We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a smoking-free facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malvern
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a smoking-free facility”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

One of my travel pet peeves is a hotel that bills itself as a 100% smoking free facility but then allows its clerks to smoke right outside the entryway, requiring guests to run the gauntlet to check in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Woodville,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad you found our hotel as clean. I am sorry for the staff smoking by the entrance and for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting your next stay in the area.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
19
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I are both Holiday Inn Express rewards members and always stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels. We've stayed at 4 locations in the last 6 months. This location, however, was the worst so far. I simply can't justify spending more money to stay at a holiday Inn express in the future if we're going to receive local roach-motel service.

There were multiple issues with this location, here are a 5 detailed examples:

1. Yeah, we checked pretty in late in the evening because the hotel isn't listed properly on Google maps, but the woman at the front desk working the night shift was just plain rude.

2. The sheets may or may not have been washed, but regardless, there was dried blood on "particular areas" of the sheets. We pulled them off of the bed completely.

3. Shower didn't drain. Our shower drain was clogged or not working and would not drain. Our lovely shower turned into a human-soup & soap sud bath in no time.

4. Breakfast was definitely more standard complimentary than "Express Start Breakfast Bar". Besides continental items, they only offered nasty (not fluffy) scrambled eggs and Luke-warm sausage at this location. I loaded my plate with biscuits only to find there was no gravy at this hotel... (no bacon, fluffy eggs, gravy, or omelets, as advertised)

5. House keeping knocks on the door to clean 2 hours before our check out time and doesn't speak English. We honestly didn't know if they were there to fix the drain or clean because we couldn't understand them.

Overall = very bad experience and we're very disappointed. It was especially disconcerting considering the fact that this was a newly built hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear JohnExplores,

Thank you for being a Priority Club member and for your review of our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with your room accommodations as well as the service you received from our staff and the breakfast you had during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed one night on a trip back from Texas. I have had problems finding a nice place to stay when traveling through Arkansas, but saw this hotel on a previous trip so decided to give it a try. Front desk staff was friendly and check in was quick. Had to ask for the sign in for internet service, but other than that all hotel information was covered. I walked my mother to her room to make sure all was well and found that the room had never been made up. Unmade bed, dirty towels on floor, etc. Called front desk and clerk checked her room list only to find that room was not scheduled to be made up that day. Never heard of that. I thought rooms were cleaned upon check out. My mother was moved to another room on different floor with only a "Gosh, sorry about that". My room was fine. Water in the bathroom was so hot that I had to be careful to turn it down. Could be a real hazard to a child. Plumbing in hotel also made lots of noise during the night to the extent it woke my husband and me up several times. Breakfast attendant was very nice and attentive to all of us and the selection of food was good. All in all an ok stay but I wouldn't necessarily choose this property again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubfan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear cubfan44,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Checked in at 10:30pm and out at 6am. Never even got any ice! Checked in went to bed, got up ate breakfast and checked out.
Everything looked good until you looked close and saw those little details that weren't clean. Bed was one of those plastic coated matresses, felt cheap and like a baby bed.
I too noticed the employees outside smoking when I checked in and out.
Definitely won't be back to this one. I feel duped since I booked on Priceline and they got their $15 back with the missing ice bucket. Will stay closer to Hot Springs next time, they are 20 mins from the action.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear 50JH,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, AR. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Malvern.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27757593
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I checked in and the elevator was rendered not usable, they were replacing the floor covering in it. Had to make three trips to the second floor with luggage. The staff acts like they don't have the answers, I haven't seen the Manager yet & been here 3 days. The Hosts seem more worrried about the smoke break.

Room Tip: Wait to see someone if you need a wake up call or you may have to call a couple of times. Get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear John S,

We noticed your review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, AR. We are the Parent Company for
this hotel known as InterContinental Hotels Group or IHG. We appreciate you bringing your
concern to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We have documented your comments under reference number 27694115, and are investigating the
situation. However, before we can continue, we need some additional information. Please send
an email to IHGCare@ihg.com.

Please include:
- The name the reservation was under as well as confirmation number, if possible.
- The amount of your nightly room rate
- Your room number
- The dates of your stay
- Your contact information including your name, phone number, email and mailing address.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to hearing
from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27694115

----------------------------------------------
Public Acknowledgement:

Dear John S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern, AR. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Malvern.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27694115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were extremely happy with it. It is just far enough away from Hot Springs to be less expensive, but close enough to enjoy the area. Mary in the breakfast area and Sally at the front desk were especially helpful and friendly. If TV is important, note that HBO has been deleted, and some channels were fuzzy or came and went! I would definitely recommend this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway if you are concerned about noise. Really, all of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSU1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gassville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed only one night in this property passing through the Hot Springs area. Our room was a Deluxe King and was very comfortable, clean, with enough room to pass each other without rubbing the foot of the bed or being cramped against the furniture. Easy to see from the Interstate but a little difficult to actually get to. Once there, plenty of well lit parking, many close-by restaurants, helpful staff, and nice amenities. The breakfast was as good as anything you would pay good money for in a restaurant, the worker very congenial and helpful, plenty of everything you could want. All in all, a nice, down home stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImpalaTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Malvern
Comfort Inn Malvern
#2 of 5 in Malvern
82 reviews
14.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
#23 of 45 in Hot Springs
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 5 in Malvern
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
461 reviews
14.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern
Address: 2660 S Rivercreek Dr, Malvern, AR 72104-8718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Malvern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel in Malvern, Arkansas The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malvern is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. This new, smoke free hotel, near Hot Springs National Park, is located just off I-30 and US 270. Leisure travelers find our Malvern, AR, hotel's location is very convenient. It is a short drive to nearby attractions like Lake Ouachita State Park or the Tussaud Wax Museum. Hot Springs is an easy day trip since its only 15 miles from our Malvern accommodations. We're even close enough for a day trip to Little Rock (40 miles) to see the Clinton Presidential Library. Corporate travelers appreciate the location of our new Malvern hotel because of the easy access to companies like STIHL Tools, Kohler Industries, ALCOA and Acme Brick. All are within five miles of the hotel. Ouachita Technical College is just one mile away. The Hot Springs Airport (HOT) is 20 miles from our hotel in Malvern. All guests find a friendly and hospitable welcome when they select the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel as their lodging of choice in Malvern, AR. We offer complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel near Hot Springs. For relaxation, you try the heated, indoor pool or an invigorating workout in the well-equipped Fitness Center. For your next visit to Arkansas, choose the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Malvern for our great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites - Malvern Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing