We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, attentive staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located 15 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This restaurant off the beaten path is an absolute joy. It is a definite must when you're in this part of Thailand. Its a lovely little oasis of greenery with some of the nicest and tastiest Thai food to boot. The portions are really good - something that i realized when comparing it to other places locally. Gary the owner was very charming and an excellent conversationalist making me and my group feel instantly welcome. Come here to relax, eat and soak up the laid back ambiance. I'll definitely return for the food and dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pieboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    30
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great food and leisurely but good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

After reading great reviews on trip advisor, we had a pickup arranged to our hotel. The place was a tropical setting. The owner Gary talked passionately about his food and made good recommendations. The crabcakes, mango salad and whole snapper were delicious and paced out well. We spent a good three hours at the place and were totally relaxed and happy that we chose to go there! Would recommend it as a special occasion place as well!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadicexpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, but food & service below expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

After reading all the amazing TripAdvisor reviews, we considered this a must-do during our stay in Krabi Province. The restaurant setting is certainly something special. Each table has its own bungalow, which overlooks a pond. You feel as if you are privately dining in your own restaurant.

We were sat by the owner, who made several recommendations off the menu. We ended up taking his advice & ordered all 4 items. Everything is priced fairly, but ultimately I recommend just picking what sounds good to you -- rather than following recommendations. Two of the items we received weren't very good, and the others were just okay. The service was also rather slow.

Given the reviews this restaurant received, we were left underwhelmed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yulichka217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Warm reception, good food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The setting was lovely, the host warm and charming and after a truly delicious meal, we had to compliment the chefs who were also delightfully charming. We had dinner and would definitely return for lunch before the end of our stay so we can appreciate the beautifully landscaped surroundings in daylight. Sure it's off the beaten track, but a haven of tranquility when you arrive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big mistake”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We read about this restaurant and wanted to try it. They didnt understand what we ordered, the food came in 15 minutes after My girlfriends, and then we get uneatable maincourse(probably for revenge when i complained politely), we had to go and ask for more to drink several Times'!, the dessert was very good, bit then as final à irish coffe without sugar came up=disaster!!! Avoid this englishmen WHO doesnt know anything about how to make food and serve it!!!! Big waste of time and money/tony

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing