We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
Ranked #13 of 53 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is located 15 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Gary and Bua are fantastic people... We had our wedding at the Frog & Catfish, August 2013.
I cannot speak highly enough of the absolutely wonderful hosts and their staff. A stunning garden venue, this is the ideal setting for a perfect fairy tale wedding. The quality and presentation of all the food was first class...... Thank you Gary & Bua for making our day perfect.
We would highly recommend anybody looking for an exclusive venue to contact Frog & Catfish

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    30
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went here based on a personal recommendation, and it did not disappoint.

This place is a bit far to get to from Ao Nang, but the food and ambience make up for it.

Get the fish - fresh and extremely tasty. The rest of the Thai food we had - panang curry, som tam and tom kha gai were good.

The ambience is lovely at night. We were personally greeted by Gary, the co-owner, which is a friendly touch. Service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockafunkadeliks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food delicious...”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

food delicious, services satisfactory. but too far from hotel. deep inside rubber estate, take your left when reach Y junction.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YBWEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to the Frog and Catfish based on the tripadvisor reviews and we were not let down! You can arrange transport with the restaurant to and from your hotel as well for a flat fee which is wonderful. It's not in the main part of town but worth going to! The food was fantastic! Gary the host/owner was wonderful. The atmosphere is great, there is gardens and ponds all around you - not to mention the gorgeous cats that the restaurant owns that wander around to say hi. Gary talked us through the menu and made some recommendations. We think it was the best food we had eaten on our trip so far. Great thai food really tasty. Lovely experience I'd go back! A must visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Starting with a warm welcome we enjoyed a memorable evening. The setting is tropical magic. Open shelters enjoy views of the lush gardens with many pools. The menu is great - personally recommend the whole fish (market price) but all of us reported great food. Excellent service.

While we were there met a couple who were being married there in a few days. Seemed a great venue for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing