We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I just spent a few days here to relax after a busy week of travelling and sightseeing in Laos. I was expecting something a bit more special, although it was comfortable and the staff were nice. It does have a lovely location, which is a nice place to chill out for a few days, but I just didn't get that feeling of luxury that it claims. I booked the sala villa with hydropool, of which I think there is only one, and I'm so glad I did. As others have mentioned, the terraces outside the rooms are pretty public, and people walk past all the time. My room, though, had a more private area at the back with the hydropool, and I really enjoyed this. Food was reasonably priced for a hotel, but nothing special. The breakfast had a reasonable amount of choice, but it was all a bit bland. I was never offered a top up of coffee, or a second cup, so had to ask for this, which really shouldn't happen in a so-called luxury hotel.
I had one massage at the spa, and this wasn't overly impressive but ok.
The pool area is nice, but can get crowded at busy times. It is showing wear and tear, though, with odd leaks of water here and there from what must be the fountain system.
Again, others have mentioned that there are a lot of steps, and I did notice some people puffing and panting their way up.
The room was nice enough, and the bathroom was lovely with big bath, decent shower and his and hers basins. The bed was firm but comfortable. Minibar was poorly stocked, but to be honest when you can get what you need from a shop just next door to the hotel you don't need the minibar. Wifi was reasonably reliable, although did drop off a couple of times during my stay.
Check-in and check-out were efficient and quick.
Would I stay here again? I'm not sure. But if I did it would have to be in the same room with the hydropool, as I don't think I would be happy without my private outdoor space.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diverdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed with our 5 years old child at Nakamanda during the new year holidays. All in all we had a good say and I can recommend this hotel. Just few remarks, the hotel is very small (only 40 villas) which is very convenient if you are looking for a quite place to stay, but it is a bit old outdated. The villas are big but the quality of the rooms are not very high.The breakfast is OK. The staff are very friendly but don't expect a 5 star service. There is a lot to improve when it comes to the service. The kids pool was nice, my son liked it a lot. The hotel is very close to the beach but has practically no private beach. We have stayed at Sheraton and Beyond resort before and honestly I have no real favorite. Perhaps the others more fresh and new but the entire Klong Muang beach is a very nice area in Krabi. We also heard a lot about the spa in the hotel and tried a 4 hours package. It was nice and not very pricy but not really remarkable. This is not a 5 star hotel but average 4 star so you need to have reasonable expectations. We got a good deal at the hotel despite being high season and the area very crowded and all in all had a good stay there and can recommend the place but not sure if I would go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure to not stay at the villas close to the main street as will be very noisy. the rooms closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Nakamanda resort is a very nice place to spend a week and relax. Beautiful beach with a picture perfect little island in front of the hotel, gigantic pool, good food at the restaurant, very friendly staff. That being said the whole resort needs some renovations, it is a little dated and not exactly what you would expect from a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just got back from a long weekend at the Nakamanda in Krabi and felt compelled to write this review. We stayed in a 2 bed pool villa with friends and were blown away from start to finish. The 2 bed pool villas are perfect for two families - beds were too hard but everything else was great. Own kitchen, living area, great pool, fab a/c, fantastic views and right up from the spa and the restaurant / beach. The staff could not do enough for us - nothing was too much trouble. The whole ambience was relaxed, tranquil and unspoiled. We left the resort to eat Thai food locally one night but immediately regretted it. You have all you need for a chilled holiday at the hotel - no need to leave! Food and drink - excellent quality and value (surprisingly). The hotel pool is beautiful as is the beach/ sea. So hard to find fault. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: The 2 bed pool villas are a great option if you are traveling with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is nice, the suite was a good size with a huge bathroom. The resort doesnt technically have its own beach area, its got a small bay area which during low tide looks terrible but is awesome during high tide because you can walk pretty deep into the water - but be careful of the rocks, me and my wife both cut our feet on the rocks. But a great beach is just a 2 min walk away (which is shared with the resort on the left) and there is also a decent beach on the right hand side as well. We were a little disappointed that the area doesnt have a lot going on, and its very far from Krabi (30-45min cab ride) or Railey beach (which you need to go to Ao Nang and then take a boat ride). But the plus was that its very close to Hong Island (2000 BHT for a private long tail boat, plus another 200 BHT per person for the national park fees) which was a great day trip - it only took like 20-25 min to get to Hong Island. The staff here was very friendly, definitely a big plus. The cab stand outside the hotel will negotiate rates to Krabi or Ao Nang, so dont pay full price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon for 9 nights following a few busy days in Bangkok and then Chiang Mai. Chose the area based on being able to do trip to phi phi and other islands as well as staying somewhere not too built up or 'westernised'. The boutique Hotel was exactly as described, in a small village right on the Klong Muang beach, very private and secluded. There are 40 individual villa's on the resort which was really nice compared to being on a bigger site like other hotels as you get a more personalised service from the staff and its not crowded around the pool area. The pool area looks out onto the beach which was the most beautiful view! When the tides are right you can use the hotels kayaks for free which is a plus!
Breakfast was really decent, they provide pretty much everything you could think of including an egg chef who cooks you what you ask for to order.
We like to try different places to eat so only ate the one night in the hotel overlooking the beach on their seafood BBQ night which was nice for a change just obviously a bit more pricey. There are a handful of restaurants just outside hotel and we also discovered about 5-10 mins walk out of the village heading towards where The Sheraton is located a few more restaurants and shops. All provide good Thai cuisine along with western food and ridiculously decent prices.
We booked a day trip through the hotel by speedboat to Phi Phi which was brilliant, definitely recommend it for 1800 baht each (£33) which included transfers to and from hotel.
All in all, really pleased with the whole stay there considering we didn't know much about the place beforehand and The Nakamanda was definitely a home from home. The standard of service by the staff make it a truly lovely place to stay leaving you to simply kick back and enjoy all that is on offer there. If we were to return to Krabi we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Best three days in Thailand! We left here feeling absolutely refreshed.

Service was so very good... Staff was courteous and made sure we had everything we needed.
Their spa services were excellent. We went to the spa each day during our 3 day stay.
The location is stunning... Its by the beach and its amazing to sit there drinking in the sunsets!

Food was alright... Limited vegetarian options so i can't say i have sampled much on their menu.

We stayed on the top floor villa and were treated with lovely views of the resort and the water in the background. The rooms do call for some refurbishing but we enjoyed spending our time lounging on the patio so much that we did not care about the look of the room itself.

We ate twice at a restaurant nearby, gajanana... Pretty good indian food with many veggie options.

Overall, we loved our stay at this resort and highly recommend it for its excellent service.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Science_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.8 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,558 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,475 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
417 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $132 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing