We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish getaway (long review...)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beyond Resort Krabi
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a new and stylishly designed resort hotel right on a spacious, quiet stretch of white sand beach called Klong Muang. The location is about half an hours’ drive to more-developed but less-peaceful Ao Nang.
The sea views are stunning. As with the other hotels on this beach, the property is private, luxurious, quiet and self-contained. No crowds, no noise, no backpackers or discos here. Just a charming street of local shops and restaurants outside the hotel (but they sold wine, too). Which was perfect for us – our idea of great nightlife is walking on a deserted, pristine beach by the light of the full moon. Check!
Be aware that there are three classes of accommodation: the cottages, villas, and main building rooms, on separate locations within the grounds. The cottages, small semi-detached units arranged in rows and alleys like a cute little village, are reasonable in price, clean and quite comfortable. However, they were rather isolated - a ten minute walk from the beach/main building, no sea view. Also, we were a little surprised that these rooms did not have a bathtub (shower only), and only very basic toiletries, as if the resort were skimping on them. The other types of room seemed much more luxurious with the staff and facilities close at hand, especially the main building, so we felt almost like second-class guests in the same hotel. The villas are close to the beach, and the main building rooms all have sea views.
As for service, we look forward to visiting again when they have some more properly experienced staff. We stayed at year-end peak season, and perhaps it the newness of the property and the sheer number of guests that left many staff seemed harried, overwhelmed, and not being proactive in serving guests. The GM (Mr. Claude) was trying his best to listen to guests’ comments, so hopefully service will improve in the near future.
But in spite of the little complaints above, overall we enjoyed staying at this beautiful hotel, and would come back. Food (breakfast) and the in-house spa was very nice, too.

Tips for guests
- Be aware of the room classes when reserving
- Bring your own hair conditioner, skin lotion etc
- Visit the nearby small islands and go see Railay Beach (spectacular cliffs!)

Tips for management
- Definitely put out more information on types and location of rooms. Helps people manage expectations.
- It'd be nice to have a pool and a common lounge with smiling staff in the cottage area too
- Post an attendant at the gym showers, in the afternoon they are dirty due to many people using them post-checkout
- Poolside, a welcome hello, menu, and free glasses of cold water can go a long way to change guests’ impressions
- Some more shared transportation options, please – daily boat tours to the islands and a shuttle bus to/from Ao Nang in the morning and early afternoon would be nice

Room Tip: Be aware that there are three classes of accommodation: the cottages, villas, and main building room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aritokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your extensive review. We are glad to see that you in general enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the area in which the Cottages are located. While they are further away from the main facilities, many of our guests are pleased with the rooms. It was indeed a very hectic time over New Year. Peak season is always a challenge for resorts, especially for relatively new ones like ours. They are an opportunity for resorts and the teams to realize areas that need further improvements. Please be assured that we take full advantage of this and that we are working hard to achieve our high service and operational objectives. Please do feel free to contact me directly for any future visit. I will be pleased to assist with the necessary arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to this resort as it had decent reviews. It was not cheap.
The good: the location, the view, the room's size and design. Free wifi.
The mediocre: the room's A/C, the construction finishings (paint splashes everywhere, stained walls, etc)
The bad: customer service, staff’s inability to speak English and engage with guests, ridiculous breakfast schedule.
On one occasion, two waiters came to our table of 6 and took the order. One waiter took care of 3 people, and the other took the other half. Three people got their food, and finished it. When we asked for the remaining 3 dishes the waitress said “well, my part was right”. The other waiter said “oops” and started arguing with one of the guests at the table about what she had ordered. Finally my friend showed the waiter that in his notes he had the order, but must had forgotten to pass to the kitchen.
The most serious criticism we have is the policy of closing down breakfast at 10:30. This is a beach resort. People go there to relax. To sleep late. Here no, you have to wake up early and rush. Twice, we arrived at 10:10 and staff were hurriedly taking everything off, taking away coffee machines, and closing down for business. Not only that, but a guy who appeared to be the manager said to us “if you are having something you better hurry because we are closing down”. We replied that for the $200 we were paying, we would expect at least that breakfast stays intact until 10:30.
We spent one full day by the pool. I approached the bar to request a towel as I forgot mine in the room. Response from the staff: “sorry, you need to go back to your room, or call housekeeping”. Yes, this is the staff located 5 meters away from the pool. During the day, NOT ONCE any of the at least 10 staff who were at the bar approached people by the pool to offer drinks, towels, or to see if everything was ok. They were congregated, chatting and looking at their cell phones.
In our room, toiletries offered were super basic. In the shower one single product for hair and skin (and we know what great quality can come out of that), no body lotion. At the travel and business center, we asked if they knew where we could go fishing. They shrugged and said “no idea”. In short, service is quite deficient. If you stay here, my suggestion is go out for food. There are some good restaurants outside and very near. Mothers' house restaurant was great and well priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xaviero76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you encountered a number of issues in our Food & Beverage and other service areas. Breakfast time is from 6.30am to 10am and depending on how many guests are still enjoying breakfast, we start clearing then or a bit later. The timing is mentioned in the welcome letter and most resorts in the region practice a similar schedule.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by these and the other issues you mentioned. We are working daily on improving the English level of the staff. While there are still inconsistencies with the service around the swimming pool and other, the service is improving.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Krabi, please do feel free to contact us directly. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Beyond Resort Krabi and I am sure you would notice many improvements.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel itself was a huge surprise...a series of gardens with cottages to the left and right as you approach the lobby which appears to be a single story structure. And when you enter...wham...it hits you...you're actually on the 5th floor and the view is FABULOUS...a beautiful grren blue sea with James Bond type islands sprinkled around...and you know you've arrived at the most beautiful place on earth!.
The Deluxe seafacing rooms are contained in this structure, built on a cliff and you take an elevator DOWN to the restaurants, the pool and the fabulous beach.
We stayed in a cottage as we wanted some privacy. We had the last one....and the forest with huge blooms and a stunning silence except for the birds...behind us. So we had the best of both worlds...the forest and the beach!
The room was just perfect and housekeeping was super helpful...from extra bottles of water to adapters, body lotion...no problem!
The staff too...Ralph at the front office and Lovely at the restaurant spoke excellent English and were both super helpful. Ralph was a fountain of information about the hotel. All told considering the hotel is mildly apologetic about being new and having teething issues...honestly, we never had a problem. Even wake up calls...on time!
The buffet breakfast is vast and varies every day...and the coffee machine turns out a great cuppa!
Everything you need is a close walk nearby.
Special mention: Baan Thai across the road is a good place to eat and no problem for vegetarians too. Ask for Tui...She speaks English, doesn't mess up your orders, has a ready smile and bubbly personality.
Santosh and his wife have a Mini Mart as you come out of the hotel, turn left and walk down the slope. You get almost everything you need here...at just a few more Baht than in town and if he doesn't have it, he'll try and get it for you if you ask nicely!
The Beach is superb, safe and the water just the right temperature...the wave gentle...so relaxing.
The trips too to the various islands are well organised and the snorkeling is great.
Back to the hotel...I am sure we will make the trip again!
Just a small grouse...our travel agent had mentioned that this was our 30th and requested something special...but it wasn't to be...I would have loved for my wife to have been surprised...but apart from this...the stay was superb.
Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want privacy...choose a cottage, preferably one at the end..they're priced cheaper too si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellerbob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for having taken the time to post an extensive review about your holiday at our Resort. It is great to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including the pool, the Cottage room, the tours, the staff and the local surroundings. Thank you for all your great comments. I am very sorry that we did not take the opportunity to arrange for something special for your anniversary. If your travel plans bring you back to Beyond Resort Krabi or to any other Kata Group hotel, please do feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure that a beautiful surprise awaits you next time around.

Thank you again and kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A lovely resort located on a beautiful beach.
While the Thai staff are extremely friendly, the service could be vastly improved with an emphasis on language skills especially at the front desk.
Room ammenities are virtually non-existant.
I did discover a slip of paper in my draw a few days before my departure with the opportunity to request a robe, slippers etc. Better late than never...
The availability of beach/pool towels would be far better at the pool rather than having to carry them to and from the rooms.
An enjoyable holiday however I don't believe that I would return to this resort.

Room Tip: See attached map for location of each type of room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us.

We are working on a daily basis to improve the English level and the skills of the staff. It is very difficult to find qualified staff with a good level of English in Krabi. However we are making progress. We are also in the process of upgrading the bathroom amenities. Since the Cottage rooms are more affordable than the Villa and Deluxe sea view rooms, the room amenities are not as complete. However, amenities such as bathrobes and outdoor slippers are available on request. I am sorry if this information has not been passed on you since your arrrival.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well, gotta say within the first few hours after we arrived I had to have a direct conversation with the GM. It was regarding a minor shower accident which was caused by not having a shelf in the shower & by a large heavy soap container which had been previously broken & not replaced. The GM was completely understanding and moved us immediately to another room & gave us a few other very nice peace offerings. The hotel IS beautiful!! The hotel staff are ALL very nice & WANT to please their guest in every way. Breakfast each morning was terrific....nice variety & fresh!! Lovely unique pool and beach fun to explore & gather shells. I would indeed stay there again & I thank especially the kind GM for his kindness. Tip : We really enjoyed the little restaurant across the street. Each night the owner would display fresh fish/prawns/clams ect on ice>>>nice presentation/delicious/reasonable. Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Jim,

thank you for your review and it is great to see that despite the incident in the shower on your first day, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again. If your travel plans bring you back to this part of Thailand, please do feel free to contact me directly. I will be pleased to assist with the necessary arrangements.

You might as an alternative like to consider a stay at our sister property, Beyond Resort Khao Lak. Also located on a beautiful beach, this resort is an all villa concept and accepts guests from 18 years and above only.

Thank you again and kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the Best Resorts I have ever stayed in.

Pros : 1.On the beach 2.Great POOl with sea view 3. Awesome rooms with pool and sea view.4.Even you can see the Ocean from your toilet. 5.Modern resort with chic interiors 6. You will get boat in front of the hotel to go to island trip 7.Surprise Christmas chocoloates. 8.Lot of beach beds.

Cons: 1. expensive.2. Food also expensive. 3. A bit away from main area so you have no other transport than taxi which is again expensive.

Room Tip: Perhaps all the rooms have sea view so not to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your recent stay with us and for your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for mentioning the highlights of your stay. I have noticed your comment in regards to the pricing. We monitor the room rates and Food & Beverages prices of resorts of a similar standard on an on-going basis and our prices are in line. Due to the higher operational costs of a larger resort, the prices in the restaurants and spa are usually higher than those of smaller, free standing business units on the main road.

We do offer a shuttle service to Ao Nang at a reasonable 200 THB per person per roundtrip. Most of our guests appreciate to have a bit of a distance between our resort and Ao Nang as otherwise our mostly deserted and beautiful beach would probably we as crowded as it is there.

Thank you again for your feedback. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Beyond Resort Krabi in the future.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ill keep it brief but the hotel is amazing. The staff cannot do enough for you and all they want to do is please. The food was just so good catering for everyone from all walks of life. The cocktails are also not to be missed :) Went with my boyfriend in November for 16 nights and now I'm home I actually miss it. Not 1 complaint. If you need to get away, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinxeyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the Resort, the facilities and the service offered by our staff.

Thank you again and we hope we will see you back at Beyond Resort Krabi in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.8 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,415 reviews
5.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
4.7 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,530 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Krabi

Address: 98 Moo 3 | Klong Muang Beach, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: $59 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stands directly on the scenic Klong Muang Beach. Combining the modern comforts and tranquility of Krabi, the resort offers nature inspired setting together with warm Thai Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beyond Resort Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyond Resort Krabi Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing