We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first-time resort experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a short vacation in Krabi with my family for 3 days. A smallish hotel but at a perfect location right on the beach! The large pool was a boon which we relaxed in through the days.
Room was beautiful with a view-framing bay window and a large naturally lit bathroom (free internet as well - though we really didn't feel the need to use it!).
Staff were friendly to say the least and very helpful when we needed their assistance. The dinner was quite good with decent a vegetarian selection. Included breakfast buffet was average but had a decent variety.
The beach itself was beautiful with a beautiful views of rocky limestone islands dotting the seascape - sand was not fine (coral beach) but very clear and quiet. We spent hours just walking along with the kids making a shell collection!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and closer to the pool if possible. Will provide a better beach view and easy...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
There are newer reviews for Nakamanda Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently stayed at Nakamanda with my wife for three nights an we had a really wonderful time. It is a beautifully appointed boutique hotel (so not recommended if you are up for huge resort-like activity) located in a steep terrain overlooking a very nice beach (in high tide) and small island just in front of the hotel (accesible walking in low tide). To the left and the right you can walk down the Klong Muang beach either way, where the most upscale hotels in Krabi are located (including Nakamanda of course). Standard rooms are located in two-floor villas (one for each room, ask for one in the upper floor if available as the views are better) and there are also superior category one-bedroom villas and even larger. Reception is on the main road from Ao Nang, a mere 10 minutes away, and you walk down all the way to the see through the villas and extremely fared garden to the beach area, where the swimming pool, the spa and the restaurant are located. The hotel premises are really beautiful, with partial sea view from most of the rooms, and include also a library with complementary computers, a shop and a fitness centre that we thoroughly enjoyed after sunset during our stay.

As said before, rooms are villa-like, expansive and very nicely decorated in Thai style. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom is huge, with a big shower and a separate bath-tub with wo small ponds and a glass ceiling that allows to have a bath almost in open air, but without the heat or the bags. Simply great. Toiletries were also plentiful and top quality, although some may argue that for a top notch hotels such as this one shampoo and gel should be disposable and not refillable (I find it great as you will never run out of it). The room had everything you might need, including both an inside and outside seating area, the latter equipped with an anti-mosquitoes light device. Details were everywhere, with umbrellas handy at the room door, flowers in the most unexpected.spots, free fruit (big plate for entire stay) and water (provided daily).

We ate several times at the restaurant, serving both Thai (very good, not superb, but amazingly presented) and western food in a beautiful scenery, especially at night with high tide taking the water just under the tables and a beautiful lighting. (tip: if you feel adventurous walk out of the hotel 3 minutes on the right through the main road, and just after the first curve you can sample authentic home-made Thai cuisine at Coconuts in a very nice setting -much hotter than the seaside hotel restaurant, but well worth a try). Service at the restaurant was attentive and willing to attend any request, in line with all hotel staff, one of its best assets.

This is, in fact, what made the experience absolutely perfect from the moment we arrived. We were picked up at the Krabi airport early in the morning, and then greeted by Su at reception which offered us one room for us to relax after our long flight until our definitive room was ready at check in time. Both rooms were equal, the only difference being the temporary one was in the ground floor of one of the villas. We spend some time in the swimming pool and then Su escorted us to our liminal room, where they had prepared a beautiful decoration to commemorate our wedding anniversary and offered us complementary sparkling wine as well. The type of service, much appreciated, accompanied us throughout our full stay, with details such as spontaneously offering us a very cold juice while we were checking our emails in the library or when waiting four our transfer, or instantly coming to our room to take care of a bug bug we didn't want to splash in the floor (there are very few, buy hey, this is in the middle of a tropical forest so better keep the few bugs out or the room). It is true that some or the stuff didn't speak English properly, but communication was.always possible due to their positive attitude.

We didn't use the spa, but it looked great just above the huge (for a resort this size) swimming pool and the beach.

Finally, I recommend you hire one of the long-tail boats present in the beach on front of the restaurant from 7AM to.around 10AM for a day in Koh Hong and some other wonderful islands nearby. For Railay or further it will probably be worth to reach Ao Bang by taxi (500 baht) and then use transports from there. We hired a scooter at 300baht a day from the mini market just opposite the hotel entrance, near the money change stall, and we had a great hassle free experience that allowed us to easily move to Ao Bang and inland.
All in all, a highly recommended hotel that made for an incredible first stage or our Krabi and around trip.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the upper floors if possible, as they are likely to have a better view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buduku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a much smaller resort than we are used to so was interested to see how it compared . There were obvious pluses and minuses but our overall experience was very positive. We stayed in a Sala villa which for three of us was just right. Any more and it would be a little tight as an extra person has to sleep on a mattress on the floor (no rollaway beds here). The room servicing was excellent as was the servicing staff right throughout the resort. They got to know our names and nothing was too much trouble. All the facilites were great and my only couple of small companints was the less than extensive and never changing breakfast buffet and the noisy aircon in the rooms. Apart from that, everything else was great.

Room Tip: There are steps all around the resort as it is built in to the side of a hill so you will do a bit o...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABUNITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It's looks that's the luxury builded hotel needs some renovation that was not done like a scratched and old furniture, but this was not spoil the pleasure for us.
The hotel is in a small bay and feels private and secluded at the ocean front. No sand beach, but that was no problem for us as one sits basically at the waterfront anyway and there were always enough sun-chairs Sand beaches are walkeable from the hotel as they are just around the corner (out of the small bay), but they are dirty and with many glass splinters from broken bottles.
The staff around the dining and pool area are polite and smiley but not well trained. They speak very little English, and you have to repeat yourself constantly, using clear intonation and often hand signals. Sometimes you will be met with confused looks, apologetic shrugs and embarrassed smiles. There seemed to be no one in charge, and the often no waiting staff even in view. Admittedly I speak no Thai, but as a place that advertises itself as a 5 star resort, an F&B manager than can speak English and manage his/her staff efficiently is surely a minimal requirement.
Nakamanda is a good 4 star resort, ideal for couples who want a quiet and charming boutique resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelak900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the hotel and rooms are pretty much faultless.However we arrived very tired and so went to dinner on the first night.Very nice staff but the food was definately not cooked fresh ( all 3 courses )and was presented,at best,luke warm and had been reheated from earlier..My recommendation therefore is stay at the hotel but eat somewhere else.The other problem is that the majority of staff have VERY rudimentary english,so if you want advice or help it is very difficult e.g.help with printing boarding passes.they just couldnt get their heads around this request.Breakfast however is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Their "basic" Sala Vila is big enough and beautiful, flowers everywhere in the territory of the hotel, magnificent sea view. The spa is relaxing and reasonably priced from around 600 to 1200 batt to one hour massage. This is much more than price of the street massage, but I think the experience is different also. All the long tail boat traveling to small islands we took from the hotel beach, and for the kayaking car become to the hotel door to take us, so there was no need to travel to Ao Nang for this services. For the kayaking the price of the same trip is 30% higher in the hotel than a direct booking. Near the hotel within the short walk is a Coconut restaurant that was tasty with a beautiful sea view. The laundry in front of the hotel is very cheap and do the great job. The hotel has only about forty rooms, so it was never was crowded. It's looks that's the luxury builded hotel needs some renovation that was not done like a scratched and old furniture, but this was not spoil the pleasure for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrendelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We grealty enjoyed out time at Nakamada. We stayed for 4 nights in November 2012, which was slightly before the start of the main season, so the hotel was neither empty, nor crowded. Room was very spacious and nicely decorated. The villas are build in such a way that one building houses two (one on the top and one on the bottom). We had a top one and felt this might be slightly more pleasant than a lower one, though difference would be small.
The view to the small island (the way to which is walkable during low tide and sea-covered during high tide) is great. Also, the hotel is in a small bay and feels private and secluded at the ocean front. No sand beach to speak of, but that was no problem for us as one sits basically at the waterfront anyway. Sand beaches are walkeable from the hotel as they are just around the corner (out of the small bay). Hotel provides free kayaks which make for a fun paddle along the coast.

It is worth noting that the hotel is away from Ao Nang, so there is no party nightlife (though one can take a taxi to town). And there are indeed many stairs on the premises as the hotel is located on a slope down the hill to the waterfront. While this was absolutely fine for us, it could be an issue for people who have walking problems or for small children.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,393 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,399 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $131 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing