We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful resort, will be back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very beautiful resort, will be back again”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nakamanda resort was on the top recommended list from our Thai friend. We are very pleased with the choice. The resort is located in a very quiet area, the building complex was well designed to suit the hilly site. The units are design to maximize the view but at the same time maximize the privacy. The site is well landscaped and maintained, the units are designed for relaxation and comfort. Everything is clean and organized, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi villa is very spacious and comfy, we highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stoyanov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    298
    80
    19
    9
See reviews for
246
742
30
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were stay at Nakamanda for three nights. Friendly staff provide nice services and hotel are cozy and peaceful for all travelers. Large size of swimming pool for a resort with only 38 rooms. All costs for food & beverages, SPA are very friendly prices. The choices for breakfasts are few, but I can understanding that because of only 38 rooms. The transportation fee (Taxi) from hotel to Ao Nang is THB500 per way because of a little bit far. By the way, I don`t like the attitude of Sales Dept. Because I sent a mail to asking about room availabilities & rates for three nights (two rooms) before I booked. The sales dept. just reply me a mail said one of a date is full without any quotations. But I still booked two rooms from hotel web site & Agoda after my inquires. I think that is not the right attitude for a sales person.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisMAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived two days ago and have yet to see a manager only desk staff are here to help out which I feel is not fair on them.

We like a cup of tea and the"kettle" does not reach boiling point, they seem to think if its warm that's ok. So bringing your own travelling kettle might be an idea.



They have a water feature plants in the bathroom but with this standing water comes Mosquitos and the risk of Dengue!!! We been bitten even outside our room as they have many standing water features!!
 I have complained but all they do is smile.The umbrellas on the beach needs replacing as they either torn or bleached by the sun, so even the bleached ones do not block any sun and my husband was burnt like a lobster, no point in complaining as I am sure they not intending on spending money on this hotel.
Spa was good and really nice,

Food was good on the first day but everyday it got worst, at the end I am not sure if they did this on purpose by the end. 

So unless you can speak Thai its very difficult to be understood I will advise against coming here. Also if you understand the risks of Dengue you will steer clear of this resort!

After my post appeared on Tripadvisor a "Director" appeared and I am sure she was sent in to appease me. I was offered a free meal which I kindly refused.

I was asked to email the Director as to what I thought should help fix the hotel. Each day we had to take out about 50-70 mosquito larva to stop the larva from hatching and bitting us. On the last day someone came round and dropped a tablet in the water to kill the larva, why could this not have happened on day 2 when we first raised the issue.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, maybe a back packer for $30.00 a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zeenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very nice, calm and pleasant hotel.
People are very friendly.
To eat good and cheap, go out of the hotel.
At the exit of the hotel turn right, walk 200 m(last shop/restaurant). On your left there is a small shop/restaurant, the shop is not really attractive( it's a restaurant for locals). Try it. It's much better and cheaper ( you can eat for 2euros) than all other tourist restaurants around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for complete rest and recovery from a busy lifestyle this place is the answer. From the moment we arrived we were treated like valued customers and nothing was too much trouble. 

The rooms are immaculate and very spacious. Perfect for a relaxing nap
In the afternoon on the verandah or reading on the comfy sofa in the room. The only sounds are those of nature waking up or falling asleep. We were never aware of neighbours around us even though the hotel was at capacity. The steps are really no trouble at all, unless you find walking difficult. 

Stayed the same week of last review re Mosquitos and we did not get bitten once, so possible that they had a particularly bad room. But once inside the room it's all air con so not sure where all these reports of Mosquitos come from. We sat round the pool most days and never saw one. 

The location could not be better. Far away from the 'madding' crowds at Krabi and far enough away from other big resorts nearby, one has an almost 'private' beach in front of the hotels and in high tide you are treated to an emerald bay, perfect for swimming, few rocks. We took the free kayaks out too which was a lovely adventure. 

The hotel was full and there was a mix of other young couples, retired people and young families but there was enough shade and space for everyone to feel comfortable. 

The service deserves 5 stars. Reception, pool staff, restaurant all aimed to please, and always with a smile. We never waited more than a few minutes for someone to help. 
The food is varied at breakfasts and other meals were reasonably priced relative to what you could find on the street. Quality ingredients over vast quantities of food. 

The pool is big and very clean with enough space to do lengths. Best was the water service - the fantastic pool staff are forever filling your glass with iced water which is a real treat in 35deg  heat! 

We loved our stay (6nights) and treated ourselves to one of their spa special packages. The therapists, facility and treatment could easily have come straight from a 5star London hotel.

In Thailand you get what you pay for but I'm happy to report that here you always get the little cherry on top with an extra smile for good measure! 

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agberthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife, my sister, and I stayed six nights in a pool villa. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. While some of the facilities are beginning to show some wear, there is nothing that a little varnish a brush and a power wash could not fix. But more importantly the staff was extremely accommodating. The staff responded to every request with a response that reflected a desire to find a way to say yes. We visited some of the other hotels in the area including the Sofitel, Amari, and what allegedly is the most exclusive hotel in the area the Rayavadee and found the Nakamand to be far superior in service and warmth.
The view from the pool and restaurant is absolutely beautiful. We found the variation with the tide to be both interesting and serene. (The hotel does not have a typical sandy beach immediately in front, but if this what you want walk 50 meters in either direction.)
We found the Thai food in the restaurant to be reasonably priced when compared to other restaurants in the area and to be some of the best we have ever had. (Try the pomelo and prawn salad).
This hotel may not be the Mandarin Oriental, but we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for four nights after two weeks travelling in Myanmar. It was a perfect place to wind down - we were on the honeymoon package - and is great value. The quiet room was excellent, own spa plunge, 2 terraces, waterfall and very well equipped. Not a mosquito to be seen and they provide an ultra violet lamp and surely you should be taking anti malarials this far south?
The restaurant was ok but there is good food at better prices just outside the hotel entrance. Also just outside is a superb wash and iron facility, an ATM and a small shop. The staff are delightful and very helpful.
Ao Nang, well lots of vests and tattoos, worth a trip but it was good to get back to the hotel.
The only small moan is that at high tide people walking on the beach wander through the hotel gardens.
Would definitely return all in all you get what you pay for in life.
Room 1901

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,369 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,388 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing