We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Priceline
$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Agoda.com$174
ZenHotels.com$176
Travelocity$174
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,592)
Filter reviews
3,594 results
Traveler rating
2,315
828
293
88
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,315
828
293
88
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white lotus maya restaurant explorer bar pool bar biggest swimming pool luxury room hong island kids club indian restaurant great pool cooking class low season welcome drink phi phi island tour shuttle service the club lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,202 - 2,207 of 3,594 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our expectations were high being a Sofitel and on arrival we were utterly disappointed by 2 key things. The fact there is a road to cross to the get to the beach....not a small lane as I thought but a road full or lorries going to the tanker port and motocycles at certain times of the day. The second was the beach. At high tide you could swim, but the beach was small by the hotel the rest of beach was dirty and smelly. At low tide you cant swim due to rocks, litter and broken glass. Being far away from anything, and coming with kids there is a limit to what you can do at the hotel or without going on trips. However the hotel itself was very good....rooms and service all excellent, with a very large pool. BUT this pool overlooks the road above, and at busy times is not peaceful at all...another constant annoyance. It took quite a bit away from the place really.

Food was very good, although we had a below Thai meal one night surprisingly. But have to say our issues were treated very seriously and the Manger himself was involved. They refunded the meal and treated us to more wine. Fair enough I felt.

The staff are faultless. very customer oriented and helpful...they were also superb on the two trips we did from the hotel.

You cant really walk anywhere from the hotel , which is what we also like to do, so that was also disappointing. felt ratehr trapped at times unless I was bothered to get a taxi somewhere.

we realised just how important a beach was, but as we came from singapore for a few days was not so big an issue. If I had flown from Europe I would have been even more disappointed and a little let down. The website for the hotel builds the whole place up....including the beach and this I find misleading.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeremy_blain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our personalized service.

I sincerely regret to hear about your disappointment regarding our beach. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

You will surely understand that unfortunately we do not have control over the road outside the hotel, however our team members stand by to make sure our guests cross the road safely.

In regard to your observation about our location, we are approximately 15 minutes from Ao Nang which is the popular place for tourists. In order to reach the place, note that we run shuttles to Ao Nang every day. We would like to assure you that most of our guest enjoys the tranquility of the resort, though it all depends on the purpose of the trip and holiday.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb,
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in this wonderful Krabi hotel in January 2012. The hotel is just like the pictures show it - big and luxurious. The pool is fabulous with plenty of deck chairs and you also have the added bonus of the beach right across the road. Given it's not the most beautiful of beaches but it certainly isn't unattractive. We enjoyed quite a few walks along the lovely foreshore (the sunsets were magnificent).

The hotel itself is lovely. The reception area is delightful and the rooms themselves are clean and large. We found the bed extremely comfortable and had no complaints whatsoever with our rooms.

Facilities were great - in addition to the enormous pool, the resort also has a gym (unfortunately only one treadmill and bike) and a small cooking school. We booked a cooking class and were lucky to have the chef all to ourselves. The food we cooked was delicious and we would definitely recommend this as a fun optional extra.

We also booked a day trip to Hong Island on the resort's own boat. It was a great day but the water at Hong Island was suprisingly dirty. We had wanted to snorkel but after 5 minutes in the water got out due to the large amount of rubbish and cloudy water (to be fair - they had had rain for the week preceeding our arrival).

The restaurants at this hotel were also lovely. The traditional Thai restaurant was our favourite, although service was extremely slow and they kept mixing up our order with that of the nearby table (not great when you had allergies on both tables!). The food was magnificent though and if they could get the service right, this would be a highlight of the resort.

Breakfast was excellent - standard large variety expected from a chain like the Sofitel.

Hotel is located about 20 minutes from Krabi Town. We liked the peacefulness and relaxing feel to the hotel. We ventured into Krabi Town once and that was enough for us!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers, especially those with children. The hotel is adjacent to an elephant refuge and the gorgeous baby elephant that they bought into the hotel grounds every few days was just divine and attracted adults and children alike whilst it played and snacked on palm leaves!

Thank you Sofitel Phokeethra - we will be back!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for four days in July at the peak of the rainy season. We wanted somewhere to relax and swim for a few days and because we knew it was the wet season we chose this Hotel. The pool is magnificent and the Hotel was very quiet. On the down side the restaurant choice was limited in the evening and perhaps somewhat understaffed but on the other hand the staff there were extremely helpful, obliging and professional, they made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and dry! We were not able to do any trips as the sea was choppy but 4 days relaxing and dipping in and out of the pool when it was dry felt like a week.

Room tip: Ask for a quiet room, some rooms are beside the mosque and 5am call to prayers is not everyones idea of peace and quiet.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort and you enjoyed our personalized service. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Exceed my expectation, all staff at Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf & Spa Resorti show us excellent service mind. Quality of food service is also excellent. Check in is really fast even I arrived late evening. The quality of club service is excellent.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pranut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just stayed 9 nights at the Sofitel and it was a fantastic hotel if you're looking for a relaxing place to unwind and recharge. I have used Trip Advisor for a number of years to research hotels but have never felt compelled to write a review until now.
I have summarized our thoughts on a few of the pros and cons of the hotel below.

Pros
- Staff: Very friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay perfect. They make you feel like THE VIP guest the entire time you're at the resort, from the moment you arrive (they give you a cold juice and towel to refresh yourself) to moment you leave (lots of staff line up to wave goodbye) - everyone is exceptionally friendly asking you how your day is going and what you have planned for the rest of the week - I would have thought the manager put them up to this on a daily basis, but the staff were truly genuine
- Food: Our room came with a complementary breakfast buffet which was incredible. The fruit juices (pineapple, papaya, orange and watermelon) were freshly squeezed and the food (omelet station, thai pho station, fresh fruit, typical American breakfast (eggs, bacon, etc), french pastries, homemade jams, etc.) was great. The only negative about the breakfast was that the plain brewed coffee wasn't very good like you would expect from a Sofitel (just ask for an espresso - their barista is fine).
- Pool: The pool was very large (they said the largest in the south of Thailand) with an excellent pool-side bar and pool-side seating area for lunch. They also have a separate section for children which is nice for them and the rest of the guests too! I'm always picky about the loungers at resorts, but these ones were very comfortable and here were tons of them around the pool. If you didn't want to sleep the day away on a lounger, they had hammocks you could use as well.
- Location: There are a bunch of small stores right next to the Sofitel (within a 5-10 minute walk) where you can get laundry done cheaply (40 bhat/kg), water, beer, snacks and book tours. There are also a few restaurants where you could have dinner for approximately half of the cost of the hotel if you wanted to be adventurous. The only downside is the resort is on Klong Muang beach (considered to be the area with the more luxurious resorts) which is about a 400 bhat taxi to Ao Nong or 600 bhat taxi to Krabi Town where most of the shopping and nightlife is if that's what you're looking for (just be advised most of the shopping and night life in town is geared towards backpackers).
- Beach: Klong Muang beach is situated on a national park and you can see some limestone mountains off in the distance which are beautiful. The next major resort is roughly a mile down the beach so you feel like you have your own private beach and the lounge chairs have memory foam pads on them so they're extremely comfortable. The only negatives about the beach are that you have to cross a small two lane road to get the beach (it wasn't busy at all when we were there) and because the beach is part of a national park, they don't have many beach chairs and they don't serve drinks. If you do want to go swimming here, make sure you bring sandles you can wear in the water - while the beach is extremely sandy, when you head into the water it's quite rocky.


Cons
- Internet: They don't have free wireless internet in your rooms and it's around Bhat 230/day if you want to use it. Alternatively you can use two computers they have setup in their business center (open 24 hrs day) which are very fast! Sometimes you have to wait a while for the computers to free-up and we were here during off season so I would imagine you would have to wait a long time if you're visiting during high season.
- Golf: I didn't come here to golf, but if you're an avid golfer you probably wouldn't want to play the course adjacent to the hotel. It's only 9 holes and it's not in the best shape.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trent_and_Newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments regarding internet and golf course.
We are currently on process of reviewing our service offer, which should be completed in the near future.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb,
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews