We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,597)
Filter reviews
1,597 results
Traveler rating
649
596
213
82
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
596
213
82
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage roommain buildingsea viewthe cottageskata groupbeach barswimming poolreception areaklong muang beachtuk tuklocal restaurantsassistant managergreat beachbeach frontprivate beachturn rightmassage places
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,597 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

First of all we have to mention,that if you are looking for a typical tourist place with a lot of night life and entertainment,you are definitely wrong here. For us it was the first time to Thailand,after being fed up with all the regular European tourist traps,and it was therefore not what we have had in mind when booking this hotel.
The huge beach is shared with only two other hotels, but still every hotel has its own section and privacy. (Having visited other beaches and islands during our stay here we can only tell you:it is a dream come true having a beach to almost yourself and a vast space at the beach to use)!!
Hotel: modern 5-story main building with each room facing the pool and beach as the hotel is built into a mountain (not to find in every hotel). Besides the main building you will find a small bungalow village (some close to the beach,others a very short walking distance from beach). Every bungalow is built to ensure the visitor's privacy!!! some of them have an own patio, other balconies (with or without roof). At the furthest distance from main building (we are still speaking here of a 3 minutes walk tops here), there is the cottage village with the "cheapest" rooms available for the small budget.But even here the guest's privacy is ensured in every cottage. If you are too lazy to walk the few meers you can call the hotel shuttle to pick you up (for free) within the hotel area.
Beach and Pool area: The pool is just georgeous,same as beach. both are reachable either through main building or a small path throigh the bungalow village. Instead as mentioned in other reviews before: there are toilets not only at the main building next to the restaurant but also on the other side of the pool. The staff is walking around the pool area to see if all guests are satisfied or need drinks or towels!
For all reviewers before that have complained of the lack of beach towel service before: If you haven't noticed it yet:there are two different colors of towels hanging in each room..the orange ones are for pool/beach use...there is no rocket-science behind it!
Rooms: we have initially booked a cottage, but upon arrival we wanted to upgrade ourselves to a villa. What a nice surprise we have had to find that the hotel has upgraded us without extra charge automatically.
The villa we stayed in was very clean,room service cleaned every day and provided new towels without asking daily! On our first night we were surprised with a welcome fruit basket for free (it is a given that this is not provided daily as a regular service). The only down side is the little smell coming from the bathroom sink,but given the climate this is rather something that comes after the rain and can be tolerated.
Service and staff: Staff was very nice and friendly,always on the lookout to make the stay for the guests as comfortable as possible. As mentioned before: you can even have a free ride to your room within the hotel area! We have never experienced that the staff intendedly left used dishes at the tables! All trainees are under the close guard of senior staff to ensure a smooth run.
Food: Breakfast (included): very vast arrangement of dishes and fruits,even with staff to cook your morning eggs the way you love them. We have not once experienced an unclean environment at the breakfast buffet! Please do count in that you are in a tropical area here,so that flies appear where food is served..but unlike other reviews: all dishes were covered for protection of the little beasts at all times! Maybe one improvement measure to think of for future: more coffee makers to please more guests at once and avoid waiting lines in front of coffee machines. Other food and drinks outside breakfast: great variety of different dishes and drinks for everyone (vegetarian or not!) And to be clear here: yes,hotel prices are always higher than outside ones..but this is something every traveller should have already known upfront!
All in one: we would recmend this beutiful and peaceful hotel to everyone and would not even think twice to chose another hotel in this area!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for having taken the time to post a very detailed review. We very much appreciate the time you have invested into sharing your experience with others.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay described in the detailed description of the facilities and the services we offer. Thank you also for the feedback on some issues that were described in a less positive way by other guests in the past. I believe this shows that Improvements are being made as we go along and it is great to see that this starts to reflect in the guest feedback.

I have noticed your comment on the coffee machine and we are monitoring the situation. Thank you for having mentioned it.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Beyond Resort Krabi in the not too distant future. You might to like to consider combining a holiday in this part of Thailand with a stay at our sister property, Beyond Resort Khao Lak. Also located on a beautiful beach, this resort is an all villa concept and accepts guests from 18 years and above only.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Beyond Resort Krabi went Beyond Our Expectations! We stayed from Nov 21 to 24 and were amazed by the beauty of the property, the welcoming and warm staff and our fantastic Villa. Our Villa was large with an incredible oversized bathroom and open shower. Perfect for my family.

Krabi was a side trip from our visit to Bangkok. The location of the resort was away from the busy hustle and bustle of Ao Noag. Beyond Krabi is a new resort (opened in July 2012) with three types of accommodations -- ocean front view rooms located in the main building; standalone two story Villas (one villa on the bottom and one on the top - some have ocean views); and cottages with no ocean views. We had two Villas without oceans view, one for my teenage children and one for us. Since we were at the beach most of the time an ocean view from my room was not important to me. The short walk to the pool and beach was easy and fun as you were walking on a path through beautiful trees and tropical plants.

The amazing and beautifully designed infinity pool was fabulous. We enjoyed relaxing and hanging on to the pool edge and looking at the sea. It was breathtaking. There were plenty of lounges and lounge areas to snooze or read your favorite book on your Kindle. The orange oversized beach towels provided in your room made our beach experience complete.

The outside beach cafe was just steps away from the pool area providing an array of western and Thai food and drinks. We were pleased with the selection and outside seating overlooking the ocean was a plus. As I do not speak Thai and not all the staff was proficient in English, we did a lot of menu pointing and we had absolutely great service with plenty of smiles. The buffet breakfast also had something for everyone from made to order omelets to Thai food. You will not go hungry here.

One of our favorite activities was the four island private wood boat tour (boats are available at the beach - you can't miss them). It was just our family, the boat and captain. No one else which meant we went at our own pace. If you are looking for a great Kodak moment check out the lone tree north of the resort on the beach. During low tide you can walk to the tree, during high tide you wade through about three to four feet of water. I have some fantastic photos of my kids going out to the tree at sunset. Amazing.

The hotel is in a more remote area, there are a couple of restaurants outside the resort and within walking distance. A couple of mini marts and plenty of massage options. If you like pure relaxation and do not like crowds, this is the resort for you. We loved it.

They are still fine tuning there resort but I will tell you, our stay at the Beyond Krabi Resort was among our favorite places to stay and we travelled half way around the world to do so. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The hotel offers an evening shuttle service to Ao Noag a few times a week for a small fee. For us, the three hour time frame was just about right as it was just very commercial and lots of people trying to sell you stuff.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsfuntotravel-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write an extensive review about your experience at our Resort with your Family. We are pleased to read to what extend you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your kind words which I will share with the team. It is great to see that all the hard work by the team does have good results.

While I realize that you literally live on the other side of the world, we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back at Beyond Resort Krabi in the future.

Thank you again and best wishes.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After reading reviews here on TA and looking at the pictures, we finally locked down on Beyond Resort. Frankly, we were a little disappointed. It wasn't bad but it did not live up to our expectations either. We were two couples who stayed at the Beyond Resort from Nov 13th to Nov 16th - 3 nights. Feedback-

1) Rooms: We had booked the deluxe sea view rooms and had both the rooms on the 4th floor right below the reception area. Go for these rooms since they have the BEST possible view!!! Frankly, the view was the ONLY great thing in the room. The rooms were smaller compared to what we were expecting and given the price. Room decor was average. The fruit basket was not refilled during our entire stay of 3 nights. The furniture in the room was not cleaned well and we could see dust on the edges after the room was supposedly cleaned.

If you are looking to experience the Thai ambiance/atmosphere - this hotel is not the one. It is more modern and chic, but again, attention to details and small things are missing.

2) Bathrooms: Small. The shower just did not have enough water pressure/force. Bath accessories (body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner) - not provided.

3) Guests are not provided towels at the pool side and required to get towels from their rooms.

4) Service - Good. The staff was friendly and supportive.

5) Food- Being vegetarians and having special diet requirements, we had informed them in advance about our requirements. Breakfast on day 1 was bad since the staff in the restaurant had no idea about our diet restrictions and they were not communicated with. Things got better on the next 2 days and the staff did make it up and gave us various options to fit our diet requirements. Fruits were kept open during breakfast and lots of flies/insects around - not the type of cleanliness I'd expect.

6) Location- Excellent, if you do not want to be in the hustle bustle of Ao Nang. this property is about 20 mins away from Ao Nang and good if you are looking for some peaceful time.

7) Beach- Close access to the beach from the pool side. We had some nice walks along the beach and also were able to rent a private speed boat who took us on a one day tour across many nearby smaller islands - Hong, Chicken, Krabi 4 etc.... Much cheaper than the hotel quote for a private speed boat. Also, there are many options available to rent the long tail boat to explore the nearly islands.

8) Sheraton & Sofitel and nearby - we went over to Malati, Indian restaurant for dinner one night and the other night to this italiant restaurant at Sofitel.

Would we stay here again? Probably not since better options are available at the same prices.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to post a review and for the detailed description of your experience.

The Deluxe rooms are 32 square meters large and due to the rectangular shape, the space is rather well used. We describe the design as “modern Thai” which is different from the traditional Thai style but I agree that the word “Thai” might create a different expectation. The fruit basked is an “arrival fruit basket” and it is not refilled daily. However it should be removed once consumed. I also noted your comment on the attention to detail from our room maid and I will address this. Thank you also for the feedback about the water pressure. We are in the process of upgrading the bathroom amenities but this will take a bit more time. In regards to the pool towels, we now have added a tag on the orange towels in the rooms to highlight that these should be taken to the swimming pool.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

We have now implemented a separate vegetarian menu and we are working on the communication skills of the team. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by this.

Thank you also for your comments about the area surrounding the resort and about the excursions.

If your travel plans bring you back to the area, please do feel to contact us directly. Our rates are generally competitive and given the spectacular sea views and probably the best stretch of beach in the whole area, we are convinced that our resort will continue to offer great value for money.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been staying leaving several years in Thailand and are travelling around the world but this Beyond Resort in Krabi is the worst hotel we ever stayed in Thailand. Sure the view from the reception overlooking the beach and the bay is stunning but the 5 first minutes upon our arrival was the only time we had a good impression of the hotel. From there we just went from one disappointment to another.
Although we booked for a seaview bungalow our bungalow was on a second row with the view to the beach obstructed by those of the front row. As we were staying for 8 days (during low season) and having noticed that the seaview bungalows were unoccupied we asked to move. After several hours of discussion, calls to management in Bangkok (!), etc... the final answer was that the beach front chalets are used for the promotion of the hotel and NOT given to guests. And unfortunately we could check that it is the truth. Flowers and basket of fruits were changed everyday in those unoccupied rooms (did not have any in ours even on first day), AC units working all day long, just to bring some tourist agent for a 2mn visit from time to time. So the nice pictures on their website are for rooms which are not for rent. In juridical terms it's called misrepresentation and is punished by law.

Hotel architecture and design : a concrete and glass building as can be found anywhere in modern Asia. No Thai atmosphere whatsoever and again a wonderful natural landscape ruined by a soulless investor. Design. the main building : 5 floors of rooms and reception, plus restaurant and pool at the ground floor with only 1 single (slow) lift. Permanent congestion even during low season. Pool arrangement stupid: If you are on your chair at the swimming pool (building side) and want to go to the toilets (which is only 5 m away but at a different level with no direct access) or the beach, you have to cross the restaurant terrace (walk between the tables!), go down the staircases, cross the bar terrace (again make your way between the tables) and complete the tour around the pool. Same itinerary to go from pool back to bungalow although they are separated only by a slope. But as there is no direct access from chalets to pool many guest take a short cut by the slope and it will necessarily end up in an accident, which would be entirely the hotel bad design responsibility. By the way there is not even a towel service at the pool (or beach). All new Clients find it out when they arrive for the first time at the pool and have to go back to their room to pickup the bathroom towels.... hence the exasperation and the shortcut....

Now the worst part; the service. Although in Thailand even in a small street restaurant the waiters are traditionally always very diligent, in that hotel it's the complete opposite: at breakfast you can't find a table. Nobody bothers to clean the used table or dressed them for the new helping. Every morning we had to dress the table ourselves while the waiters were discussing between themselves inside and watching us !! Even worse we even realised that the waiters were most of the time not available because they were having their own breakfast at a table of the restaurant, with the food from the buffet. In a 4 stars hotel !!!
But as there are no visible managers, it's maybe not a surprise that employees take such kind of liberty.
Similarly half of the time I could not get my coffee for my breakfast because the machine was running out of coffee, water, ... and no-one to refill it.
Fruit buffet was covered with flies and insects. Usual in such country but everywhere else fruit are covered by nets, basket, etc... Not in Beyond resort. And when we mention it to the employer the only response is always the same. "sorry hotel opened only 2 months ago...". Not an excuse. Reality is that they can't make the decision at their level as they are just waiters and again as there is a lack of management, no-one takes any initiative to improve service.
Food at "restaurant" is not even real Thai food and price is 3 to 4 times the price of the street restaurant nearby.
At the bar, we are rapped again. Glasses are filled at the maximum with ice cubes to obviously reduce to the minimum the quantity of drink. No happy hour (... open 2 months ago...), no peanuts or equivalent (...open 2 months ago...), etc... i;e. no care for the Clients. New employees have been recruited and left there without supervision, as management is during the week in Bangkok and turns up only during the week-end. Remote management does not work anywhere and even less in Asia.

No need to mention that no waters sports is organised, no service at the pool (I mention towel but similarly the pool attended will not tire himself to open/close the sunshades, etc...), no spa, no shop, nothing... But the price is similar to the hotels that offer this kind of services for good.

So no need to say that we regretted very much our investment in this week holidays and that the only solution we found to improve was to rent a car and to run spend the days in other locations. And that at our return we complain bitterly to the travel agent who recommended it and gave only negative feedback to prevent similar bad surprises to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank clogs b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review.

We are sorry to see that you that there were a number of issues which made that you did not enjoy your stay as you had expected.

Our Villa sea view rooms enjoy sea views, except for some which have some obstruction mainly caused by trees. We are in the process of trimming those back as they have grown and we will then reconsider if the sea views are satisfying.

We do have a sales office in Bangkok. All the management of the Resort is based here at the Resort and senior management is available for guests at any time of the day.

Beyond Resort Krabi was recently selected as one of three properties for the “Thailand Property Award 2012” in the category of “Best Hotel architectural design”. Our property was among the three finalists. I understand that architecture and design of most buildings cannot please everybody.

We are working on a plan for another access to the pool toilets. I do apologies for the inconvenience caused by the lack of this access during your stay. Some of the seating around the pool is located closer to the Beyond Café bathrooms and guests choose to use those during the day as the terrace of Beyond Café is empty most of the time between breakfast and dinner time

I am sorry to read about your experience with the service. October was a very hectic month for the resort and we had some new staff and some trainees starting to work. There certainly have been some issues with the service and while it has improved, we are still facing some challenges. There is a large number of new resorts in the area and we are all facing a shortage of qualified manpower. Hence we now have more trainees and from late November also overseas management trainees will join. Please accept my apologies and please be assured that we are on the right track.

We now also have two better coffee machines and fruits on the buffet are being covered

We have in the meanwhile started to serve peanuts with drinks at the bar. We also now offer three different dinner buffets per week, a bar snack menu and from next month onwards a Happy Hour and other promotions at the Bar. The Spa has been operational since early October but unfortunately also there we face issues with finding qualified staff. However we are getting there as we are gearing up towards the busy part of high season. While our resort shops are not open yet, shops are within a two minute walk of the resort. We have some watersports as well as sports activities in place later in December.

Again, please accept my most sincere apologies for not having been able to provide you with a more enjoyable stay. While the resort is still relatively new, there always is management available to meet guests who have any concerns about the quality of their stay.

Kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Beyond Resort two weeks ago and loved every bit!

The hotel is built on a cliff with stunning views of the Sea and surrounding islands. The interior is very stylish, featuring contemporary art, fresh colors, as well as natural elements such as bamboo.

Our Deluxe Seaview Room had a spacious balcony overlooking the pool and sea. The bed was very comfortable and extra pillows were promptly delivered upon request. The bathroom is also very spacious and features a rain shower.

The pool is just steps away from the sea and has various areas with different depths, which is good for families with younger kids. There are also a few Jacuzzis. The sun beds are as comfortable as the beds in the rooms.

We spoke to the GM for a while and were surprised to hear that the resort had only recently opened. Everything from check-in to housekeeping and breakfast service was very smooth.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is great value!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yin Yin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeyondKrabi, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Ms. Yin Yin,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at our Resort. Many thanks for having taken the time to post a review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for describing your experience and for your very kind words.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Beyond Resort Krabi in the not too distant future. You might as an alternative like to consider a stay at our sister property, Beyond Resort Khao Lak. Also located on a beautiful beach, this resort is an all villa concept and accepts guests from 18 years and above only.

Thank you again and kind regards,
Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews