We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
“Really Unhappy”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

we stay 2 night here and the location is very far from aonang and krabi town by dark road with expensive taxi charge,the breakfast is poor not many variety. Just the view and room only ok.Overall if u come to krabi for honeymoon and dont want to go out from room, this is place u looking for, but for enjoying your trip, its very terrible..

Room Tip: only room with sea view at 8-9 floor will be nice, otherwise u will see the rooftop view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dons72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    198
    71
    33
    31
See reviews for
129
296
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just returned from a last minute break. Found a great Flash Sale through Agoda so although I have issues with the hotel and holiday it was still very good value for money.

We had booked a 6 night stay in a Deluxe Sea View Room and paid extra for an airport transfer each way.

The airport pick up was waiting for us on arrival with a clear sign in the arrivals hall. The drive from the airport was around 45 minutes, but you were taking your life into your own hand on the drive to the hotel. The driver was erratic, nervy, and dangerous - was glad to reach the hotel. Totally different on the trip to the airport the driver was careful and safe.

On arrival at the hotel, I was slightly disappointed at the ambiance but kept telling myself that it was good value and a late deal.

The ladies in the reception were very friendly and remembered you throughout the stay. I felt that the male staff need some extra training on service and interaction between guests.

Check in was painless, upgraded to a Deluxe Sea View Room with a Jacuzzi - oohh wonder what is in store for us!

There are no lifts/elevators in the resort so for anyone with reduced mobility or children I would not recommend as there are lots of steps.

Room was lovely, very large and modern, huge balcony with the Jacuzzi bath in the open air. The rooms have all mod cons, Flat screen TV, DVD player, Free Internet, sofa, large fridge freezer and microwave.

The room was very clean and great to have internet. My issue in the room was that the furniture was all very hard, the bed, the sofa, the outside chairs. Just no comfort. The other issue was that the plumbing was temperamental. Every time you had a shower the water didn't drain, or it came back up into the sink. Then one night we decided to take a plunge in the outside Jacuzzi only to have a flood on the balcony. Engineers came quickly thank goodness. Could have been embarrassing.

Unfortunately the rest of the hotel is a big let down, very scruffy, needs a lot of attention. The grounds need some work as they are a hazard when trying to get onto the beach. The tiles around the beach side pool need changing as they are really slippery and many people nearly had a visit to the hospital.

There are two restaurants at the hotel; one is where you go for breakfast and the other is for lunch and evening meal. There is no bar or lounge area at the hotel so if the weather is bad you are stuck in your room. Would be nice to have a bar area where you could relax and mingle if you liked. They have the space and furniture to do this but have just not sorted anything out.

The food at the hotel was reasonable. The portion sizes need increasing as most people were ordering 3 or 4 main courses between two people. We had Thai curry and beef burgers most evenings. The chicken in the curry was excellent quality all breast meat which was nice to see. Breakfast was a self service buffet with a hot kitchen station for eggs.

There are lots of staff wandering around but mostly there are not doing anything. A little more organisation and training in the staff is needed.

On the last day our internet failed, we mentioned this to the reception staff and the lady manageress invited us into her office to use her computer and fixed internet. She was very helpful and apologetic.

There is no where to go around the hotel apart from a hundred yards up and down the beach and perhaps go into the hotel next door. I found the hotel very isolated with no shops, cafes or bars nearby so you felt stuck. There is a small shop in the hotel where you can buy, crisps, biscuits, pot noodle, beer and water.

If you want to visit the islands there are daily boat rides which you can pick up directly outside the hotel on the beach.

I personally wouldn't stay here again as it was too isolated and not enough facilities to keep you occupied at the hotel. I would recommend a stay here of 4 days or less.

Room Tip: Opt for a Sea View Room on the top floor (only two floors) as the view is impressive. I wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I can only assume the last few reviews on this property were by friends of the hotel staff as they do not address some serious flaws with the hotel. We found two major problems during our 5 night stay.

First, the place is falling apart. There are so many maintenance issues I don't even know where to start. Peeling paint, broken tile, cracked walkways, broken light fixtures, water features that don't function, etc. One day we were having lunch in the restaurant and an overhead fan came loose from the ceiling and crashed to the floor about 3 meters from where we were sitting and right beside another table of guests. The staff didn't seem to know what to do and eventually cleaned up the mess but never asked the guests if they were okay or offered an apology.

Second major issue, staff training. All the staff here are friendly, kind, and try to do their best but you can see that they have not had proper training. It's like taking a bunch of high school kids and saying "okay, now go run a hotel". Simple things like asking if you'd like another drink when they see your is empty, offering dessert after your meal, etc. Room cleaning was a bit ify as well. There was a thick coat of dust on the shelf above our TV the whole stay, which was right at eye level as you walked in the room plus dead bugs in the track for the sliding door to the deck and some stains on the towels and sheets. All of the staff are between 15 and 25 years old and many speak limited English. You'd frequently see the staff socializing in the bar by the pool when customers had empty glasses and were looking for refills. Only once did I even see a manager at the front desk. Someone needs to take the reins here and get the staff sorted out with proper training and supervison.

The restaurant food ranged from okay to poor. Many times we were told they were out of certain menu items and even certain drinks. I had one Thai dish that was so bad I couldn't even eat it and the waiter just took it away without even asking if there was a problem. The included breakfast was good with a wide array of choices, it was always our best meal of the day.

Do not use the spa here. It smells like mold and mildew and the massage therapist is not properly trained. My wife did a 90 minute hot oil massage and said it was the worst spa experience she had ever had.

The hotel is 10 minutes from the nearest town and taxi's are expensive. 300 baht one way to get into the town and the same to get back. Unless you want to eat at the hotel every night this is your only option.

So is the place all bad? No, in fact it does have some really good points. The view is amazing and you are right on the beach. The ocean view rooms have much better views than the neighboring resorts. The main pool is lovely (but again needs maintenance) and the overall look and feel of the property is quite attractive. There is a value proposition here as the resorts on either side of this one are easily twice as much money.

To sum up, the hotel needs to invest in upkeep and staff training then perhaps it will deserve the 4.5 star rating it claims. Right now as things are it's barely able to claim 3 stars in my opinion.

As a side note, all the hotels on this beach are extremely quiet. There is little here to do but relax and enjoy the beach and the view which was fine for us. If you are looking for more activities you might want to stay in Ao nang.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room. Many of the "villa" rooms face the pool and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaseBanun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have been here a few times, I was there less than a month ago. The place is huge with one of the best views. I think few parts of Krabi get a full set set view, you will get it here & see the sun set into the water / sky. The place is very clean, the rooms have been fixed up, it looks and feels great. If you want to kick it, great place.Want to wonder? You can go see some of the islands w/o a hassle. Boat guys between the hotel and Armani hotel next door. Friendly boat dudes, good rate and your not with other Tourist like yourself. The Thai and Western food is excellent, similar taste to some of the 5 star Hotels in Bangkok. Over the years, I have seen the same faces. Low staff turnover. Thai owned and must be good to Employees. The staff (House keeping, Front, Rest, pool, garden, etc), everybody is very friendly with a strong local touch. Shy but friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have been fixed up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 4 days/3 nights in a Deluxe Jacuzzi Seaview room, on the first floor of a building facing the sea.
The resort main building is brand new and designed with Moroccan architecture influences. Huts/bungalows dot the resort compound but look older in comparison although their interior seem exactly similar to the main building rooms.

The room in itself was large with the bed in the center so we had a view of the ocean at all times. Great to wake up in the morning with such a sight.
The room also had a shower and toilets, separated it has to be said since it is not always the norm here in Thailand. Lots of resorts have the toilets in the bathroom but not this one.
Amenities in the room : fridge, TV with (only) 10 channels (includes BBC, Fox Movies, National Geographic and some rubbish Thai regular channels), DVD player (a selection of movie is available in the lobby but we haven't checked it out), hairdryer and microwave.
There is a jacuzzi on the balcony. It is a nice touch but the water ran out cold and when we got it to work, before we even entered the tub, the jets spat out some pubes and unidentified stuff. Yuck. We went to the beach instead.

The resort is perfectly located on the very quiet Tubkaek beach. The beach was clean except on the first day when it was littered with junk washed ashore by the tide. I was dumbfounded as to why it had not be cleaned like all the resorts on Tubkaek. No complaints the next couple of days.
The water is clear during high-flat tide, shallow the rest of the time. During our stay, the sea was very calm with no waves, looking like a lake during those times. Perfect time to use the kayaks available at the resort.
Amazing view of the islands dotting the horizon and perfect place for watching the sunset.
The resort has two pools, none of them deeper than 150cm (give or take), both of them rather clean looking.

Lots of reviewers complained about the food and praised the breakfast. Breakfast is indeed great with a large selection of drinks/food but while similar to buffet, the food had to be ordered from a menu.
We had dinner at the restaurant only once and rather enjoyed it (we had a selection of Thai food). Being locals, we were curious to see if they would serve us a watered-down version of the Thai dishes catering for western palates but they did not. The overall quality was high and, while pricey, worth it. The menu is definitely the best of all the resorts on the beach with some risque dishes you will not find at any other place on the beach. I will not vouch for the western food we haven't sampled but it is with regrets we left the place without trying it.

Massages are available at the resort and are recommended.
We wanted to borrow the resorts bikes but were told they were too old and unsafe for a ride. Hopefully they will get new ones.

All in all, we loved our time there. A great place for couples and families, far from the hustle and bustle that is Ao Nang beach or anyone wanting to unwind at a quiet and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
310 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

To start with, amazing breakfast!!! The variety and the quality of the food was superb!!

The beach view is stunning!! Esp the view from the restaurant and the lovely chairs lying on the beach..
The pool though small is lovely !

Only drawback is there is no public transport to the city or elsewhere.. You need to book a cab..

The rooms are great :-) we got an upgrade ... The massage is also lovely .. Must stay if visiting Krabi

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights with our kids..overalll a pleasant stay, nice clean rooms , staff were friendly and helpful (most had to struggle with speaking english though)..nice sunsets..breakfast was good, they only ran out of bacon once..the pool was a little run down, and the floor around the main pool can get really slippery when its wet..there were also lots of red ants running about on the wooden deck just outside the restaurant and on the grass before the beach and on the deck chairs on the beach

the only cons for us was the distance the hotel was to every where else ...20 mins /60 baht one way into ao nang rd,30 mins/80 baht one way into krabi town and 45* mins/ 120 baht to the airport by taxi..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.8 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,202 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort

Property: Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Address: 146 Moo 3, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nong Thale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#8 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort invites you to experience our little piece of private paradise where the sky meets the endless sea. A cluster of villas cascade through verdant gardens, sloping down to the shore and looking out on the dramatic Hong Islands speckled in the cerulean Andaman Sea. High grey-shingled roofs pepper the line of sight, gables arched into lotus bud sculptures - the Buddhist symbol of purity - setting a peaceful undertone for the resort experience. In the Building Wing, architectural elements reference the mosques of traditional nearby communities, paying symbolic respect to the cultural harmony that defines this stunning region of the Thai Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Hotel Nong Thale
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing