We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was unsure of this place. But after receiving reassurance from Andaman Adventures that this is THE place to stay, we decided to listen and book. I was in awe of this place. Towering walls and trees gives this place an other worldly feel to it. Service here is impeccable and I could not find any fault at all. Rooms are jaw dropping gorgeous. One word of warning though. This resort is far from the town. For us, we loved it this way, but for people who want to head out to town at night, it is possible. However, coming back is a bit of a task. I will put images of this place up as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 863 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just got home after spending an amazing week at Phulay Bay and wish we were still there. After looking at multiple hotel options for our honeymoon we were recommended the Phulay Bay and boy do we think we chose well.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and were extremely well looked after by all the (many) staff - particularly our butler Kun Steve (thanks Steve!).

Our room was bigger than our house in London (we were fortunate enough to score an upgrade) and we had our own infinity pool looking out onto the bay. We felt like royalty for the whole week. Whoever the bathroom designer is for the Ritz needs a medal and we had what must be one of the largest beds in the world (no kidding).

We had one day trip scuba diving near Phi Phi and spent a morning out at the hotel's (semi) private Hong Island (which was fantastic in it's own right) - but the rest of the time we couldn't bring ourselves to leave the resort as we enjoyed it so much. Our holidays are usually action packed - either visiting tourist sites or mountain biking, hiking etc. However, we took the opportunity of our honeymoon to have a more relaxing pace.... and the poolside at Phulay Bay is just the place for it. Amazing scenery and great service.... from arranging the towels 'just so' in the poolside gazebo's to the complementary water, sunscreen and coconuts.

Okay, so there isn't a beach.... Hong Island more than makes up for it... and the pool then takes thing to a different level. If you're looking for a beachside hotel... there are plenty to choose from. Phulay has THE BEST pool I've ever seen... and you've still got the beach to look at. I'm generally a beach person... but had an absolute pleasure relaxing poolside.

We treated ourselves to a spa treatment too - and came out on cloud nine. My wife commented to the assistant manager Anuj that she loved the tea that was served... and he presented us with a bag of it on our departure. It's these small touches that really make a place stand out head and shoulders above the rest. We were also touched by the gestures during the week including daily evening treats on the bed and a lovely night where we came home to flowers, candles and a chilled bottle of wine wishing us happy honeymoon (nice touch Steve!).

People have commented here that the food is expensive... maybe. But we were only partially tempted to try elsewhere. The food is going to be more expensive than your average beach side restaurant - it's a Ritz people! We didn't find the food overly expensive - and especially not when considering what it was. We dined at each of the 3 restaurants and each meal was superb. The seafood grill was absolutely mind blowing. Maybe some people's expectations are unrealistic.... or maybe the Ritz has upped it's game. Whatever, we thought that the food was fantastic and we've dined in many high end restaurants around the globe.

I would definitely recommend making the most of the sunset bar and the Thai Mojitos - my favourite was the Lemoninga - really flavoursome and with a bit of kick to it. Each night was a spectacular sunset and we were even treated to a baby elephant on one of the evenings and complementary cocktails for the whole resort on the Thursday night.

We also enjoyed meeting the various people staying there and met some very interesting characters - a bunch of Canadian jet setters in the middle of their 22 day round the world trip, some fellow honeymooners from America and a English expat and his wife. Everyone staying at the hotel was friendly and welcoming - although it was a bit hard at times starting conversation with the Korean honeymooners in between their picture taking and due to language differences.... but they all looked as though they were enjoying their time as much as we were!

All in all - we are very glad that we decided to treat ourselves to a Ritz Honeymoon and Phulay Bay and all the staff have provided us with a magic memory for us to remember.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingfellowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to celebrate our 30 th Wedding Anniversary last week. While booking we had indicated about it and when we checked in the staff said we would have a memorable celebration. It was shocking to us that on that day nobody wished us and not even a cake was given. When we expressed our disappointment at the end of the day, they passed the buck among staff. But we were happy that next day they madeup for the goofup by decorating the room and giving us a cake. (But without a knife to cut).
Other disappointment was that inspite of our request while booking, there were no Indan vegetarian dishes for lunch or dinner. Daily we had to eat fried rice. Hence we had to go to AoNang 17 kms to eat Indian vegetarian food. Also they send you a mail for any special requests, none of the requests were attended to.

Plus points. - Rooms are huge and spacious. Service is good with having personal butler.
Breakfast has good variety. Spa is very good with excellent therapists.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Last Summer, we had the opportunity and pleasure of visiting this magnificent reserve! It was indeed one of the best hotels that we have ever stayed in!!! The warm and genuine welcome from the staff and management, make us feel at home since the first beginning...We could not believe when we arrive in our villa. The room is extremely spacious with high ceiling an enormous bed. The gardens and private pool were great to disconnect and relax!!! From the rooftop of our villa, we were able to practice Yoga and enjoy breathtaking views all day long. Overall, the resort offers excellent food and beverage options!!!!! do not miss the Thaijitos and the sun set in their beach front bar!!!
This resort brings luxury to another level. We will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went on our Honeymoon to Thailand and booked our holiday at Phulay Bay through a travel agency called Andaman Sky. We are so glad we booked through them as we ended up a getting a huge triple upgrade! Phulay Bay is a resort in a class of its own. Beautiful one piece stone walls tower over you everywhere. This resort does have a slight mix of Thai and Moroccan feel to it. The rooms here are spacious and perfect for a romantic getaway. This resort is tucked away from all the city life and right on the beach. You almost feel like you are the only people in the world. However we loved every moment there as we never wanted to leave the resort to do anything. The food is fantastic in all their restaurants and the staff are ever so helpful. An excellent resort, I give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellaisanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a really wonderful property and from the arrival pavilion onward, every area has been immaculately planned and maintained.

The villas are enormous - we stayed in a reserve villa which had what seemed like acres of indoor space, including a vast 4 metre bed, as well as an outdoor garden and bath. The interiors are very stylish, but comfortable enough to really relax in.

Service is wonderful, from the no-check in check-in - you are whisked straight to your villa on a buggy and asked only to provide a credit card to secure your deposit once you arrive at the room. None of the usual hassle with passports or booking confirmations.
The private butler allocated to your villa is very useful, especially when you are too relaxed to walk the 200m to the pool -a buggy is on hand for every possible opportunity! All of the staff we dealt with were very polite and efficient.

The grounds are well designed and maintained, from the dramatic aubergine entrance walls which has a theatrical atmosphere to the rustling gardens. There were always enough pool side gazebos or day beds to be had and the pool bar overlooking the view to Andaman infinity is a great touch.

The resort is child-friendly, probably more so for younger kids than teenagers, there were quite a few families here with well mannered children.

The food was good with plenty of variety and fresh seafood.

For almost US$600 per night, I was looking for something, anything to fault, but really couldn't find a thing. A wonderfully executed vision.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through Andaman Sky and after a shaky check in they arranged, with the very nice Ops Manager Carlos, a triple upgrade. The rooms are extremely large and luxurious and the villas breath taking. I think it would be difficult to find better rooms any where on the Andaman Coast. The rest of the hotel is very nice and the swimming pool is excellent and family friendly. A lot of people do take the 20 minute trip to Ao Nang for dinner, where there are many restaurants.

The trip to Hong Island is fun and my children loved meeting Coco, the hotel's baby elephant.

Mr Yid, our butler, was extraordinary and his thoughtfulness and kindness to my family will never be forgotten. Thanks to Carlos, Chet and Ken and all the other staff that made our stay so memorable.

I also must say how impressed I was with Simon's (at Andaman Sky) intelligent advice and depth of knowledge of all the hotels and their rooms and the region generally. When something did go wrong he sorted it out immediately. It is also extremely useful that they are based nearby since they can recommend the best restaurants and trips etc. at the best rates and that they are on the same time. Excellent - I highly recommend using Andaman Sky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seansrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
0.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,467 reviews
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
8.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,911 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Address: 111 Moo 3, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $453 - $1,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve, invites you to experience your own secluded oasis at our luxury resort in Krabi, Thailand. Beyond the limestone mountains that rise from Thailand’s Andaman Sea, the virgin rainforests, and the ethereal beaches and crystal clear waterfalls, you will find a paradise that awaits - Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve. Our luxury waterfront hotel is one of the world’s most spellbinding destinations and one of the most glorious resorts in Thailand. Stay with us and embark on a voyage of discovery, at our retreat in Krabi, where the natural splendor and charm of the island blends blissfully with an aura of luxury and serenity. Guests access our luxurious sanctuary from Krabi or Phuket Airports, and they at once experience the thrill and convenience of our exotic Phulay Bay waterfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulay Bay, a Ritz Carlton Reserve Hotel Nong Thale
Ritz Carlton Krabi
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing