We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious and relaxing oasis in the outskirts of Krabi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A luxurious and relaxing oasis in the outskirts of Krabi”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wow, what a brilliant crazy ride our family had at the Frog and Catfish over the recent Songkran Festival. Our family including two boys aged 8 and 12, will be forever indebted to the affable Gary and his gorgeous wife Bua, the wonderful Att, and the whole team who embraced our family as part of their own and treated us to one of the most memorable experiences of our entire three weeks in Thailand.

This gorgeous property is set amongst sprawling tropical gardens and fishponds and while famous for its restaurant (#1 in Krabi), we came to get away from the touristy vibe of Krabi, Phuket and Ao Nang. What we got was a luxuriously appointed suite beautifully decorated in traditional Thai style that was perfect for our family of four with an incredibly comfortable king bed and two couches converted to single beds.

The property is set among the rubber plantations in outskirts of Krabi. It is only a short 15 minute drive into town however we only ventured in once as Gary arranged several trips, including kayaking among the mangroves and a fantastic day sailing among the spectacular hongs and visiting secluded beaches.

Yet for our two boys, these wonderful sights of Krabi were overshadowed by the excitement of Songkran and an invitation from Gary and Bua to join their family festivities – a testament to their warm genuine hospitality. Our boys will never forget driving down the streets with Bua getting absolutely drenched, throwing buckets of water off the back of a pick-up truck, getting into serious water pistol fights with the other trucks and having their faces smeared with coloured talc paint. Due to their protests not to leave, we ended up extending our stay and enjoying another special day with the Frog and Catfish team even though their hotel and restaurant were officially closed.

Gary, Bua, Att, and team, THANK YOU for taking us in like family and letting us join you in your holiday festivities. Also for the great conversations, awesome food, endless supply of beer, etc - we will be back!

“The Catfish Family”
(aka Paul, Kim, Max & Harry)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvmcviney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I returned for some Christmas R&R with my mum and sister, it was my sister’s first time in Thailand and was the best start we could have asked for! Owners Bua and Gary made us feel so welcome and their staff ensured our stay was comfortable. We were looked after 24/7. A private boat trip was arranged with a local and they sent us on our way with packed lunches and plenty of cool drinks. This is my 5th stay at the Frog and Catfish and I will continue staying here each time I visit the area, I can totally unwind here and truly begin my holiday. The new bungalows are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable! The pool is the best place to enjoy a drink and meet other guests - was also my fitness centre workout! Happy holidays.

Room Tip: No need to give out any tips - all rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My girlfriend recently stayed here for a few days after a hectic stay on Railay Beach. This is the complete opposite! There are some nighttime noises from the jungle behind, but that's part and parcel for the stay! Roughly 30 mins taxi ride out of Krabi Town, the frog and catfish is a little piece of paradise. We didn't leave the hotel for two days! Between the nice little pool and very good food, and lovely staff we had a great stay. If however you do fancy doing something locally then Gary is more than happy to recommend national park walks, kayaking, or moped rentals. A great little place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocock_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This place is truly a paradise retreat. Found it on Trip Advisor and the reviews definitely made us want to come and see if all the praises really were true.
From the moment Gary welcomed us with his warmth and friendly manner, a cool drink and cold face cloth we immediately felt like we had come to a special environment.
Our bungalow was beautiful, tons of space, huge bathroom. comfortable bed, everything spotlessly clean with a fridge, T.V., DVD and videos (if you felt like watching), and A.C. Nice porch area with a day bed to relax out of the sun while admiring the scenery and reading. Looking out on the spectacular beauty of the grounds, with its ponds filled with fish, and rippling streams and lush green vegetation/flowers the Frog & Catfish Country Inn certainly deserved all the honours and praises.
The pool is great and perfect for cooling down during the day while listening to the birds singing and fish swimming.
The food was of a very high standard at all times of the day and service was friendly and polite.The dinners were always unbelievably DELICIOUS. The breakfast that comes with the room, was a choice of Thai or American. The American included, eggs of your choice, bacon, sausage, fried potatoes, fried tomatoes, beans, fruits, fresh squeezed juice, coffee, toast, and jams.The food was served in individual pagodas spreads across the grounds and over the ponds and streams.

We stayed for three nights before our trip home, to relax from our 2 months vacation away from the Canadian winter, and wished we could have stayed longer.
The staff were extremely helpful, always with a smile, and eager to make your stay better. It was always a joy talking to At and the other girls.
The owners, Gary and his wife Bua, are excellent owners who love what they have and do. We can understand why the staff is so happy and dedicated because of their open, friendly personalities, and wanting to make your stay memorable. It transcends to their staff family. It was amazing to discover that Bua had built the structures and landscaping herself with little help. She was building new lounges for the pool and we saw the super finished product stained and waiting for someone to nestle into them. Gary and Bua are one of a kind, interesting people.
The location is 15 minutes from Aonang Beach and 30 minutes from the airport. If you want a place that is away from the hustle-bustle of the Ao Nang area, this is the place to stay!!! There are day trips they can plan for you, or scooters that you can rent but, we were at the stage of resting. My wife had a great massage on a bed in the massage pagoda.
A huge thanks to everyone for making our stay so memorable. We definitely will be back on our next trip to Thailand soon. Stayed the first week in March. Great weather!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The frog and catfish is run by people who love what they're doing, and it shows. From the beautifully landscaped garden to the design of the rooms, the excellent food to the general laid back and warm hospitality, everything is done with joy and pride. We stayed for 7 nights and felt totally at home there. It's a small place with a very big heart.
I would highly recommend to rent a scooter for exploring nearby beaches and to book a private boat trip to the islands. And do try the Thai massage. It's expertly done and not expensive.
I'm not going to write a separate restaurant review, but there is a reason why people praise the food at the frog and catfish. It really is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sab1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We travelled to Krabi and stayed at Frog and Catfish Country Inn in the first week of Feb..
We did some last moment bookings and were not sure if we would like this place..But we were in for a totally pleasant surprise when we walked into this place..Gary and Bua met us at the entrance and gave us a wonderfully warm welcome..
The place has a beautiful ambience and instantly makes you like it..The room (which are like independent small cottages) was very spacious, beautifully done and very clean.. Infact, they keep a lot of nice books (and DVDs as well) in the room that might make a quick interesting read.
Would really appreciate Gary for the help with planning our 3 days in Krabi and making it a memorable trip..Thanks to his advice, we had a wonderful kayaking experience at Ao Thalane and a mesmerizing tour to Hong Island in a private longtail boat..
Food was another high point here! The restaurant was mostly vibrant with people for dinner everyday..The place is about 15 kms from Ao Nang beach but you can zip across in 10-15 mins with a bike which they rent out..If you look forward to enjoying the beautiful beaches but also wish a place that is away from the hustle-bustle of the Ao Nang area, this is the place to stay!!!
Gary, Bua, Att and their entire team were such warm people, we would love to go back again! :):) 

--Nandita and Sambhav

Room Tip: All rooms are good..they are exquisite in their own sense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nandita85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

as we arrived i noticed work begin done outside the entrance, should have guessed Bua the owner, read that she had built most of the F&C with the help of family and friends,
she welcomed us with a huge smile and called Gary, our cases were taken and we were offered a cold welcome drink and cooling towel, a beer or two later we were shown to our bungalow,
it was well furnished with comfy bed, crisp cotton sheets, heavenly pillows, plenty of hanging space, good size shower room with super soft towels.
tea/coffee, TV, fridge with cold drinks, A/C plus a large fan, nice size veranda with sofa over looking a fish pond.
we returned to the bar/restaurant a few hours later, there was a lot of people dinning and noticed that Gary welcomed everyone as soon as they entered.
At the bar we met At (bar manageress, cousin of Bua)along with her 2 well behaved children Kim and her little brother Im and another staff member Penn,
we ordered dinner with the help of Gary explaining the menu (review to follow) returned to the bar after our meal it was getting late so Gary told At to "finish what she was doing and go to her family" who lived on site, thinking it was time to drink up, "NO" Gary said still time for another, well being welsh valley people how could we refuse??
returning to our bungalow we sat out on the veranda with a coffee and listening to the chorus of frogs and the sounds of running water it was amazing! our heads soon sunk into them super heavenly pillows.
we ordered a full English breakfast , but 2nd day we just ordered eggs and some toast i think it,s a case of asking and they will try and please you,oh they have "twinkles tea" private joke At!!!
our plan today was to just chill by the pool we were the only guests, the others had left earlier that morning we had the pool to ourselves, there were a few couples having lunch, we had a late lunch of fish and chips.
again Bua hard at work building a pergola does this lady ever stop working????
we mention to Gary that we liked cider although he did,nt sell it he said "if we had mailed him he would have tried to get some" because they do sell it in ao nang, again always ready to please.
final day as others have said really did not want to leave, 2 night was not long enough in the little piece of paradise! left around 4.30pm :(
returned on valentines night and as promised the best table was reserved for us, but every table as a view to die for, drinks before our meal and OMG Bua all dressed up and her hair down,, not for long, full house help needed in the kitchen apron and hairnet quickly on and she was gone,oh and by the way she,s finished the gergola!!
anyone visiting from the uk pleased take At some cadburys chocolate she loves it as i found out of a previous reviewer
i really wished we,d stayed for longer,it,s not for everyone but if you like the idea of peace and quite then this place is it, loved every minute here and hopefully return one day,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
6.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Nong Thale
538 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn

Property: Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn
Address: 76 Moo 6, Din Daeng Noi, Nong Thale, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frog and catfish country inn is a small boutique resort set in tropical tranquil gardens containining many fish ponds nestling at the foot of a national park with mountain views. Our rooms have both garden & mountain view.We are 3 KM from the nearest secluded beach and jetty where our guests embark for VIP long tail boat trips to the islands such as Koh Hong Poda island. We are 15 minutes away from Thalene bay which has some of the most beautiful Kayak tours in the world. The tourist centre of Ao nang is 15 minutes as is elephant trekking and the world class beach near the Sheraton hotel.In house massage is available,free WiFi,car & motor cycle hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog And Catfish Restaurant And Country Inn Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing