We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting and excellent food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located 15 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited this restaurant during a recent visit to Krabi, It is well off the beaten track and therefore quite different from anything else you will experience, Tables are well spaced out and the quality of the gardens is superb. The menu was varied and service very attentive. We had the crab cakes and a mix of red and green curries--all absolutely superb. Make sure you don't miss this one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ricbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    30
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely food, setting and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and followed the advice. We booked a table and asked them to arrange a taxi for us. The taxi arrived on time. The setting is lovely with ten tables set apart in the beautiful garden around a fish pond and a swimming pool. We were met by the owner Gary who was friendly and helpful. As we are unable to eat shellfish Gary asked his wife to prepare two dishes for us both delicious. A plate of fresh spring rolls with a sweet and spicy dipping sauce and a salad of shredded greens with spiced roasted cashews, lemon grass, chilli and garlic. For our main course we had a wonderful fried whole fish with a mango sauce that is a house speciality and a white snapper with lime, chilli and garlic together with a plate of crunchy well flavoured stir fry vegetables. Sadly we were so full that we couldn't sample the desserts.
Upon leaving we arranged to come again a couple of nights later and organised with Gary that they would provide a vegetarian thai meal for us. Unfortunately my husband was ill and we had to cancel. We were so disappointed not to go again. The lady I spoke to at the restaurant to cancel was charming and kept wishing my husband better. I followed the call with an email to Gary who was equally concerned that my husband recover rather than being angry about the cancellation.
Thankyou for your understanding and we were so sorry to mess you about.
We endorse all the good reviews written.

Helpful?
Thank kay2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

After seeing reviews on Tripadvsor visited yesterday evening and was not disappointed !!!
This is our first visit to Thailand and we enjoyed the owners recommendation..crab cakes were to die for as was red duck curry and fish dish..followed by fried banana.Enjoyed it so much that we have to go again tomorrow !!!! We want to see the beautiful gardens in the daytime as owners have put so much thought into designing this beautiful place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant's atmosphere is not only gorgeous, but the food is delicious and the staff are so nice and helpful! Probably the coolest atmosphere of any restaurant I've ever been to with little bungalow like tables spread apart, ponds, and even a pet turtle! I definitely recommend this place to anyone! It is a little out of the way, but well worth it!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“" Frog and Catfish...superb restaurant "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visted this restaurant with my wife Margaret on the 18th January along with my wife's neice,husband baby Zane and there two friends.
We all had a wonderfull time, food, drink, atmosphere and surrounding's all superb...also very well priced.
Gary,the owner, also showed us around the bungalow's he has to rent out,these are quite superb, if you eat at this restaurant
it would be well worth asking Gary to have a look around one.
The restaurant is 15mins outside Ao Nang, but please do not let this put you off as there is a shuttle bus service which will pick
you up at your hotel, Gary and his wife run a wonderful restaurant, if you plan to visit Krabi do not miss the chance to eat at this
restaurant.

Alfie & Margaret (Scotland)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alfie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing