We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located 15 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I had a wonderful dinner there. We love the environment. Their foods really taste good and price is reasonable.

Thanks to Gary and Bua for the nice foods and hospitality. We really enjoy our first night dinner in Frog and Catfish.

I will intro it to my friends who want to visit Krabi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gracetai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    30
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make the trip out there. You won't regret it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Called ahead and arranged car for pickup to get there from hotel. 800bht round trip which was added to bill. Made for a stress free beginning to the evening. Gary's recommendations were spot on and for the kids who were a little picky, they whipped up some "Thai chicken noodle soup" which I tried and was delish. They'll tailor any dish anyway you please. Maybe a little more expensive than the places in Ao nang but the freshness of the food and ingredients was apparent. We did two fish dishes, one fried and one steamed, both were probably the two best fish dishes I've had I'm my life

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangedude71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit - beautiful property and resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited Frog and Catfish after reading the reviews on TA. We found the natural haven that Gary and Bua have created is absolutely stunning and really adds to the charm of your visit. Each dining pavillion is quite private as you are surrounded by beautiful gardens, ponds and waterfalls. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and make time to have a chat with you and reccomend or help you with your dishes if you want. Food was nice and large servings...we couldn't eat it all. Would love to have seen the place in the daylight hours and no rain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank librian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best food I've ever had in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I emailed the owner & he arranged for a taxi to pick us up at our hotel in ao nang & take us back again.

We arrived and the setting is beautiful all the tables are set in their own little pavilions scattered throughout the garden.

Gary (the owner) explained the menu to us and made some recommendations. A most congenial host who even made my mother in law crack a smile (an achievement in itself).

The food arrived and was delicious every course bursting with flavour. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank InvernessMatt1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“An awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We read about other traveler reviews on the Frog and Catfish and decided to try it out. It was truly an amazing experience. We enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and staff , the food was really good and the ambiance amazing not to mention the reasonable prices. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next day for another meal. The owner arranged a pick and return trip for us at a fee as we stayed in Tub Kaek which was quite a distance from the restaurant.

Its worth a visit and we are definitely looking forward to going back soon.

Thanks Gary for making our stay in Krabi a wonderful experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleMahendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing