We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really mega place !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frog and Catfish

Frog and Catfish
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located 15 minutes from Ao Nang center in a small village named Din Daeng Noi. It is one of the most unique restaurant/ bar and bungalow operations in the South of Thailand. The chef is superb and the tropical ambience is amazing. It is a hidden gem.
BANGKOK
2 reviews
“really mega place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

brilliant food and really genuine people after travelling extensively through out thailand you do not find to many of these """ GEMS """

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MITCHBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    30
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
907 reviews
562 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“Best value food in the world?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We are staying at the Amari Vogue and according to Google maps this was pretty close by - yes it was as the crow flies but a little longer due to the jungle in between! The TA comments were consistently great so really needed to try the place out for ourselves.

We were greeted by Gary when we arrived and shown to a lovely table under a wooden canopy. It was already obvious that the surrounding gardens and pools were fantastic and this was proven throughout the evening as we had the opportunity to look round more. Gary and his wife were excellent hosts and made us feel really welcome. All of their staff are really friendly and happy too so it had a lovely atmosphere.

We looked through a hugely comprehensive menu but in the end we asked Gary what he recommended and went with that. We had some excellent crispy crab cakes, a thai spicy prawn salad and some 'clear' spring rolls as our starter and all of them were great and so full of flavour.

I had a duck in red curry sauce for my main course which was so creamy and tasty. The spice level was great and was not over reliant on chillies. My partner had the fried snapper fillet with mango - the flavours in this were fantastic and went well with the crisply fried fish. We both had a portion of crab fired rice which was very good in its own right.

We didn't have room for dessert but we given a slice of pineapple each which was really juicy.

Overall we had a fantastic night and Gary arranged for someone to take us back to our hotel at the end of the evening.

Please note they do not accept credit cards but 1000 to 2000 baht in bank notes will buy you a very nice evening!

Helpful?
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food and atmosphere anywhere near Ao Nang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had the privilege of coming here at the recommendation of a friend. It is in a secluded quaint little village and what a beautiful site I encountered upon arrival. We were greeted at the front gate by a very friendly and cheerful staff and escorted to our table. We were surrounded by nature and man made beauty. There was a swimming pool right behind our table that was one of the nicest I've seen in my visit to Thailand. The grounds were meticulously maintained and beautifully landscaped with natural and indigenous plants and flowers. The meals were prepared to order and were exactly to my liking. I advised the beautiful waitress that I did not handle the Thai spices well and she made sure the cook staff knew this. The meal was splendid. Given the atmosphere, the surrounding beautifully manicured vegetation, and the very gracious, friendly staff, this was by far the nicest meal I have had in this country!! MAKE SURE TO STROLL the grounds while your meal is prepared. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly hosts...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Frog and Catfish is a relatively new place, which has become quite popular in Krabi. I would say all the credit goes to the awesome food and the wonderful couple running the place, Gary & Bua.

We went there as a crowd of 18 guests, and they went out of their way to accommodate our varied requirements (some of us ate anything, while others ate only chicken and still others ate only vegetarian food!!). Even with the large order, the quality of the food was great. I would recommend this place for good Thai food.

Oh, and as the name goes, they do serve both Frog and Catfish :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuelJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

A little bit off the beaten track, but the trip is worth it for some excellent Thai dishes. Many of the favourites and some surprises like Frog (should have known from the name!!). Tables are set around the beautiful pond, and have thatched rooves and fans. Good service too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanduquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Catfish also viewed

Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Frog and Catfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing