We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It's looks that's the luxury builded hotel needs some renovation that was not done like a scratched and old furniture, but this was not spoil the pleasure for us.
The hotel is in a small bay and feels private and secluded at the ocean front. No sand beach, but that was no problem for us as one sits basically at the waterfront anyway and there were always enough sun-chairs Sand beaches are walkeable from the hotel as they are just around the corner (out of the small bay), but they are dirty and with many glass splinters from broken bottles.
The staff around the dining and pool area are polite and smiley but not well trained. They speak very little English, and you have to repeat yourself constantly, using clear intonation and often hand signals. Sometimes you will be met with confused looks, apologetic shrugs and embarrassed smiles. There seemed to be no one in charge, and the often no waiting staff even in view. Admittedly I speak no Thai, but as a place that advertises itself as a 5 star resort, an F&B manager than can speak English and manage his/her staff efficiently is surely a minimal requirement.
Nakamanda is a good 4 star resort, ideal for couples who want a quiet and charming boutique resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelak900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    295
    79
    19
    9
See reviews for
237
732
30
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Level Contributor
195 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the hotel and rooms are pretty much faultless.However we arrived very tired and so went to dinner on the first night.Very nice staff but the food was definately not cooked fresh ( all 3 courses )and was presented,at best,luke warm and had been reheated from earlier..My recommendation therefore is stay at the hotel but eat somewhere else.The other problem is that the majority of staff have VERY rudimentary english,so if you want advice or help it is very difficult e.g.help with printing boarding passes.they just couldnt get their heads around this request.Breakfast however is ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Their "basic" Sala Vila is big enough and beautiful, flowers everywhere in the territory of the hotel, magnificent sea view. The spa is relaxing and reasonably priced from around 600 to 1200 batt to one hour massage. This is much more than price of the street massage, but I think the experience is different also. All the long tail boat traveling to small islands we took from the hotel beach, and for the kayaking car become to the hotel door to take us, so there was no need to travel to Ao Nang for this services. For the kayaking the price of the same trip is 30% higher in the hotel than a direct booking. Near the hotel within the short walk is a Coconut restaurant that was tasty with a beautiful sea view. The laundry in front of the hotel is very cheap and do the great job. The hotel has only about forty rooms, so it was never was crowded. It's looks that's the luxury builded hotel needs some renovation that was not done like a scratched and old furniture, but this was not spoil the pleasure for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrendelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We grealty enjoyed out time at Nakamada. We stayed for 4 nights in November 2012, which was slightly before the start of the main season, so the hotel was neither empty, nor crowded. Room was very spacious and nicely decorated. The villas are build in such a way that one building houses two (one on the top and one on the bottom). We had a top one and felt this might be slightly more pleasant than a lower one, though difference would be small.
The view to the small island (the way to which is walkable during low tide and sea-covered during high tide) is great. Also, the hotel is in a small bay and feels private and secluded at the ocean front. No sand beach to speak of, but that was no problem for us as one sits basically at the waterfront anyway. Sand beaches are walkeable from the hotel as they are just around the corner (out of the small bay). Hotel provides free kayaks which make for a fun paddle along the coast.

It is worth noting that the hotel is away from Ao Nang, so there is no party nightlife (though one can take a taxi to town). And there are indeed many stairs on the premises as the hotel is located on a slope down the hill to the waterfront. While this was absolutely fine for us, it could be an issue for people who have walking problems or for small children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sosve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Nakamanda for 5 nights before going to Koh Lanta. This hotel was quite a bit better than Royal Koh Lanta, so we have some basis for comparison.

We are a family of four (two kids aged 10 and 8) and had a jacuzzi villa with a big private jacuzzi which the kids loved. The villa was magnificent with a fascinating bathroom and pleasantly decorated rooms. The only downside was that we booked the villa advertised "with two extra beds" for our children which turned out to be two mattresses on the floor, not two proper beds. The "hotel village" is delightful with lush vegetation and elevated boardwalks and many hidden niches, great view over the surrounding area because it is all located on a slope. The main pool is long - great for swimming lengths - and there were always enough sun-chairs. The service was impeccable - you get what you pay for. We had mosquitoes (of course) and when I asked at reception if they had more of those plug-in-the-wall mosquito repellants they were quick to install additional units, and set up an ultraviolet insect terminator gadget outside where my wife could read for hours in the evening without a bite. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was always delicious, breakfasts were good.

There are a few additional restaurants in the village close to the hotel but the road is quite busy with trucks and so you don't get that laid-back, tranquil dinner experience. There is a nice place situated just off the beach about 500 m from the hotel (exit onto the beach from Nakamanda, turn left and walk past the adjacent 2-3 hotels). Not as friendly as at the hotel but inexpensive and a big selection of food.

The trip to one of the islands by long-tail boat is one of those things you do to tick it on your list. It is neither very romantic nor a life-changing experience. Sure you get to see a nice lagoon or a nice beach but you share all that with dozens if not hundreds of other tourists. Not something you would do twice.

The kids had a lot of fun in the pool and observing crabs at low tide on the beach. The hotel offers complementary kayaks and you can paddle around a small island situated just in front of the hotel in about 15 minutes, or paddle along the length of the beach to some fisher boats moored about 1-2 km from the hotel. The only drawback I can think of was the trash lying around on the beach, especially visible at low-tide. This is not the hotel's fault - this is a Thai problem.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Villa is spectacular for a couple, and great for a family with kids, if you are prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobnob72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have to say I have mixed feelings about this resort.

What I do like:
1. It has only around 40 villas, thus making the place not so crowded with tourist.
2. It is just next to the beach, & you can take a long tail from there.
3. Design of the room is quite cozy.
4. Location is about 20 mins away from Ao Nang.
5. Big bathtub.

What I do NOT like:
1. The Mosquitoes!!! There's 3 pools of still water in the villa, & I can see larvae swimming in it. Everyday, we had to kill several mosquitoes, but at the end of the stay, both my kids get about 20 bites each.
2. Since it's far from Ao Nang, there aren't many restaurants to choose from. I recommend Baanthai, which is just across the hotel.
3. A lot of stairs. Some are quite small & steep. Not so suitable for young kids & elderly. It's not stroller & wheelchair friendly.
4. The baby cot provided for my toddler squeak each time he moves.
5. The water sprinkler starts at 6am daily, & it IS loud enough to wake you up.

I will not choose this hotel again, mainly because of the mosquitoes. The itch is sufficient to drive you crazy, especially on a hot place like Krabi.

For those who are interested, shuttle service to Ao Nang (300 baht/2-way) & to Krabi Town (500 baht/2-way), & Airport transfer at 800 baht each way.

& if you really want to stay there, trust me, the mosquitoes repellent DOES NOT WORK. I used the spray, & the patch. The mosquitoes are immune to all!

To Nakamanda: Get rid of the still water in the villas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Feb is probably an ideal time to visit this place. The resort is brilliant and they are extremely cordial in their service. Do not miss out on the spa service, it is extremely relaxing and was the highlight of our 5 day stay here. The resort is a honeymooners paradise and dont forget to take the private villa if possible. Food is good but the coconut restaurant next to the resort just completes the food experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The andaman private villa beats everything else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanketh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,311 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,364 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing