We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently stayed at this magnificent resort for our wedding. I have so many compliments about Phulay Bay I'm not really sure where to begin. The rooms once you enter cause you to draw your breath, quite spectacular with every detail attended to, from the fine linen and impressive, over sized bed to the dazzling bathroom and walk in robe - it takes a few minutes to take it all in. The set up of the resort gives you a strong sense of privacy without the feeling of being entirely alone. Our butler JB was always on hand to cater to our needs and it seemed the staff just knew when we were out of the room as it was always promptly made up every morning during breakfast and we always returned in the evening to a drawn bath with petals floating and candles lit - not to mention a good night card and a chocolate gift, curtains drawn, bed turned down etc etc. Best of all was the day of our wedding - not only were our guests super impressed with this amazing place but the staff at Phulay Bay ensured the entire day went by without a hitch. Despite a little rain (which I'm sure they would have prevented if they could) we were able to experience a magical 'progressive' wedding from the ceremony at the lawn on The Pavilion, to drinks at Sunset Bar on the beach to a stunning dinner reception at Lay Lae restaurant. A huge thank you to our wedding planner Ying who oversaw and executed a fabulous day and one that quite simply could not be beaten. Overall, Manager Carlos and the staff at Phulay Bay are delivering a world class standard in a breathtaking location.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Reserve Pavilion Ocean View which offered a decent day bed to lounge and partial ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 863 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having booked at Ritz we were quite looking forward to great hotel and beach...keeping in mind that they were charging an arm & a leg for their name!!!!

I would not recommend this hotel to any one planning to pay more than $100 for this resort!!!

We had booked the sea facing villas but there was no view of the sea!!! The beach in front of our villas was very rocky and one could not enter the water!!

The swimming pool was nice and the service was not bad. Thai food was good though.

Room Tip: Take the regular rooms...they have a better view than the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Licentious69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

As an architecture student I must say, Landscape wise, this was one of the most magnificent hotels if had the pleasure to stay in. The food is excellent, the service is perfect. The only down side to our stay was, that we chose to stay at a Beachfront Villa, because we wanted to stay closer to the beach, but as it turns out, the beachfront villas, have not yet been completely renovated, so there where some problems there. But we did visit the other villas and Pavilions and I must say.. I was blown away, It's something more the luxurious, I'm pretty sure that they had their mattresses custom made, because they where just huge!!! And the view, was just Unforgettable. Do try the "ESPA" too. Loved their massage!

Room Tip: Go for the Pavilions!!! I guarantee you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauloVetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We'd like to thank Phulay Bay and our travel agent Andaman Adventures for making this our best holiday ever ! Phulay for providing the incredible environment and impeccable service, andaman adventures for getting us a great deal and the Pavillion with the widest ocean view !
We felt like we were in Wonderland the whole time we were at Phulay, highly recommend it. And we came face to face with huge ( i think 2metres+ ) lizards on our island excursion with andaman. We're coming back, no doubt about that. Just be aware that the beautiful part of the beach is a couple minutes walking along a trail.

Room Tip: our travel agent booked for the unit with the most expansive ocean view by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas_Araya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The first impression almost blows you away.When gou arrive you enter a Moroccan style courtyard with beautiful high walls and expansive pond area. On the surrounding walls are thousands of candles which reflect in the ponds. You enter into the resort through a Thai style pavillion and into a low key, but classy reception area. Rooms are huge with a huge luxurious bed and massive but classy indoor/outdoor bathroom. Wardrobe doors have beautiful artwork hand painted on them.
Management from GM downwards is extremely professional and very attentive to your needs. All staff are friendly. Villas have their own private swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerning trav... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have never reviewed a hotel while I am staying there but I am writing this one from inside my palatial reserve beach villa half sleeping on a giant bed with more than a foot thick super comfortable mattress!

You have to come here to experience its sheer luxury, right from the moment your vehicle enters its humble gates but thats where the humility ends and luxury commences. As you step out from the car and enter the hotel through a unique and lovely walk over some pebbles in a pond, you are greeted by Mr Carlos, an eversmiling and charming Manager of this lovely property. He introduces you to your personal butler and the butler takes over from there. Mine is Bell, a young, charming and smiling personality and just a call away.

Bell takes us to our room and what a room it is!! Actually to call it a luxury bunglow would not be understatement with it having its own garden, outdoor pool, pond, trees, outdoor bath tub, large bathroom, walk in wardrobe, outside sitting area etc etc etc.

Hotel does not have any reception, lobby or front desk but you dont feel its absence as Bell is ever ready with a prompt and smiling solution to each query. Buggy is also ready each time you want to venture out in this very large naturistic property with nice beach, garden and everything nature has to offer.

This property has an excellent pool with the staff there making some very good cocktails. Breakfast here has limited choices but still very fulfilling. This is an expensive property but worth every Baht!!

More on this later..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjaybansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel doesn’t have a beach where you can swim. They have a free shuttle to a nearby island. But the island is very crowded with day-trippers and the transfer is by local fishing boat. Some people may find it difficult to get on and off. There is no pier at hotel or the island.

The food was quite disappointing. Breakfast wasn’t really Ritz-Carlton standard. And also the other meals that we had were just average. We have been living in Thailand for almost ten years so we know how Thai food should taste like. You can get better Tom Yung Kong for 13 Baht at any 7-Eleven. It was very bland and not exciting at all. So next time we decided to order Western food. But also the pizzas were made pretty sloppy and were tasteless. The food is definitely not five stars.

There are no restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. You are stuck with the offering on-site.

We booked a promotion and our voucher clearly mentioned “15% discount on F&B”. They didn’t want to honor it at first. Only after complaining was the discount applied.

This property does not participate in Ritz-Carlton Rewards. You cannot earn points.

After check-out the driver dropped us at the wrong terminal at the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thaiswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
0.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,465 reviews
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
8.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,911 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Address: 111 Moo 3, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $455 - $1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve, invites you to experience your own secluded oasis at our luxury resort in Krabi, Thailand. Beyond the limestone mountains that rise from Thailand’s Andaman Sea, the virgin rainforests, and the ethereal beaches and crystal clear waterfalls, you will find a paradise that awaits - Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve. Our luxury waterfront hotel is one of the world’s most spellbinding destinations and one of the most glorious resorts in Thailand. Stay with us and embark on a voyage of discovery, at our retreat in Krabi, where the natural splendor and charm of the island blends blissfully with an aura of luxury and serenity. Guests access our luxurious sanctuary from Krabi or Phuket Airports, and they at once experience the thrill and convenience of our exotic Phulay Bay waterfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulay Bay, a Ritz Carlton Reserve Hotel Nong Thale
Ritz Carlton Krabi
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing