We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience of relaxed luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An exceptional experience of relaxed luxury”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A breathtaking romantic, private and beautiful get away. This resort offered us an experience that awakens our senses and restored our energy. It offered spectacular views, a world-class day spa and variety of dining options all within the resort.

I'll never forget our arrival, as it would best be described as an experiential step into another world of serenity, exceptional service and beauty. Attention to detail is second to none; the gardens immaculate, the layout pure genius with an absorbing array of hidden pathways, planting and waterfalls. Villa’s are huge, private with plunge pool and a luxury sunken bath. The butler and buggy service awesome.

The Ritz knows how to make a special occasion, a spectacular occasion! We witnessed a wedding like no other, set in a garden pergola with two baby elephants. See photos.

The international Chef and culinary team provided the most spectacular and luxurious dinners in each of the three restaurants, it was hard to choose. Being waited on is one thing, being personally remembered and generously attended to by each and every staff member at the Ritz Carlton Phulay Bay makes this resort’s service truly exceptional.

Thank you for wonderful and unforgettable holiday!!

Room Tip: The resort is a fascinating 1 hour drive from Phuket. Well worth the journey and the beach villas ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    99
    32
    20
    11
See reviews for
183
479
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 5nights and 6days in Phulay Bay and completely fell in love with the resort!!! The grounds were absolutely stunning, the rooms were beautifully decorated and well maintained. The staff was very attentive and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. Since the resort is very secluded we had most of our meals on the resort and must say that both the Thai and International food was delicious!! The hotel offers a complimentary boat shuttle to Hong Island, this is a MUST do if you are in Krabi!! Hong Island was paradise!! In hindsight, we wished we had booked a longer stay in Phulay Bay!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastogne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After some beautiful days in Singapore together with my wife we have decided to finish our trip in a luxurios resort in Thailand. Our friends suggested Krabi, as it is a beautiful destination far from the busy Phuket. We landed in Phuket and arranged with the hotel a speed boat transfer. The transfer by boat has been amazing immediately we felt in holiday. The Resort is stunning. We had a Reserve Pool Villa, the most beautiful villa we have ever seen! With huge bed, beautiful details, a private swimming pool and another garden where we could spend relaxing moments. We enjoyed to have our breakfast in the villa, our butler Yid was always very attentive and helped us a lot. The hotel is not far away from Ao Nang where we spent an evening doing shopping (20 minutes by taxi). If you want to relax the best is to chill out on the beach or in the big cabanas around the swimming pool, the staff is always there at your disposal. We did the excursion by boat (free of charge) to Hong Island in the natural park. Really nice! The resort is breathtaking and the surrounding are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have spent part of our honeymoon at Phulay Bay by Ritz Carlton, and we can say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in all our lives. Staff service is excellent, showing his sympathy and professionalism at every moment -all the waiters, butlers, all the staff in general and also the management, which had a close, friendly and exemplary behaviour with us at all times.

Additionally, the food is exquisite (both Thai and international -the seafood risotto is a must-), the environment is excellent, and they offer the best facilities to spend the day at Hong Island and its wonderful beaches. In addition, they propose a variety of activities (SPA, cocktail tasting, training activities, etc..) that make every moment at Phulay Bay unique.

Rooms are simply palace-like. The largest and most comfortable bed ever seen (4 meters wide), a truly stunning bathroom, terrace with stunning sea views ...

We could list many qualities, but just to finish I would like to thank all those who are part of Phulay Bay for having made us feel in paradise during our stay. We certainly hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cptorrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In a nutshell, I agree with the 1 and 2 star reviews for similar reasons as others have said on TripAdvisor.

We paid nearly $700/night for a fairly dirty and unmaintained beachfront villa resort room by Ritz Carlton advertised as built in "2008". The villa is neither beachfront nor built in 2008. The hotel is not really a Ritz- was built by someone else in 2003-2004 and taken over by Ritz in 2008 because it was somewhat floundering before. There is peeling paint, unpainted boards, broken cabinet doors, stained upholstery, and lots of minor maintenance issues. The regular rooms and Beachfront villas are not really a Ritz by typical American standards.

To add more insult to injury, it was not worth paying the extra $200 a night for a "beachfront" villa since we were right next to the lower price rooms and with a similar obstructed ocean view- no sand, no beach.

Besides the false advertising of the room type, we found hairs on the chairs, stains on the furniture, dried white stuff splattered on a few mirrors, and about 8 -10 suspicious black, dark brown material (use your imagination) around the bed covers. There were a couple dozen bugs in our room on entry.

The dining staff speaks limited English at times. Ordering may be more difficult. The English speaking staff may seem argumentative and not really want to take your food order.

If you end up stuck staying here under no fault of your own,
you may want to
- stay in the lowest category room possible so you don't waste more money
- assume your room has not been properly cleaned or sanitized and proceed accordingly
-use bug spray all over
-check out as soon as possible and go to any Four Seasons to recapture your lost vacation time

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luxurylink654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In summary, we regret coming here and wish we had looked on tripadvisor before booking. Bugs in our room, dirty room, toilet seat with 2 black stains, resort hard to get around, terrible design functionally although looks nice in photos. Bed canopy cover with 10 or more dead bugs and an equal number of dark brown, black stains to boot. We did not feel comfortable in the room and housekeeping seems to be deficient at best.

This is apparently not a "ritz" but a "ritz reserve"...not sure what that means however quality is very much lacking.

The pros...nice welcome reception, welcome drink, and a butler to walk you not the room. A quite lovely welcome...only to be deeply disappointed in the cleanliness of our room. I agree that at $700 a night, this is a ginormous disappointment.

We just came from Hong Kong Four Seasons... This Ritz Carlton deeply pales in comparison.

Would never come back to this resort.

Room Tip: Avoid beach villa number 9.... Not worth the premium pay..not a beach view or beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunn765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A very special hotel. The entrance is awesome! Made us take a step back to reassess before taking one forward. Difficult to describe, must be experienced. Stunning architecture (seems like a blend of Moroccan and Thai) set in beautiful surroundings. The sunset views are the best we have ever seen and one never to forget. We stayed 4 nights and made sure we were on the beachhead for the cocktails every day between 17:30 and 18:30. The swimming pool is awesome. Good lounge beds available, set up around a very large pool that, once inside, really gives you the impression you are actually in the tranquil waters of the Andaman Sea. The villas are amazing. Very spacious, high ceilings. The bathrooms are enormous. You can get lost in these…Amenities are all there, including a nespresso machine. The butler service is attentive and on top of things, yet sufficiently discrete. Set up well. New management, seem a promising team to make it even better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
0.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,369 reviews
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Property: Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Address: 111 Moo 3, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve, invites you to experience your own secluded oasis at our luxury resort in Krabi, Thailand. Beyond the limestone mountains that rise from Thailand’s Andaman Sea, the virgin rainforests, and the ethereal beaches and crystal clear waterfalls, you will find a paradise that awaits - Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve. Our luxury waterfront hotel is one of the world’s most spellbinding destinations and one of the most glorious resorts in Thailand. Stay with us and embark on a voyage of discovery, at our retreat in Krabi, where the natural splendor and charm of the island blends blissfully with an aura of luxury and serenity. Guests access our luxurious sanctuary from Krabi or Phuket Airports, and they at once experience the thrill and convenience of our exotic Phulay Bay waterfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulay Bay, a Ritz Carlton Reserve Hotel Nong Thale
Ritz Carlton Krabi
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing