills incorrect as the computer system couldn't calculate 50% disc. Bar manager said she would fix it later, but when it came to pay, still wasn't corrected. Also we were supposed to receive a 20% disc on food and drinks and that was too hard to calculate on check out. Other than that a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at Koh Poda restaurant and be assured that it is not at all representative of our service and standards. I have taken the liberty to share your comments at length with our Executive Assistant Manager for Food & Beverage and shall take necessary measures to avoid such incidents recurring in the future.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stay in the hotel 2 night , Have very nice times to relax there , We very enjoy food there so much , they have good italian food and we enjoy spend times at the pool bar , all staff very nice and friendly , we will come back to stay in the hotel for the next holiday. Thank you all staff for take care of us .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warakun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our expectations were high being a Sofitel and on arrival we were utterly disappointed by 2 key things. The fact there is a road to cross to the get to the beach....not a small lane as I thought but a road full or lorries going to the tanker port and motocycles at certain times of the day. The second was the beach. At high tide you could swim, but the beach was small by the hotel the rest of beach was dirty and smelly. At low tide you cant swim due to rocks, litter and broken glass. Being far away from anything, and coming with kids there is a limit to what you can do at the hotel or without going on trips. However the hotel itself was very good....rooms and service all excellent, with a very large pool. BUT this pool overlooks the road above, and at busy times is not peaceful at all...another constant annoyance. It took quite a bit away from the place really.

Food was very good, although we had a below Thai meal one night surprisingly. But have to say our issues were treated very seriously and the Manger himself was involved. They refunded the meal and treated us to more wine. Fair enough I felt.

The staff are faultless. very customer oriented and helpful...they were also superb on the two trips we did from the hotel.

You cant really walk anywhere from the hotel , which is what we also like to do, so that was also disappointing. felt ratehr trapped at times unless I was bothered to get a taxi somewhere.

we realised just how important a beach was, but as we came from singapore for a few days was not so big an issue. If I had flown from Europe I would have been even more disappointed and a little let down. The website for the hotel builds the whole place up....including the beach and this I find misleading.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeremy_blain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our personalized service.

I sincerely regret to hear about your disappointment regarding our beach. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

You will surely understand that unfortunately we do not have control over the road outside the hotel, however our team members stand by to make sure our guests cross the road safely.

In regard to your observation about our location, we are approximately 15 minutes from Ao Nang which is the popular place for tourists. In order to reach the place, note that we run shuttles to Ao Nang every day. We would like to assure you that most of our guest enjoys the tranquility of the resort, though it all depends on the purpose of the trip and holiday.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb,
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in this wonderful Krabi hotel in January 2012. The hotel is just like the pictures show it - big and luxurious. The pool is fabulous with plenty of deck chairs and you also have the added bonus of the beach right across the road. Given it's not the most beautiful of beaches but it certainly isn't unattractive. We enjoyed quite a few walks along the lovely foreshore (the sunsets were magnificent).

The hotel itself is lovely. The reception area is delightful and the rooms themselves are clean and large. We found the bed extremely comfortable and had no complaints whatsoever with our rooms.

Facilities were great - in addition to the enormous pool, the resort also has a gym (unfortunately only one treadmill and bike) and a small cooking school. We booked a cooking class and were lucky to have the chef all to ourselves. The food we cooked was delicious and we would definitely recommend this as a fun optional extra.

We also booked a day trip to Hong Island on the resort's own boat. It was a great day but the water at Hong Island was suprisingly dirty. We had wanted to snorkel but after 5 minutes in the water got out due to the large amount of rubbish and cloudy water (to be fair - they had had rain for the week preceeding our arrival).

The restaurants at this hotel were also lovely. The traditional Thai restaurant was our favourite, although service was extremely slow and they kept mixing up our order with that of the nearby table (not great when you had allergies on both tables!). The food was magnificent though and if they could get the service right, this would be a highlight of the resort.

Breakfast was excellent - standard large variety expected from a chain like the Sofitel.

Hotel is located about 20 minutes from Krabi Town. We liked the peacefulness and relaxing feel to the hotel. We ventured into Krabi Town once and that was enough for us!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers, especially those with children. The hotel is adjacent to an elephant refuge and the gorgeous baby elephant that they bought into the hotel grounds every few days was just divine and attracted adults and children alike whilst it played and snacked on palm leaves!

Thank you Sofitel Phokeethra - we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews