We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food in a very basic building”

Maya cuisine & Lounge by Jeanette
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Swedish, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Description: Welcome to Maya Cuisine & Lounge!Maya's is an oasis in the middle of Klong Muang beach.Maya is a home-style Asian restaurant,Lounge and bar with a touch of Sweden.Here you can eat delicious food prepared by Thai and Swedish chefs, drink freshly squeezed juices, tropical fruit shakes,ice cold beers, vintage wines, exciting cocktails and coffee drinks.Relax in furniture made of fired rubber tree wood with fabrics of raw silk and pillows in beautiful earth tones.Admire the roof of handmade grass thatch and the walls adorned with the work of local artists, which are for sale.Enjoy your meal, made with care and attention to detail, with handmadecutlery and on unique and colorful china.Or just sip an exotic cocktail in the lounge bar while reading today's newspaper and listening to good music.Please, Call Kuhn Viliawan for pick up and reservation.
Gambais, France
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good Thai food in a very basic building”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

You should go for the Thai fod and not for the European. The building is just a roof along the road but the nice lounge music the friendly staff and the creative food will make your diner most enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trotteglober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    6
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Name!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went to the restaurant because of the name. I didn't realised that Jeanette was Swedish. The food was excellent, very well presented and tasted wonderful. It was our last night, so decided to have a full 3 curse meal. We had spring rolls to start , very stylish and tasty. My husband had seabass and I had sweet and sour pork, To finish we had apple pie. It was a fantastic meal to finish off our holiday. Thank you Jeanette.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“bland food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

service was slow and food was bland. Restaurant was not air conditioned and there were a lot of insects.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank regina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillaMyKrabi, Owner at Maya cuisine & Lounge by Jeanette, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I'm sorry you had a bad experience at my restaurant. I would have appreciated if you had told us when you was here that you were not satisfeid. Then i could have had a chans to look over it and change what was wrong. Normaly our food is not bland and it is not our intention to be.
If i dont know, i cant change it. Nothing and no one is perfect. But we try to do our best.
Regards Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Impressed Best Restaurant In This Area”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Excellent food. We had a late lunch/early dinner here. Great mash , great Swedish meat balls , very tender steak with a red wine sauce and prawn / mayo dill on toast was a winner. Drinks could have been a bit colder.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kewbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service, recommended :)”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely service and food, laid back and pleasant. Great break from Sheraton's surprising mediocrisy dinnerwise.
Tricky for a Norwegian to praise Swedish endeavours, but this was remarkably good and amazingly un-touristy in ambiance (area taken into account).
:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annikeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya cuisine & Lounge by Jeanette also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing