We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had an really enjoyable week here. The location was in a beautiful and intimate cove. The rooms, pool area on the beach, spa, restaurant were all great. Think the warmth and service from the staff capped our stay off. They really made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough to help in any way. Thy even brought me a surprise birthday cake after noticing it on my passport. Will be returning and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racolawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nakamanda was our first hotel in Thailand. We found it beautiful and welcoming.
The hotel is located in a lovely small bay with amazing view from the pool and from the villas (we had a high villa and it meant climbing stairs but was worth it.
The staff were all friendly and caring and did their best to pumper us at all hour. The rooms were big and nicely decorated and the food was really excellent so we ate there twice a day.
We highly recommend the hotel and hope to come back.

We took a boat with the nice Mr E from the hotel beach :
1/ To railly beach
2/ To hong island
both are recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nakamanda was beautiful. The individual villas were gorgeous, with a sunlight over the bathtub, great woodwork, and a terrace with seating that was perfect for reading (especially since it rained the entire time that we were there). The staff were very welcoming and the massage (about $40 for an hour long oil aromatherapy massage) was the best I've had in Asia (very professionally done).

My two complaints about the resort:
1. The location- it was very isolated, which was great for a romantic getaway, but that also meant that there were very few options in terms of dining and getting out and about. Expensive taxi rides to Ao Nang, the closest tourist beach :(
2. The hotel restaurant - the food was bad. Breakfast buffet was OK, but the lunch/ dinners were not good, and pretty pricey. The only meal we even finished was the Pork chop, and still that was only 6 out of 10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We visited for our Honeymoon.

Pros:
- Smaller so more intimate
- The rooms are big with great layouts (his and her sinks)
- The layout of the hotel is amazing - felt private even though not secluded
- Staff and spa are great
- The pool is amazing, breath-taking

Cons:
- Better to find your own outside activities than to do them through the hotel
- Breakfast buffet wasn't off the highest quality - above average nonetheless
- Overall there is wear and tear in the rooms. Not a big deal but you can tell it is going to need some renovation in the next 5 years.

Overall:
Great hotel. Highly recommend for romantic, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjoseph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Nakamanda is a small boutique hotel under SLH located at the quieter side of Krabi- at Nong Thale with less than 50 rooms as I can remember. When I first stepped in into the lobby, the ambience actually quite impressed me. The setting and the environment is really relaxing. Check in was considered a bit slow when there were only 2 couples doing the check in. The lobby is at the higher side of the site, meaning to say that there are steps before one can reach the beach with all villas along the walkway. Most of the villas are situated at two stories building with one on the ground floor while another one located at the first floor. Villa is adequate in size but it really need some touch up. Room is slightly date with broken floor and peeling wall paper. But the balcony with a hanging fan is a nice place to relax in the afternoon for coffee and magazine. The spa is amazing- one of the best I been to so far with reasonable price. Nothing fancy but the ladies are really into serious massages. Breakfast is average with limited choices which might due to small amount of villa in the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the location map during reservation in order to request for villa near to the beach. Bear in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked the to stay at the Nakamanda for 5 nights after a visit to Phuket. We were looking for some rest, romance, relaxation, and a time amongst nature, taking in some island hopping and the beautiful surrounds.

We had requested an ocean view and when we arrived we were told there were none available so they offered us both a free massage at their spa. The massage by the way was top notch, and worth every bit of missing out on an ocean glimpse. It really didn't matter about the ocean glimpse as all the rooms are situated much the same, up a hillside, and in beautiful gardens anyway.

The rooms themselves are just beautiful and almost like individual villas, with a small outdoor undercover area. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with two vanities in the bathroom- one for the ladies and one for the gents. Each is equipped with items that are useful for either e.g. the gents vanity has shaving equipment, after shave gel etc, while the ladies vanity has a hairdryer, nail files, amongst other things. Of course, you can share between you, as my man and I did, but it was a nice touch...and nice to have your own space!

There is also a sunken bathtub in the room that sits under a glass roof- this is really quite romantic as a tropical storm rolls in if you choose to have a soak. There are also small fish in containers either side of the bath (with some nice green plants too) which only adds to the relaxing and charming atmosphere.

But what REALLY makes this place...is the staff. The staff are genuinely attentive, caring and know their stuff. We ate in the restaurant frequently over our stay. We did want to explore a few other places to eat but it was hard to leave as we actually really enjoyed seeing our familiar friends at the restaurant. From the moment we arrived - Wutdy welcomed us at the bar and his friendly nature was particularly appreciated after a long drive from Phuket. The staff were always, helpful, friendly but never overbearing.

My boyfriend proposed on our last night at the Nakamanda and the staff members assisted with his surprise proposal. A big thank you to Mr Sak for helping my fiancee organise the surprise. Also a big thank you to Nam who generously presented us with a complimentary, delicious but very potent cocktail (served in a pineapple) aptly called "Sweet Memories" to celebrate our engagement. Every staff member at Nakamanda really was just perfect!

Nakamada is a boutique resort, it is next to Beyond Resort and just up from the Ritz Carlton and the Sheraton. However, of all these hotels, I would recommend the Nakamanda over all of them. We felt relaxed and spoiled the whole time, without the "big hotel" feel. We never felt like "just a number".

I could have spent a lot of time around the pool but it was also so easy to catch a long tail boat to the surrounding islands, which we did a couple of times. Nakamanda offers a number of different tours and excursions which were well worth it. Long tail boat drivers also pull up just outside the resort so you can also negotiate direct if you like.

We took a trip to Phi Phi Island which the resort organised. It included lunch and stop offs and a couple of other islands and some fabulous snorkeling opportunities.

On a another day we took a long tail boat to Hong Island with Mr Yow (a long tail skipper who operates on the beach out the back of the hotel), which was one of the highlights. Phi Phi is worth a visit but Hong Island is out of this world! It is one of the most beautiful places we have been to...EVER! The island is just a short long tail ride from Nakamanada...seriously don't miss it...it really an unspoiled piece of paradise!

We had a couple of treatments at the spa after our fabulous complimentary massage. The treatments were wonderful, relaxing and good value for what they were. A special shout out to the wonderful On who is the best masseuse in Thailand!

The hotel offers a shuttle to Ao Nang every evening if you wish to get amongst it, however, we did the trip and enjoyed it but also liked to hang back in our lovely Nakamanda home.

We loved this place (for obvious reasons) and we feel that it deserves a great review. If you want to party til dawn, maybe Krabi in general is not the place for you. If you want to relax, be awe-inspired by the amazing prehistoric cliff faces and feel the energy of a magical place, island hop, swim in turquoise waters, enjoy delicious food and connect with your loved one...this is the place. And if you're worried about being bored at night...which we sooo weren't, you can always put your feet up and watch some movies on Foxtel before your next big adventure the next day. We would come back to this resort in a heartbeat...it really is a special place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NikNAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a very charming, small resort. It may not be quite as smart or flashy as some of it's more expensive competitors but it has much more character. I personally hope that the rooms and grounds aren't updated (contrary to some other reviewers). Individuality is preferable to bland luxury!

Beautiful pool, approx 40 metres in length from the two furthest points. Safe from the sun for swimming laps before 9am.

Enjoyed the privacy and views from our upper floor villa, but be prepared to climb a lot of steps to the upper floor rooms from the restaurant / pool / beach area!

Great breakfasts and bar menu (loved the seaweed soup). We were less impressed with the food served at the restaurant during the evening, but we only ate here once so we aren't really placed to give a fair review. (There's a good few local restaurants to try outside the hotel, and a massive choice of places to eat in Ao Nang).

Hours of fun paddling and beach combing. You can also borrow the hotel's kayaks. Only a 5 minute walk to a designated beach swimming area in front of the hotel next door.

The staff are a real asset to the Nakamanda - friendly, polite and very attentive.

Excellent communication with the hotel via email prior to our stay in order to book airport transfers (800 baht each way, took about 35 minutes), and state our room preference.

Good value for money - we stayed at the very start of the high season and got an early bird rate on booking.com



INFO ON LOCAL AREA, NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THE NAKAMANDA:

We booked a snorkeling safari trip with Kon-Tiki Diving and Snorkeling Centre in Ao Nang. As a reasonably well travelled diver / snorkeler, I found the snorkeling in this part of the world a bit disappointing (cannot compete with the likes of the Red Sea or Great Barrier Reef). We visited Bamboo Reef amongst others, which I was told is the best in the area.

We were also a bit underwhelmed with the trip we booked through the agency opposite the Nakamanda to the Tiger Temple and Hot Spring, although we thought the Emerald Pool was pretty.

Take a trip to Hong Island if you want to experience a really stunning beach - best to book a private long tail boat from the hotel beach in order to avoid the crowds, as the island beaches can get really busy from about 10:30am.

A taxi from outside the hotel to Ao Nang takes 20 minutes at the most, and is 500 baht each way, and this was the only thing we found expensive. On certain days of the week you can book hotel transport to Ao Nang for 300 baht return, which is a great price, but you are restricted to specific pick up times (think it's 5:30pm depart and 9:00pm pick up).

There's quite a few cheap massage places near the hotel, but don't expect the masseuse to be able to deviate from their set 'routines' (e.g. They won't be able to focus on a particular area like a stiff shoulder or agitated calves).

At 26 weeks pregnant, I was fine eating salad, cut fruit and ice from the hotel and local restaurants (although I don't think this is generally recommended). I stuck to bottled water.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,416 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $141 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing