We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall OK, but really nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall OK, but really nothing special”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel is beautiful but just like any 5stars
Pool is big but water is so warm that it's not refreshing at all to swim. Please note there is no beach at Sofitel ie. you need to take either a boat to Hong/PhiPhi islands (crowded beaches) or take a TukTuk (200Bht one way) to nearest beautiful beach Tup Kaek (where you have a few boutique hotels 4/5stars)
Overall service is OK but again nothing special (I remember some Ananthara experience with lots of special attentions, from letters & gifts everyday in your room up to frozen towels brought to you at the pool for refreshing ... nothing like this at Sofitel !!)
Breakfast is very good and lunch at the pool is OK although staff is serving 1 guest after the other !!???!!! we were 4 persons and we had typically 2 people having finished their meal before the other 2 had not been served yet !! very very very annoying ...
All in all I would potentially go back to Krabi/Ao Nang, but I won't go back to Sofitel although there was nothing really wrong. Just OK-ish,but not an experience...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaFrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and in that regard allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We, at Sofitel, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore your feedback is invaluable to us. Please be assured that we have taken good notes of your comments and are constantly looking into appropriate measures to increase the value of our guest experience.

We appreciate your time in sharing and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and convince you with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    647
    250
    66
    47
See reviews for
803
979
85
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

NIce:
The big big big pool
The excellent dinner and breakfast (good in taste not in ambiance: too crowded...)
We have been upgarded
Thai restaurant very good and rapid and very patient with my naughty boys

Not nice:
No beach, well there is one but horrid and kids could not even bathe since full of stones. Pity, especially since just nearby are stunning beaches.
Zero service: when asked for a towel or a glass of something, I have been told to go and help myself.
Shampoo, cream from l'Occitane one year passed from date of use!! smelly and disgusting. Told the housekeeping twice but nobody cared and the only product they changed was to put a similar one, but... older!!!
Breakfast far too crowded, like a Club Med. But hey, we are in a Sofitel, not supposed to feel like a mass market hotel (not at that price...).
Kid's club okay, not crazy, but okay. Nice ladies, not engaging kid very much.
Far to little water in the rooms. Honnestly, what is the cost of adding 2 extra bottle?
Far from everything
Italian restaurant: waiting forever
Rooms: just ok, no paintings on the wall, feeling empty and bathrooms old and shower with no pressure...



Conclusion: very disappointing.

Room Tip: Will not go again, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and in that regard allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We, at Sofitel, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore your feedback is invaluable to us. Please rest assured that we have taken good notes of your comments and are looking into appropriate measures to address the problem in the future.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellent Service!
Very friendly, helpfull staff!
Enjoyed the luxury and mondain breakfast,
Beautiful large swimming-pool!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better known for.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and of course our team will be pleased to serve you with an excellent service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Reasons why to Stay:
1. Golf Course
2. Biggest Pool Hotel in Krabi
3. Day Activities
4. Piña Colada :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that the mentioned reasons from the long list of magnifique experience at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort did match to create your great holidays with us.

Our Sofitel-Team, strive to provide the highest standard of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The service we experienced was really good. The staff of the reception brought us to the room and told us everything we need to know about the hotel when on the way to the room. We find the staff of the restaurants White Lotus and Venezia are also very friendly and professional. We had a good service in the restaurants and we loved the food. At Venezia we recommend the pizzas, in White Lotus they serve now Indian food, that was very delicious! There is one young man serving there who does a great job by the way.

We liked the room very much, because we felt very much at home. Enought space, large bathroom with seperate bath, interior of the room is nice and the beds are the best. We had a very good sleep and that was exactly what we needed.

The location of the hotel is ok, it is in Klong muang 20 minutes from Oa Nang. This village is not so touristic like Oa Nang and very qiuet. There are some restaurants there we tried. But we find them not so clean and the food was not super. You can go with the tuktuk for 100 bath per person or you can go to Oa Nang for 400 bath total. There are many restaurants but all the same Italian Thai Indian mixed. We find Oa Nang looks a bit like Phuket. We liked the qiuetness around the hotel.

We were in the spa for a massage, Thai and relax massage. This was really good and relaxing and we can recommend this to everybody.

What we liked best, the friendlyness of the staff, the pizzas, indian food, massage, and the speedboat tour. What we liked least was the beach, but we went to very nice beaches with the speedboat of the hotel.

We normally check the german sites for reviews but now tripadvisor we will check more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your wonderful stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I booked this hotel on accorhotels.com as it seemed to me has the best price/quality in the region.

The hotel style is colonial with an open air lobby and magnificent grounds which are well maintained.

Upon arrival our baggage was dealt with the by porters and we were told to sit and wait in the seats available whilst we would be checked in. I booked a classic room and was upgraded to a superior room due to my status at A Club.

A front desk staff member accompanied us to our room and explained all the features available.

I have to say that I was happy to have this upgrade to the "superior" room. I was shocked to see how many years the interior and features in the rooms are behind.

The rooms (all of them) still have old CRT TV's come on Sofitel this is 2012!! The bathroom fittings our outdated and I could even pull some of the fittings out of the wall???

Anyway I wasn't letting this ruin my vacation and we soon headed for the pool. We returned soon afterwards due to a rain shower that lasted the whole afternoon. We explored the other features the hotel has such as the gym.

The gym is small with only 1 treadmill available and some free weights, I didn't even bother to get started. They also have a ping pong table.

We were heading to bed early as we were tired only to be waken up by the other room doors slamming shut!

This is the part that ruined my complete stay. The doors in this hotel SLAM SHUT during the last 10 centimetres of closing. And when I say SLAM I do really mean SLAM.

So LOUD that you could hear doors closing 4-5 rooms further down.

We complained during the middle of the night about this to address the situation and we were promptly assisted by the duty manager. We also heard loud footsteps and moving furnitures in the room above us. The DM said there was no one above us. She left and of course the sound was back 5 minutes later.

She came back and stayed in our room to hear the noise for herself. She said however there was housekeeping staff busy cleaning rooms upstairs and she would tell them to pay more attention to the noise..

Concerning the noise of the doors there was nothing much they could do.

Who let's housekeeping clean rooms at 2 am in the morning?? We we're offered to change rooms we declined as I did not want to pack my suitcase again.

The second night, BAM!, the same noise (moving furniture and doors slamming shut). We called again and were told nobody was staying in the vicinity of our room. We went to have a look ourselves and found indeed people occupying rooms near us. Bah.

The next day we accepted the offer to change rooms hoping for improvement.

They told us and confirmed us that there would be nobody next us. When we arrived we were immediately confronted by the fact we did have someone staying next to us and on top of this there were arguing ALL THE BLOODY TIME.

Opening and letting the door slam shut constantly during the evening and late night! We did not have a single good night sleep. We were so frustrated to realise this whole hotel is boomed with this doors.

We also could not believe no one has complained before about this.

I wrote a letter in depth concerning all the problems we've had on checkout and also filled in the online survey they send you.

So far the only thing I got was from Robin Deb:

Dear Mr. ........:

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. Rest assured that it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which allows us to achieve and improve our best quality service at all times.

We took good note of your observation regarding the door therefore I have taken the liberty to share your comments at length with our Executive Housekeeper and Engineering Manager, so that we shall take necessary measures in the future. Your comments in writing have been well received and please rest assured that at Sofitel, we strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards in quality and service by, not only meeting but also exceeding their expectations.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort


I hope they will actually solve this situation but with this answer I am completely nothing.
I was not compensated one bit (really nothing...)

The pool is great with plenty of quality sun loungers available and staff to assist you! The employees will stop whatever they are doing to assist you or greet you, amazing.

The breakfast is a real treat with lots of options and different styles of food on display.

It is a shame about the outdated rooms and the bloody door otherwise I would've definitely recommended this hotel.

The inhouse restaurants are expensive, outside the hotel on your right facing the sea you will have a small place which served good food (20 metres) when you are on street.

To the left 4-5 good places within 5-10 minutes walking, don't let this hold you back PLENTY of choices available to eat and GOOD!

There is also a shop on the left hand side on your way to the restaurants where you can buy a variety of chips coke whatever.

We also took the private boat to island hop 8 islands on the hotels speedboat rated at 125 per person with a limit of six, we were four and did not regret!! Other touroperators put you on a boat with a 50 people capacity.

Contrary to what everyone says there is no complimentary shuttle to hong island, you WILL pay for it!

There are motorcycles available for rent (outsourced to another company) for 300 bath per day, it is safe and convenient if you want to do some sightseeing.

So overall, 5 star grounds and staff, but 3 star rooms modernize them!!!!!!


Contact me if you have questions!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are delighted to read that you did enjoy our personalized service and F&B outlets. We take pride in being the best price and quality resort in Krabi.

As we already mentioned in our personal answer to you that we appreciate to receive constructive feedback, which makes possible to us always improve our best quality. You will surely understand that we have limits of influence to guest behavior and attitudes.

As mentioned in our previous correspondence we did inspect your observations regarding the doors closing system with our Executive Housekeeper and Engineering Manager and would like to share we didn’t find further records on same comments from other guest. We do promise to observe and take action on your matter if necessary in the future, as at Sofitel, we strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards in quality and service by, not only meeting but also exceeding their expectations.

The classic concept of Sofitel is extending the line of its design from the lobby to our rooms to provide magnificent atmosphere to our guests. In general our facilities do match with the demand of our clients.

Would you please be so kind to contact our Guest Relations Manager at grm@sofitelphokeethrakrabi.com with further details, we would be much obliged to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing